We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent two nights at Interlaken guest house and really enjoyed it. The room was spacious and clean and the view from our terrace (on the top) was simply breath-taking. The bed was big and very comfortable. The owners Elsie and Kevin are so so nice and we always had a laugh with them. We never had such great hosts ever! The breakfast was delicious and the products offered from the best quality. Elsie and Kevin gave us tipps what to do and where to eat and we had a great time in Wilderness! We felt very much welcome - We definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for choosing Interlaken Guest House, it was such a pleasure meeting you and we felt quite sad when you left, it was a bit like having our children here for 2 days!!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our lovely country!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Interlaken in Wilderness in November 2013 for 3 days and just loved it! There are 3 spacious guest rooms looking out on a beautiful 180 degree view of tranquil Island Lake and the meandering river and wetlands. We came home early each day just to contemplate the view from our private deck. The bird-watching from the deck was great.
Our room had large floor to ceiling windows/doors on two sides and was very light and airy. It had a king bed (view from the bed too) sitting area with satellite TV, table and chairs, mini-fridge, microwave and kitchen sink and was nicely decorated and welcoming.
The hosts, Elsie and Kevin, are some of the most upbeat, friendly and gracious folks we've met in South Africa. Kevin cooks a delicious breakfast for you each morning.
A perfect place to relax with nature and pamper yourself a bit for a reasonable price.
Another big plus for us was the long pristine beach of the national park in town. So different from the developed beaches of Plett and Knysna.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PK1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Hello folks,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a real pleasure having you stay here and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves as much as you did !

Many thanks
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thanks to the Kevin & Elsie for their very friendly hospitality - they really made us feel at home! The accommodation is fantastic, the breakfasts are superb & the views are truly beautiful. We enjoyed a relaxing stay at the end of a 2 week road trip and it was our best accommodation. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShnSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

It was lovely to see the folks again and to meet you Sharon, we hope that this is the first of many visits to Interlaken!! If you need a break and want to chillax you know where to come to! Thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had an excellent stay in the Interlaken guest house, and enjoyed the view over the lagoon very much, as well as Kevin's lovely breakfast. It's in a very nice area, yet one would need a car to get to e.g. the beach or Eden adventures, which we did not have, but luckily Kevin was very nice and gave us a lift here and there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southafricavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our lovely views!! We are happy to tell you that Wilderness now has a shuttle service to get to restaurants so that you can have a drink and you dont need to drive, and a new taxi service. They are both are very reasonably priced and make a big difference for our guests!! It was a pleasure helping you out with lifts and thank you so much for staying with us. We hope your memories of your holidasy in our lovely country are all good ones!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The owners are really nice and offer you a fantastic breakfast!
The place offers great views, the guest house is really clean.

I can highly recommend this place to anybody. You'll feel right at home there ;)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jaap S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our favourite guesthouse of our 2 week trip to South Africa. The room was very nice with an exceptionally large balcony which has just amazing views over a lagoon and with no street lights offers unparalleled views of the stars. Breakfast was lovely and served on decking overlooking the lagoon. Kevin and Elsie were fantastic hosts and we can't recommend this guesthouse enough. Great location just off the n2 makes access very easy and with no road noise either makes it very tranquil. A must stay in wilderness

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank edchapman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Many thanks for this lovely review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and of course we hope to see you here again!!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Definitely the best accomodation during our tour here in South Africa. Kevin and Elsie are lovely, they will take care of you for everything, will give you best suggestion about things to do and places to visit. Kevin's eggs and bacon are great, ask him to cook them for you!
Rooms are big, clean and have a wonderful view on the lagoon.
No noises, just relax and holidays!
We recommend it definitely!

Marco & Lucia

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbaronc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us! It was such a pleasure having you stay here for 2 honeymoon nights... very special!! We are pleased that you enjoyed the good breakfast and did some " chillaxing" in this beautiful place, we hope the rest of your honeymoon was great in our lovely country!!

Ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
486 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing