We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 November 2012”
Review of Coco De Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco De Mer
Ranked #3 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“1 November 2012”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent three days using the conference facility and accommodation. Room was great with a view of the sea. We had dinner on the first night, the food was good but service poor, we waited an hour for our starter and another hour for the main - we were a table of 14! Staff were friendly and helpful. Quality of the food is good. Would recommend a stay

Room Tip: good conference facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobCMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    113
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
72
155
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights the first week in October, on a tour around the KZN region of South Africa.

Wonderful; friendly, efficient, but non intrusive staff. Fantastic location, we were watching whales from the balcony of our room. Lovely large, clean, and open plan room.

The hotel's own restaurant was excellent, as was a local Italian one, Al Pescatore less than a km away. We could have easily stayed longer.......

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_and_Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Roques National Park, Venezuela
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Beautiful, intimate scale, unique room layout. Great staff. Perfect location for a quiet yet scenic, quiet stay. Although this was a business trip for me, I would love to come back for a vacation stay. Great food and ambiance at the hotel restaurant. Wonder spa treatments available on the premisis for a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Pick one of the Ocean view rooms. They are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Coco de Mer for a few nights in Ballito. The hotel is very nice, we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms, the wonderful bathroom an view over the forest/pond area. There is a nice pool, easy access to the beach as well as walking distance from quite a few restaurants. The service was good, the staff was good at making sure we were well taken care of. The free in room wifi was an added plus! We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micah_Kalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We found this hotel as a last minute search and we were overwhelmed on how stunning this place is. Both the hotel and the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive (big thanks to Khetha and Bongani!). I'll definately come back!

Room Tip: We had a jungle room, which was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a one night stay at the hotel and it was the perfect place to start our honeymoon. I appreciated the effort the staff made with us a newly weds and the hotel also really focus on the detail. I will definitely try and arrange a extended visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannvdn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

forget the rest, just head to co co de mer, i guarantee you will not be disappointed, the staff was excellent, the room brilliant, am planning on coming back with more family members to this place, 1 block from the beach, if you want ocean views ask for rooms 104,105,106 and maybe 107, they offer the best without being shielded by trees.
Do yourself a favor and have at least 2 meals at Fiamma, the guys are all great.
I hope they stay the same for a long time to come!

Room Tip: rooms 104,105,106,107 those get you the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acpone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
380 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,754 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.3 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco De Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer

Property: Coco De Mer
Address: 63 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco De Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco-De-Mer Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballito's bustling hot spots, and within close proximity to all the modern convenient stores, shopping malls, restaurants, points of interest - all within strolling distance to exclusive beaches.The hotel itself is distinctively Afro- Bali styled, perfectly situated in the midst of a natural eco forest and backdropped by the sultry and warm tropical Indian Ocean, boasting a fusion of creative interior design marrying its natural element surrounds along the friendly Dolphin Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coco De Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing