We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The amazing Bird House”
other travellers have booked this property
Dusk view from the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dusk view from the deck
Dawn ocean Dawn mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Dusk view from the deck
Dawn ocean
Dawn mountains
Peeka boo!
Lounge from the other side
Lounge from the deck
Lounge from the centre
Dining area
The kitchen
Close up of spice shelf
Main bedroom with mountain views
Main bedroom's view
Outside version of the main bedroom's view
2nd bedroom
Midday view from the 2nd bedroom
Dawn view from the 2nd bedroom
3rd bedroom
View from the 3rd bedroom
Mandela tribute
The best swing chair in the world
Inquisitive fellow
Beautiful Knysna Lourie -now called Knysna Turaco - in our tree off the deck
Fork Tailed Drongo
Cape White Eye visiting
Southern Double Collared Sunbird
The road down to our bay
View of the reserve on approach
Dusk ocean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wilderness, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gerhard M
Veltheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The amazing Bird House”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Bird House It is a wonderful place for staying holidays in close touch to the nature and especially the birds. The house was comfortable and very pleasant. Every day we had breakfast in the morning sun on veranda and could enjoy the amazing views around the house.
The owner was very kindly and helpful. It was our best stay we ever had in South Africa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewG53...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jane's Coastal Retreat”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

As foodies we really enjoyed staying in this artfully decorated wooden bungalow in Ballots Bay. We spent Easter weekend reading Jane's cookbooks, cooking from Jane's cookbooks and generally marveling at Jane's cookbook collection.

The amenities were tasteful, the decorations, plants and artwork inspiring and the general feeling of the house induced relaxation.

The reserve itself was also beautiful and we made various trips to the local beach and walked and ran the number of trails. George is a short trip away if you forget something but it's best to arrive well equipped and spend all your time in the reserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
I am most amused and delighted by your review of my house - having directed over 100 hours of cooking shows for television, it's not surprising that my kitchen and library lean towards culinary delights! So glad it hit your spot - I look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilia...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home surrounded by nature”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This gorgeous wooden house is just a stone´s throw from George, yet feels very removed and secluded, from another world. Wonderful views of the forest and the sea. Fantastically equipped kitchen, stunning and comfortable rooms, and the most phenomenal number of daily bird visitors. Absolutely wonderful, and I wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you for the lovely review - I am thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southerne...
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and pristine location”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Even though we have travelled the Garden Route often, nothing prepared us for just how beautiful, tranquil and transporting the forested valley and adjacent hillsides of Ballots Bay were.... And Jane's house, in its gorgeous setting overlooking the surrounding hills - and teeming with relentless birdlife, was the perfect place to be based. The house itself is immaculate and elegantly-equipped, and living in it, with its bright thoroughfares of airiness and light, leading out onto the stupendous deck, is like being immersed right in the fragrant and chattering indigenous forest and fynbos of the surrounds. We cannot recommend her spot highly enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capetownb...
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, wonderfully comfortable, surrounded by glorious nature and awesome views”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the position - as if this gorgeous timber house had been dropped into the forest at the edge of the cliff. Beautifully decorated, quirky and very comfortable. Kitchen is a marvel and a red fridge holds pride of place. The deck with its hammock commands an incredible view and the birds visit the birdbath regularly, including the beautiful Knysna Loerie.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thanks for the review Bridget - so glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home for the Soul”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Sitting on the deck interacting with the many birds that love this home is the picture of peace and tranquility. The house is furnished beautifully and very personally, with endless spots to settle into and call your own. Ballots Bay is my idea of paradise - I've yet to find a better place in the world. And Jane's house is the perfect home to experience it from. It truly is the place to go to restore ones soul!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review Sarah - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haimaith
bonn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Thank you - I am thrilled that you enjoyed the beautiful peace that I am privileged to be guardian of. Come back again some day...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing