We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable & relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“very enjoyable & relaxing stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thanks to the Kevin & Elsie for their very friendly hospitality - they really made us feel at home! The accommodation is fantastic, the breakfasts are superb & the views are truly beautiful. We enjoyed a relaxing stay at the end of a 2 week road trip and it was our best accommodation. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShnSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
It was lovely to see the folks again and to meet you Sharon, we hope that this is the first of many visits to Interlaken!! If you need a break and want to chillax you know where to come to! Thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had an excellent stay in the Interlaken guest house, and enjoyed the view over the lagoon very much, as well as Kevin's lovely breakfast. It's in a very nice area, yet one would need a car to get to e.g. the beach or Eden adventures, which we did not have, but luckily Kevin was very nice and gave us a lift here and there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southafricavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our lovely views!! We are happy to tell you that Wilderness now has a shuttle service to get to restaurants so that you can have a drink and you dont need to drive, and a new taxi service. They are both are very reasonably priced and make a big difference for our guests!! It was a pleasure helping you out with lifts and thank you so much for staying with us. We hope your memories of your holidasy in our lovely country are all good ones!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The owners are really nice and offer you a fantastic breakfast!
The place offers great views, the guest house is really clean.

I can highly recommend this place to anybody. You'll feel right at home there ;)

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jaap S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This was our favourite guesthouse of our 2 week trip to South Africa. The room was very nice with an exceptionally large balcony which has just amazing views over a lagoon and with no street lights offers unparalleled views of the stars. Breakfast was lovely and served on decking overlooking the lagoon. Kevin and Elsie were fantastic hosts and we can't recommend this guesthouse enough. Great location just off the n2 makes access very easy and with no road noise either makes it very tranquil. A must stay in wilderness

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank edchapman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Many thanks for this lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and of course we hope to see you here again!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Definitely the best accomodation during our tour here in South Africa. Kevin and Elsie are lovely, they will take care of you for everything, will give you best suggestion about things to do and places to visit. Kevin's eggs and bacon are great, ask him to cook them for you!
Rooms are big, clean and have a wonderful view on the lagoon.
No noises, just relax and holidays!
We recommend it definitely!

Marco & Lucia

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbaronc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! It was such a pleasure having you stay here for 2 honeymoon nights... very special!! We are pleased that you enjoyed the good breakfast and did some " chillaxing" in this beautiful place, we hope the rest of your honeymoon was great in our lovely country!!

Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Each February or March, Chris and I and another couple (Rick/Sarah) seek
treatment for Wisconsin cabin fever in a foreign country where there is
sun and soft ocean breezes. In 2013 we toured South Africa. On March
11, we headed east from Capetown on the "Garden Highway" with a side
trip to Cape Agulhas. (Africa's southernmost point where the Atlantic
Ocean meets the Indian Ocean.)

By the time we reached Wilderness, we had been traveling for more than
eight hours and covered more than 650 kilometers. Everybody was ready to
find accommodations and relax on the Indian Ocean. We didn't find any.
In fact, we didn't look. On the other side of the Garden Highway we
noticed a picturesque lake with The Interlaken Guest House perched on
the steep ridge above the lake. The lake was serene and we could drive (or walk) to the wild Indian Ocean (and its public beaches) that were only a couple kilometers
away.

We got two rooms and carried the beer cooler in from the car -- as
Wisconsinites we always carry beer for just such emergencies. While we
were arguing (for at least 20 seconds) about whose balcony we would use to
drink our Castle beer, Elsie Cook, the co-owner with her husband Kevin,
came in to explain that there was beer for sale in the frig and offered
a recommendation for a place to dine that evening. Her next words were: “OH ----!”

She didn't say: "OH S---" because we had brought our own beer. She said
"OH S---" when I mentioned that I knew that the recommended restaurant was closed
on Monday. From that moment on, I repeatedly referred to her as the "OH
S---" lady to elicit reams of laughter from everybody. The "OH S---"
lady laughed the loudest and longest.

We got up at dawn the next morning to watch the morning mist weave
across the lake and up into the valley on the far shore where the sun
would eventually eat it for breakfast, As the fog lifted we slowly made
out the hazy image of a fisherman rowing toward us from an island on
the right shore. He hooked a fish not far from our shore. The lake was
so calm that the fighting fish sent out wide ripples across the lake
surface.

As the fog cleared, the lake reflected the entire north shore where a
herd of horses were grazing, a farmer was tending his crops, and a tiny
road weaved its way up the valley from the farmer's home to a tiny
settlement of homes to the crest of the hill to watch the sun eat the
morning mist.

In two weeks in South Africa, the Interlaken Guest House was our
favorite accommodation and the "OH S---" lady was our favorite host.

Room Tip: The northeast room has a slightly more spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for this review..... for a moment we thought that we were being set up!!

We really enjoyed having you here amid all the laughter and fun!! We were so pleased that we found your camera ( yes, Kevin called you the camera lady!!) in our driveway because it meant that we could have another laugh when you came back to collect it!

We hope that the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country was a good one and thanks again for choosing Interlaken Guest House to stay!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Kevin and Elsie make you feel very comfortable in their lovely home. Our room was very clean, modern and large. The wonderful view from the private balcony of the lake and surrounding mountains made this the perfect base for us to enjoy the WIlderness area.

Room Tip: The two rooms that we viewed were both great. We chose the one with the smaller balcony as the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Manager at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are happy that we were able to offer you the Fish Eagle suite due to the fact that you were here for a few days and this enabled you to be able to spread out a bit!!!

Thank you for choosing Interlaken Guest HOuse to stay, it was a pleasure having you here.

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.9 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Property: Interlaken Guest House
Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing