We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms are comfortable, however it is more a stay when you are on bussiness.

Room Tip: The breakfast is not up to standard, no variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ransanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
27
30
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived here late at night with my parents and brothers, the receptionist was very good to us and gave us the keys to our rooms . I thought at first the rooms would be really small like the others so when we got inside the room i was quite surprised at how spacious they were. The beds were big and very comfortable and they had a good study table and a nice comfortable seat.
What i liked the most were the rooms and i would love to com here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tumi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Everything from start to finish was excellent! The Hotel was stunning, the pool facing room was really great, the bed was new, basically everything was great, the breakfast greater!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zomarjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Very nice hotel in Ballito area. Not right on the beach, but an easy 5 minute drive to the wonderful Indian Ocean. Great for families - pool, grocery stores, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pasulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

I stayed at the Hampshire, Ballito with my wife Jo and 2 yr old son Sahen for 4 nights in Dec 2010. As a South African, i am accustomed to tired looking rooms and disinterested staff but what a refreshing change to local hotel market the Hamphshire is! We checked in without any hassles, despite it being peak holiday season and the rooms were to die for! The staff went out of their way to attend to our every need, or so it seemed to us until we realized by the 2nd day that his was normal for them. Travelling with a 2yr old can be challenging but we were made to feel completely at home. Will definitely be back again for both business and a holiday.The rooms at R800 per night were very reasonable for the quality of the furnishings, the massive flat screen tv, coffee-maker and free WIFI. Keep it up Hampshire, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickySingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Good day
The service was good . and people very friendly.
We were late for breakfast and the lady made up something for us.
I was impressed I was not turned away

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AldrinBunche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

This hotel is only around 12 months old and is very clean, with comfortable rooms including a plasma TV screen, fridge, microwave and an extremely comfortable bed. The staff are very polite and helpful, particularly Justin (Bar Manager) who went out of his way to help when we encountered a problem. The hotel is not situated near the beach, however the beach / Ballito Bay is only a very short drive away. The hotel is also a 2 minute drive from some large shopping centres with many restaurants/shops. There is a gym (not that we used it) and a small pool / sun area however the jacuzzi wasn't working for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was very good with much to choose from; fresh fruits, continental and full breakfast. Yes the hotel is situated on the outskirts of Ballito but it provides an excellent and inexpensive base to visit/drive to other areas. The only negative was that the air conditioning was very noisy. It certainly deserves more than a 3 star rating and providing they maintain the hotel to the same standard I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballito hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.7 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ezulwini Guest house
Ezulwini Guest house
#6 of 23 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Jaime
Villa Jaime
#4 of 16 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 4048 Moffatt Drive | Ballito Business Park, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to King Shaka International Airport and the Ballito Durban greater area, Hampshire Hotel offers superb accommodation with superior beds, spacious rooms and friendly welcoming staff. With so much activities in the surrounding area (Exquisite beaches, surfing, scuba diving, snorkeling, Game farm, Strawberry picking, Litchi Orchard, Casino, great Animal farm for the kids and so much more) it is the ideal place for an incredible, reasonably priced family vacation. Should you be travelling for business, our facilities will cater to your every need, Complimentary Hi-Speed WIFI, Secure basement parking, Gym, Pool, Business Centre, Microwave/fridge in rooms, Electronic safe, Satellite 39" Flat screen television, fully equipped bar and more. Come and experience our high standard hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing