We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingfisher Country House
Ranked #14 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The welcome received by Phil and Sue is second to none. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The breakfast is to die for and everyones preferance is catered for including fresh muffins.We have now stayed there three times so it is like visiting friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanicePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Kingfisher Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

The birds come right up to the veranda and you can see Fork-tailed Drongo, Knysna Turaco, Chorister Robin, Greater and Lesser double collared Sunbird, Olive Thrush and Waxbill just to name a few. Phil and Sue are accommodating hosts and very knowledgeable on the local area. Sue even advised us on places to stop on our journey. Enjoy the breakfast on the veranda especially the frittata which was the best ever. We stayed in the Butterfly room which had a lovely double aspect view and a private door leading onto to veranda. Although the B&B is set in a very quiet area adjacent to Wilderness National Park, there are local restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive. The hosts recommended The Girls and The Blue Olive which we enjoyed very much. If you like birds and nature then I highly recommend this B&B as a stopping point on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdsukGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Kingerfisher Country House is situated on the very edge of Wilderness in a tranquil location, set within large informal gardens. There is ample parking and the bars and restaurants of Wilderness are only a 5 minute drive away.

Our room was charmingly decorated in a traditional country cottage style and had a dual aspect overlooking the garden on one side with a door onto the terrace on the other.
The ensuite shower room was well equipt with dressing gowns and toiletries.
Each night our windows and curtains were closed, our bed turned down and a chocolate left on each pillow.
The large double bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly until awoken by the dawn chorus.
There was a large and comfortable sitting room but due to the brevity of our visit we did not use this space.
The owners, Sue and Phil, could not have been more welcoming and on arrival we were treated to a pot of tea and lots of helpful hints from Sue of where to walk. She also booked restaurants for us (we particularly loved The Girls) for both nights of our stay.

Breakfasting on the terrace of Kingfisher Country House feels like sitting in a treehouse, nestled in the canopy of the trees with an amazing variety of wild birds visiting the feeders placed within reach of the terrace.

We couldn't do justice to the breakfast - sausages, bacon, stuffed mushrooms, eggs, toast and home made marmalde (and marmite available, the only time in my 2 week stay in SA!) and delicious freshly baked homemade muffins.
We were on a bird watching focussed trip and the garden birds that Sue and Phil have encouraged to their terrace provided one of the high spots of our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose-beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Hosts were very accommodating. Lovely room, food was great but the birding from the veranda was the best! We could have spent the whole day with the birds right on their property!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutmegmannikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The Kingfisher Country House is a little way out of Wilderness and well worth the extra 4 minutes in the car. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is excellent and home made and the welcome is both warm and friendly.
We arrived at the Kingfisher after another place had made an error with our booking. As far as we were concerned the outcome was much better than could have been hoped for. Sue, the proprietor, made us welcome from the start and offered much help and advice on places to go and where to eat.
The house has lovely gardens and many wild birds will join you for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allanmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The Kingfisher Country House is a place I need to return to every year at least once, preferably more. It is a place of healing, relaxing, socialising, meeting interesting people and a whole lot more.

I have never been disappointed and each time I discover something new and different. Phil and Sue make every visit special and welcome you like long lost friends. They have a vast knowledge of the area, and the birds and animals that make this B&B so special.

Sue is a walking, talking Garmin who doesn't get you lost.

Thank you again for such a special stay. I'll be back as soon as I can.

Reva

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

What a lovely comfortable place to stay. Phil and Sue are wonderfully carring people who take great care of you. They have decorated the rooms in a country style that is very pleasing. The breakfasts were yummy good food. Boy, can Sue ever cook!!!
If you are a birder, this is the place for you. They have bird feeders right next to where you eat breakfast outdoors. Got some great pictures up close! Their cat and dog will keep you company if you are missing yours at home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snggould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#11 of 57 in Wilderness
219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#9 of 57 in Wilderness
320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Interlaken Guest House
Interlaken Guest House
#10 of 57 in Wilderness
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £60 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing