We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

A stay at Interlaken you will absolutely enjoy. The rooms are bright and light with lovely views over the lakes. Kevin & Elsie will take very good care of you and make sure you feel at home. They now also have a fabulous jacuzzi. If you ask nicely and book in time, Kevin makes the most wonderful meals. And don't miss the Sedgefield market on a Saturday for breakfast!

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JessyLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2009

You could not get better views than this. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The hosts are very friendly and genuinely go out of their way to ensure you have a good stay. If you want to do your own thing that's okay but try their meals - they are delicious and the company is excellent. Could not recommend them too highly. This was the best place we stayed at in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, 5 April 2009
A big thank you to all our guests that have given us a review on Tripadvisor!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

wonderful B&B, fantastic breakfasts, wonderful beds! We stayed here for 2 nights and had a relaxing time. You can't beat the view! And very friendly hosts too :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middx.
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed at Interlaken for four nights and from the moment we arrived (after a long drive from Arniston) we felt totally relaxed and refreshed by the captivating views from the verandah and the spaciousness of the suite - we had been impressed by the website but the reality was even better. After settling in we sat, glass of wine in hand, enjoying the comings and goings of the local bird-life and the whole panorama over the lakes and mountains; it took some effort to get ourselves up and out for dinner. Although Interlaken is a little way outside the centre of Wilderness we found it very convenient getting there and back when we needed to and for the other things we wanted to do it was in fact more central. Getting back to Interlaken itself, our first impressions were enhanced over the four days we were there: the suite itself was impressive in size and amenities and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were beautifully presented and as ample as you cared to make them (!), served on the verandah in the sunshine.....again, it was a little difficult to find the motivation to get up and get going so good was the ambience. The owners themselves were not present while we were there but Theo and Thea, their deputies, were as hospitable as you could hope for and were a mine of local knowledge and good advice.

On the subject of advice, if you are thinking of staying in the Wilderness area my advice is to look no further than Interlaken - we stayed at three other similar venues along the Cape coast and it was by far the best value on all counts.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArankMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We would have loved to stay for a few more nights. With this view who could ask for more! Kevin and Elsie, you are perfect hosts , you served the best breakfast of our whole four week-holiday and we hope to come back to your place soon! Marcel and Nelleke, Amsterdam

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We are just back from a three week holiday in South Africa of which we stayed at the Interlaken Guest House in Wilderness for 2 nights. I wish we could have stayed longer! The view from the rooms over the winding river and the lake is simply breathtaking - for a moment I was truly scared to come back home having to admit that I had shot my best holiday picture out of an apartment window! We also really enjoyed the self-catering facilities (we stayed in the Sunbird suite) as they allowed us to have our dinner and wine out on the veranda surrounded by the amazing scenery. Although I could not get enough of the river & lake view, it’s the icing on the cake to find the great long Wilderness beach to be just a 2 minute drive away from the house. Kevin & Elsie are charming hosts and made us feel very welcome and at ease. So if you are looking for a place to load up your batteries, canoe, hike, walk the beach and simply relax after a couple of days in Cape Town (and next year’s World Cup!), this is the place I’d choose. A clear 5 out of 5 from me.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturefriend78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at Interlaken for 4 nights in Feb 2009. Although we knew the reviews were good, our expectations were still exceeded. Elsie and Kevin were perfect hosts - helpful, kind, and very welcoming. My partner and I were unwell for one night of our stay and our hosts even gave us their mobile phone number in case of an emergency during the night! As for the room, we stayed in the 'honeymoon suite' on the lower floor overlooking the lake. The view was absolutely breath-taking, and the apartment very peaceful and self-contained. Our stay came towards the end of an event-filled couple of weeks in S Africa, and came as a perfect, relaxing anecdote to the frenzied Garden Route! We will be back...!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LundC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
229 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Property: Interlaken Guest House
Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing