We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts & beautiful locati on.”
Review of Shining Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shining Waters
Ranked #27 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts & beautiful locati on.”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Overlooking the sea with no other properties in-between. A superb beach with miles of fine white sand in both directions. Our room had a separate entrance and a deck with a west-facing view over the sea and ideal for sunset!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Swiss perfection. Magnificent setting. Stunning view. Eastern Wildernes has the most amazing walks downstairs from the end of 6th av.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubuntu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Holland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed two nights in this B&B in Wilderness. Location is great, right on the cliffs overlooking the beach and the sea. It's a very large house, with big common rooms and even a small gym. All is clean and spacious. Rooms all have sea view, either from a balcony or a terrace. Free coffee and tea, and an honesty-bar with a good and very affordable selection of wine and beer. Corinne and Renato are wonderful and generous hosts who will do anything to make your stay worthwhile. They even lent us their pass to get into the nature reserve for free. Our room was spotless, and the bathroom is well appointed. Breakfast is very good, cooked or continental - and with a view to die for! Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The decor of the rooms is elegant and tasteful, the furnishings are very comfortable and the location simply spectacular. Do not miss the sunset from the upstairs verandah. The property is very well complemented by it's parsonable hosts. Be sure to take Renato's dining suggestions which gave us one of our best culinary experiences amongst many notable ones in South Africa. But don't overdo it at dinner as Corinne's breakfast is an experience in it's own right.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

had a great view from the room overlooking the ocean and beach ...and victoria bay in the yonder...

hosts were very friendly and helpful...

a good spread for breakfast...with birds hopping around!

rooms - airy and clean...
it would have been perfect if they had a kettle in the room for teas & coffees....

but all in all a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We found by chance and were delighted with our luck. Not only Swiss-run but Italian Swiss-run. Hey that;s unusual. We had great room, great hospitality, and great breakfast on the patio. Internet use and Library was a bonus. Wonderful view over the beach - dolpins went past on cue. This B&B deserves to be high in the Wilderness rankings. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPolo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Go for the deluxe suite if it's available, but you can't go wrong with a view from any of the rooms. Breakfast is delightful and hearty and a great chance to meet more guests. Renato & Corine do a great job of looking after your every need (including running to town to pick up our laundry when they gave us the wrong bundle, and we'd already moved on!) Plan to spend a day at the house just relaxing and enjoying the view. They're happy to make great restaurant recommendations and reservations for you. 3km out of town, on a cliff above the sea, walk down is steep, and that beach is rocky - but you can easily drive to the sandy more populated beach. Great whale watching, don't miss dinner at Serendipity.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MozReliefWorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.5 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.5 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#48 of 56 in Wilderness
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#16 of 56 in Wilderness
127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
#44 of 56 in Wilderness
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Waters

Property: Shining Waters
Address: 859 Sixth Ave, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shining Waters 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shining Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing