We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #13 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We spent the most fascinating days at Kingfisher's with Sue and Phil. We arrived in the beautiful well kept garden surrounding the house and met Sue who showed us the house and our room. Everything was perfect, the rooms tastefully furnished, and there is a huge terrace where you have breakfast or just sit and relax. Sue is a great lover of birds, feeds the thrushes from her hand and had us watch the sunbirds and Knysna Lourie just in front of us. Petra, my wife, was so excited about the birds that she nearly forgot her breakfast. I was so excited about the breakfast that I nearly forgot the birds. Sue spends hours in the kitchen to serve the most wonderful breakfasts every morning. We had interesting conversations in the evenings and Sue gave us lots of good advice where to go and what to see during our stay. We really appreciate Sue's and Phil's kindness and hope to be with them again one day. Thank you, God bless, and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

Peaceful, relaxing, beautiful surroundings, amazing bird life and the four best hosts you will ever encounter in Phil, Sue, Tessa and Houdini ensure that you will return to this idyllic retreat. As I wrote in the guest book visiting Kingfisher Country House is like visiting family, but the type of family one would choose not the type of family one is born with. They make you feel so welcome, so part of their life that one yearns to return. We've had two visits already this year and there will be more.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Sue and Phil are splendid hosts who scoop you up and make you feel part of the family from the moment you arrive.
Sue is a mine of information on all aspects of travelling in South Africa and her advice has stood us in very good stead on a number on occasions.
The accommodation is very comfortable, the breakfasts remarkable - Sue produces some absolutely delicious home made specialities. Feeding the birds from the balcony was a special treat.
This is the fourth time we have stayed with Sue & Phil and we shall certainly return whenever we are in this area.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillandhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Our group really enjoyed our stay with Sue and Phil during our Garden Route Tour. The house is situated in a wonderful location in the bush with a great view over the river. We learnt a lot about South African bird life and were able to view at close range the many birds that visited Sue's bird table. On arrival our hosts provided us with tea, coffee and homemade biscuits and made us feel very welcome. The accommodation is very clean, comfortable, spacious and we all felt very relaxed. The breakfast served on the terrace was absolutely wonderful and our hosts then presented us with fresh muffins to take on our canoe trip! We wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Sue and Phil. Lyn & Don New Zealand

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Situated in the beautiful setting of Wilderness,Kingfisher is an excellent place to stay and enjoy the best of what this outstanding area has to offer. The accommodation is absolutely superb, with large bedrooms,beautifully decorated, a spacious lounge to relax in with numerous books and other information, and the covered balcony area an absolute delight. Sue and Phil were so welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.
Nothing was too much trouble ; they gave us top class information and advice as to the best places to visit, helped us with our route planning, booked restaurants - in fact did everything possible to make our stay so enjoyable and memorable. Breakfast,on the balcony, was to die for, with new delights every day. Being restricted to a gluten - free diet can often be a problem, but Sue and Phil went out of their way to make sure this did not happen For us, as birdwatchers,this was an unexpected bonus , the closeness of the birds, and Sue and Phil's ability to identify them was brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenejackson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We came here after a dreadful experience on the previous night and had a wonderful,Sue and Phil are such wonderful caring hosts,it was sublime,from the lovely room to the wonderful breakfast and then the birdlife,this place is a birdlovers paradise,if you are in the area and like solitude and birds then this is the place to stay,Sue has a lovely calmness about her and just being in her company makes the cares of the world disappear.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

After one wonderfully comfortable and relaxing night we asked to stay another day and night. Everything was so nice that we didn't want to leave. The lovely and quiet room, the delicious breakfast enjoyed while watching the beautiful birds and the garden and trees surrounding the house. Sue helped us immensely with planning our days and further journey. We greatly enjoyed her suggestion of canoeing up the river and walking onwards to the water fall. Phil's presentation of his canoe building project was fascinating. If ever in the area again we will certainly want to visit Sue and Phil and stay at Kingfisher Country House.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weriro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
1.9 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#15 of 59 in Wilderness
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing