We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, comfortable guesthouse with breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Wonderful, comfortable guesthouse with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Interlaken guest house is a fantastic stopover in Wilderness, SA. The views from the rooms over the lake are stunning. Kevin and Elsie were very friendly and offered a lovely breakfast in the morning. Guesthouse is situated about an hour away from Knysna and Plettenberg bay. We would definitely visit again if we find ourselves on the garden route again!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sabrinahoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Guesthouse is a few kilometres beyond Wilderness just off N2; Great views over Island Lake; excellent varied breakfast served outside on the terrace. Spacious rooms with living area, kitchenette and balcony. There are several good restaurants within 10 mins drive and the wonderful beach and the kingfisher walks/big tree are close by. Very knowledgeable hosts. Off road parking.
Ask to borrow the hosts pass for the National park

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Our room was spacious, with a very comfortable bed and a balcony overlooking beautiful views of the lakes. Some noise from the nearby N2, but the bed was so comfortable it didn't keep us awake! Very welcoming and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Kevin and Elsie make you feel directly at home the perfect hosts. Everything about interlaken is special !! The location and views are spectacular sitting on your terrace overlooking the lagoon with a glass of wine . The breakfast is excellent done by kevin who has a feel for how it should be.
We can recommend it to anybody who likes comfort and quite .

Barry and Ria
Holland

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank buddy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

What a lovely situation, overlooking the lake - we were able to spot fish eagles from the bedroom! Excellent breakfasts, good advice on local attractions.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We arrived at Interlaken in January 2010 and felt immediately at ease with the warm greeting by Elsie and Kevin. The views from our double aspect bedroom was heaven, overlooking the lake. We looked forward to each morning waking up to warm sunshine streaming through the windows and the fantastic view, we could have pulled the curtains at night but the views were too good for that. The breakfasts invented by the master-chef Kevin were outstanding. Every morning they were different. Both Kevin and Elsie were helpful, and suggested itineraries when requested. This is the second time we have visited this country and this is by far the best Guest House we have experienced.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I can only echo all the positive comments of other reviewers. We had two nights in the honeymoon suite as part of a self-drive along the Garden Route. BTW we were not on honeymoon! The view from our bed through the picture windows across the lagoon was just unbelievable. Add to that wonderful breakfasts, good local advice and Elsie and Kevin's oh so friendly welcome, makes Interlaken a B&B we can unreservedly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeaberks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
666 reviews
3.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
341 reviews
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
247 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Property: Interlaken Guest House
Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing