We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Fabulous modern hotel, services and amenities. Large rooms. Big comfortable beds. Wonderful large bathrooms. Restaurant food excellent with lots of variety. Kids club to keep little ones busy. Choice of swimming pools to laze around. Beach access.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_Traveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear SA_Traveller03,

We are truly humbled by your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we greatly value your feedback.

We are delighted that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us, enjoying all that the Resort has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back to the Fairmont Zimbali Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    205
    129
    75
    43
See reviews for
253
309
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 days at this resort which hosted a major conference.the rooms offer a breathless view of beach and forest .Service is excellent and no request went unheeded. There are hiking trails through the forest to the beach.Modern decor gives this 5 star resort an edge!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VLG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear VLG09,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Fairmont Zimbali Resort, we appreciate your valuable feedback.

We are delighted you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed all that the Resort has to offer. Thank you for sharing your photo with us – although we cannot take credit for the weather, we are so pleased you enjoyed sun-filled days.

Whether for pleasure or on business again, we do hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont Zimbali Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The following items that were not working in the room:- Shower head, TV, telephone, bar fridge, lights in the bathroom are very poor. The house keeping was very poor toilet paper not replaced from the previous day, toilets and room not cleans properly. It was a very disappoint stay. Not sure if I would be visiting this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Alessandro P

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Please accept our apologies for the challenges experienced during your stay. We would like to assure you that this is not in keeping with the high standard of service that we strive to deliver to our guests. Your concerns are currently being dealt with by our Management Team.

We hope that you will visit us again, allowing us the opportunity to improve on your experience.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

What an experience! I have stayed in some of the best hotels around the world and was blown away by my 9 day stay in this hotel that seemed to have a perfect mix of facilities and service. I felt like I was on a tropical island. I intend to spend more holidays at the Fairmont Zimbali.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stavdimitriadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Stavdimitriadis

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time! We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We travel a lot on business and as a family and by far this has been one of the BEST holidays EVER. the kids loved every second, the reptile show, easter bunny and movie nights were an absolute hit! Ayoba pool bar was just amazing, what an atmosphere and the best food ever. in fact the BEST Mojito ive ever had. every single staff member always had a smile on their face, always happy to help and always a friendly greeting. the luxury and comfort was evident everywhere. This resort is always better ever time we return! Well Done, one of those places we are not hesitant to recommend as awesome and memorable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisaDim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear MarisaDim

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback on your stay.

A lot of thought goes into choosing the holiday activity program and we’re thrilled that your family enjoyed all the activities. We have some great barmen (and bar ladies!) and will definitely pass on your wonderful comment to them.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Edgecombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A most enjoyable stay in close proximity to many excellent golf courses (including the highly rated one on the property), wonderful beaches, shops and resturants as well as being close to the airport. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank PeeGKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed there the night of the Porsche Mecan Launch last weekend. First I called the hotel for a reservation, they were busy and my telephone number was taken with the promise that I will be called back. Still waiting. Called again two day’s later, made the reservation and was promised that a confirmation will be e-mailed. Still waiting. On arrival we carried our own bags because the they were more interested in valet parking my car, which I would not allow. At reception, upon check-in, I enquired about the complimentary Spa voucher that I was promised only to be told that I would get it at the Spa. At the Spa they knew nothing about it and send me back to reception. It was finally rectified. Went to the bar to have a drink on the verandah and again no service. After waiting for about 15 minutes, I walked up to the bar and begged them for service on the verandah. It eventually happened. The room was nice. Outside at the swimming pool you could not sit anywhere without being harassed by monkeys. Breakfast was nice. Checkout went well. Will not stay the Fairmont Zimbali Resort ever again although I really enjoyed the launch of the Porsche Mecan presented by Porsche Umhlanga.

Room Tip: Do not go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us in regards to your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed the accommodation, cuisine and the launch event however, we were very disappointed to learn that the service levels did not meet your expectations.

We would like to assure you that the service you experienced is definitely not in keeping with the level of service that we at Fairmont Zimbali Resort are dedicated to providing to our valued guests. We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the challenges that you experienced during your stay.

Each of your concerns has been individually addressed with the department heads concerned to ensure that our guest experience is continuously improving. It is always important to ensure all feedback, both positive and negative, are heard to ensure that we are growing as a hotel and as a brand, therefore, thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

We hope you will consider these events as isolated incidents, and allow us the opportunity to improve on your experience.

Kind regards,
Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
13.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
13.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing