We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely week end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely week end”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the resort over a week end in October this year and we enjoyed the resort. It was very clean and the staff were very friendly. The room was lovely and spacious and the amenities were all in place. I enjoyed the dining at the coral tree and must admit that the variety at the buffet extended to all taste and has certainly improved since my last stay there.

I was very impressed with the head Chef: Mr Davies who heard that it was our anniversary and sent us a lovely slice of cake with a great message on it. The gesture was so welcomed. The Dining at the Coral Tree was comfortable and if you travel with kids they would love the buffet and candy and ice cream stations as well.

The resort needs a few changes and I personally felt that it lacked with regards to service.
Firstly: Concierge was questioned with regards to high tea and unfortunately she did not know the price nor time and I felt that it was too much of a bother to attend as we did not have information on hand.
Secondly: We left the room for a few hours for an early lunch and advise the front desk that it was an opportunity to clean up the room as we we returning in a few hours and would like the room to ourselves. We generally do this at other hotels as it give the cleaners an opportunity to clean rooms UN interrupted. We were told that the cleaners will get there when its our time. For a 5 star rated hotel, I find that this was not acceptable. When we returned a few hours later, we were faced with the cleaners in our rooms cleaning up. I was inconvenienced and did not appreciate this.
Lastly, while there is a bin in the bedroom and the toilet, could you look at the option of placing one at the wash sinks as well. I think your female guest would appreciate this.

Apart from that, it was a great week end and I would definitely love to return to the resort again.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the window seat, its romantic and if you are travelling with kids they would lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    209
    131
    75
    44
See reviews for
264
314
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Fairmont is real gem. This resort gets better and better and more things are constantly being built. The staff are super friendly. There is a pool to suit all your needs. there is more entertainment for kids. the estate maintains its natural forest and wildfile feel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Terrific service and very friendly staff. The weather wasn't kind to me as it rained all along. Did most of my dining at the coral tree restaurant at all I can say is its worth a visit ! The rooms are very smart and room service is up to standard . Thanks to Thomas @ the reception and Nunu @ the coral tree..... Coming back because of you !

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkosinathi '
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Although we only had a weekend breakaway, first of all - the very friendly staff members, the warm welcome, the room (very quiet suite in the corner), the outlook, the service and the food made us feel like having a two weeks holiday!
THANKS A LOT! IT WAS GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in room 3008 which is stunning. On the 3rd floor in the west wing the room was lovely. It is all open plan with sliding partitions separating the bathroom to the main bed room. The huge bath is in the centre of the room with a good power shower and basin in the main bathroom. The 2 doors leading off the bathroom are for the WC and the separate closet.
The balcony is a great size with fantastic sea and pool views (we were lucky enough to see whales while sitting on our balcony). The restaurant for breakfast is also on the 3rd floor with a great selection of fruit, breads, pastries, continental and cooked breakfast options.
We did not eat in any of the restaurants however one night we did get room service which was perfect.
Our room was cleaned daily with the bottled water replaced. There is a small fridge so you can take your own drinks/snacks if needed.
We also had a look around the presidential suite which is room3009. This is a huge suite with a huge terrace which looks out over the ocean as well as getting the evening sun.
The hotel is breathtaking with stunning views and features. All the staff were wonderful and there are more than enough choice of pool beds and pools to choose from.
Lovely hotel would recommend it as beautiful hotel in beautiful settings with great access to Ballito, Durban and the airport.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Room, setting and service is amazing, food and drink is a complete ripoff.
I recommend eating outside of the resort and stocking the bar fridge with your own wine.
The hotel is isolated, a fact they seem to exploit, and you have a drive quite far to get to the nearest restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When I made the reservation, I requested a room with 2 beds for our teenage daughters, because they cannot share a bed. We were upgraded to a better room (which was great), but the room had a King-size bed which could not be separated into two singles. We requested an extra single bed, but the sleeper coach (very uncomfortable) was made up instead. Only after complaining about this, a single bed was brought to the room. Both our rooms' floors were filthy, with long dark hair all over the place. Behind our toilet door it was very filthy, and I took a piece of toilet paper and wiped the floor behind the door (pitch black) and left it there for cleaners to pick up. After 3 days it was still lying there. Our aircon was not working, it was only 8 degrees at night - we switched it to 30 degrees but it was still blowing freezing cold air throughout the night. I requested two extra blankets. Only one blanket was delivered after I complained after 2 hours, but the blanket was dirty. We needed bottled water to drink medication, we called reception. After 3 hours it was still not delivered and we walked to reception to ask again, after which we received a bottle. Breakfast was a disaster; there were not enough tables available. We were send downstairs where, after waiting for 10 minutes, we were seated at a table with a filthy tablecloth. After complaining about this, the waiter used his hands to wipe the filth of the tablecloth on the floor, and thought that we should be satisfied with this. The toaster at breakfast was standing the wrong way around, so the toast ended up falling behind the toaster on the table. How you were supposed to reach it without burning is a mystery. On Saturday night there were 2 dinner options: Asian food in the 1 restaurant, and Indian food in the other. The parking of cars was also a frustration. Every time we wanted to leave, we called reception to get the vehicle ready. When we reached reception, we still had to wait for 20 minutes before the car was available, such a waste of precious time. The swimming pool at the beach was filthy, so were the cushions on the loungers standing beside the pool. The bathtub was filthy; I washed it the first night properly after which it was better. Only 1 piece of soap was provided for the shower, bathtub and basin instead of the usual 3. By day 2 we ran out of toilet paper, which was also not noticed by the cleaner. I had to request it to get some more. The toilet seat was loose; one had to balance while sitting on the toilet. The cleaners were extremely noisy, on several occasions I requested them to keep their voices down. The glass doors all over the room provide no privacy. The staff had to enter the room while my daughter was in the shower, which was very embarrassing because she had nowhere to hide. The UK plug next to the bed does not make it possible to charge your phone next to your bed while sleeping. The cleaner removed our dirty glasses, but did not replace it with clean glasses. We ended up with only one glass in the room by day 3 and had to drink water from cups. On Saterday afternoon we ordered some cake and drinks at the restaurant, it took an hour before we received the cake (the tea was cold by then). Although Zimbali is a lovely resort, it needs some desperate staff training to improve the service in order to be experienced as a five star resort. Overall a dissapointment, sorry to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
12.9 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
13.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
13.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing