We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a great location!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed in a De Luxe Seaview bedroom over three nights.
Good stuff: glorious location with exceptional sea views. Spacious, well appointed bedrooms. Probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in domestically. Good in room dining options. Interior of the hotel well maintained despite adverse comments in previous reviews.
Less good: service patchy, no service at all around swimming pool area, noisy neighbors, external parts of the resort in need of maintenance.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear John,

Our sincere thanks to you for sharing your positive experience of staying at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the Resort’s location, sea views and well-appointed accommodation.

Coming from an experienced traveler like yourself, nothing fills us with more joy than to read that you rated our beds as the best in the country. Thank you for the wonderful compliment. We are also pleased you had a positive dining experience with us.

Although it is never easy to hear that we have not met your expectations in some areas, we sincerely thank you for taking the time to bring them to our attention. We will certainly use your input to further enhance the guest experience.

We hope that you and your partner will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Kind regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    210
    132
    75
    45
See reviews for
267
316
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have had the misfortune of spending the last two nights at the Fairmont Hotel, Zimbali. Dont make the same mistake !!

Beautiful views , thats the only positive. From the checkin , until departure, a litany of small and large issues. Primarily, untrained staff who just do not care. No attention to detail, shoddy and tired facilities, poor food and worse service. No need to bring it to the attention of the duty manager, he does not care either!

Never again!!!

Room Tip: Dont choose one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear royf60,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges experienced during your stay. We would like to assure you that this is not in keeping with the high standard of service that we strive to deliver to our guests.

We believe our Director Operations had the fortune of meeting with you while you were here, and has been in touch with you again since then. Your experience and opinion matters a great deal to us and we sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your good opinion and improve upon your last experience.

Kind regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort for 4 nights as an extended weekend. Its a great hotel to relax and unwind and perfectly located to enjoy everything that Durban has to offer. The hotel could offer more information to guests about what to do in the immediate area but otherwise everything was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ketan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Ketan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort and found the hotel to be ideally located, and the perfect place to relax and unwind.

We truly value your input and have shared your feedback with our management team so that we can find even more engaging ways for our guests to discover and explore all the unique things to see and do in this unrivaled location.

We hope to welcome you and you partner back to the Fairmont Zimbali Resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
615 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

So I am a Fairmont President's Club Platinum Member and try and support the brand wherever possible. As such, we took the family (two adults, four younger kids) to this property. The outside of the property is impressive but it shows a lack of care inside. On the way to our room, for example, water flowed out from one ceiling, the carpets were stained and you could walk by an open laundry room and see all the dirty laundry piled up. Not really the exclusive experience marketed by the property. The rooms, however, are great. Unusual set up with an open bathroom with a fantastic tub. So the bathrooms rock. We had breakfast included and it was good. the property has a handful of great looking restaurants, but when we went in April, they were all closed, which was a bit disappointing. The pools were nice, but again, full of leaves and a bit run down. The beach is nice but very windy and not safe for swimming., so you are confined to the pool area. The golf course is pretty good, so definitely one of the reasons for going if you are a golfer. There is a great curry restaurant near the property and we would highly recommend this for a great Durban curry. Check out was a bit problematic as they double billed us on some charges, so double check your bill when you depart. We have since stayed at several other properties in the area and, to be honest, enjoyed them more - they were more reasonably priced, had better beaches and the food was just as good or better. The rooms were not as good as the Fairmont Zimbali, but we did not spend much time in the rooms. So our view is that this property is marketed well and trades on its brand a lot but does not deliver value for money. On the plus, they are marketing this property often with special packages, and if you can pick up a package weekend (as we did), it helps improve the value for money proposition. So shop around, as this property is almost always on special somewhere.
We doubt we will be back. But as it goes, it is a pleasant enough property, just not good value for money even with a good package deal.

Room Tip: Ground floor lets you walk out onto the grounds, which we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelOften1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear TravelOften1968,

Thank you very much for this considered and constructive review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and truly value your feedback.

We are delighted you found the resort to be picturesque and ideally located. We’re also pleased that overall you and your family had a pleasant stay at the hotel and enjoyed the views, modern and spacious rooms, and the activities and facilities available. Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your dining experience at Coral Tree Restaurant, we are so glad you enjoyed the extensive breakfast buffet during your stay.

We are very disheartened to learn that your expectations were not met on all fronts; however we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We have shared your comments with the concerned departments and will make sure the points you raised are addressed. We deeply regret any inconvenience this caused you and your family.

Thank you for including a Room Tip – we know from experience that our guests find these extremely helpful when making a reservation with us.

Once again, we thank you for your review. We do hope that you and your family will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Kind regards,
Leon Meyer
General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and during my last visit once again the staff went overboard to accommodate my group. It is the staff that makes this place so special.
The rooms are massive and the views over the Indian Ocean are impressive.
There is plenty of space to go for a wander on the lush grounds and direct access to the beach.
The breakfast is exceptionally good .
At the end though, it is the wonderful staff that will stay with me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWilbury005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear TravelingWilbury005,

What a pleasure it is to receive your review. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback on your most recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Nothing makes us happier than to read that a returning guest has enjoyed another memorable stay with us and continues to experience the engaging service our colleagues are known for.

We are delighted that you liked the spacious room, cuisine, facilities, and although we cannot take credit for the ocean views, we do agree with you - they are indeed impressive.

Whether for business, or pleasure, we do hope you will return again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Zimbali Resort.

Kind regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fairmont Hotel, Ballito is located on the most spectacular part of South Africa. The ocean, pleasant weather(even in winter), beautiful Zimabli Estate and a world championship Golf course.

I spent two day of conferencing and we were thoroughly spoilt by professional service, great accommodation, pleasant staff and delicious meals. The hotel never stops to impress and I have concluded that it has a lot to do with the location that in always inviting and thoroughly enjoyable.

This is definitely a must do again on my list of "things to do".

Room Tip: Definitely sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Madinane,

Thank you for your five-star review of Fairmont Zimbali Resort. The stunning location of the resort is indeed unrivaled. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the best of all that the hotel has to offer.

We are truly humbled by your recommendation and we do hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont Zimbali Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the minute we checked in we encountered one disaster after another. Our upgraded room had not been cleaned for what seemed like weeks. Simple requests, such as a corkscrew took for ever. In the end I went to the bar and asked for one myself. Breakfasts, which were included, showed up on the bill as separate charges. The mountain bikes, expensive BMW models, weren't it a fit state to be used. The constant solicitation by people to sell time share or something similar were a real pain in the neck and ought not to be permitted at a hotel of this calibre. In short, don't even consider staying here.

Room Tip: Just don't bother booking this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Arcjnb

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that what you have described does not reflect the high standard of service with which we strive to provide our guests. We do hope that you will see this as a once off occurrence and will visit us again soon, allowing us the opportunity to show you our world class hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Leon Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
380 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
12.9 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
102 reviews
13.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing