We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco De Mer - Ballito - Durban, South Africa”
Review of Coco De Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco De Mer
Ranked #3 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights visiting friends & family we loved it the location is great the breakfast is fab, and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The dinner menu was too posh for us we are more steak, ribs & chips sort, and felt there was not much atmosphere in the evening so we didn't actually eat at the hotel but have heard it was really good.
Free parking, secure out the back. Spa facility which again we didn't use but looks great.
The rooms are huge, huge palatial and beds comfy the bathrooms are also roomy. The hotel is somewhat noisy at night as all tiles & you can hear the neighbours in the shower & doors slamming at night when they come home at late at night. I wouldn't say its great for kids but it does have a pool and large koi (fish ponds)

Room Tip: Sea view is view over the road and buildings in front, the property is close the the sea but you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Coco De Mer is a beautiful resort which we just fell inlove with during our stay there. It was quite convenient as it's close to the shops and the beach and the friendly staff was the cherry on top. We definitely will be coming bavk soon

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sora_Aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were blown away by the beauty @ the set up of Coco de Mer.The service starting from the reception,in the form of Charlene.who took all our pics,gave us a tour,@ above all gave us so much of love.In the restaurant Shaun blew our minds,the food was out of this world,the best steak i have ever t
a
sted.On the Sunday night Shaun @ his staff went out of thier way 2 decorate our table with rose petals,which brought my wife 2 tears.we were treated like royalty.To Shaun @ Coco De Mer u guys are stars,keep up the good work.Mr @Mrs Hogg

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alshadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We are frequent guests at Coco de Mer and we just love it!! the hospitality we recieve is always welcoming and friendly. We have become part of the family. Thank you for always making our stay a much talked about one!

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was a recommended hotel and it didnt dissapoint. After an 8 1/2 hour flight into King Shaka airport it was an excellent place to stay after getting our hire car...Only about 15 mins from the airport and very easy to locate. The onsite restaurant was very good, and the apparent improvements/inclusion of a pool side bar area can only serve to increase the appeal. Though not on the beach, a less then 5 min walk across the road got you there. Lots of shopping avail in the area. As far as drawbacks, the room is 2 levels from the bed area to the bath area, the height diff is roughly 30cm so at night if you're somewhat disoriented in the dark you could possibly fall off the upper level as there isnt any railing or handrail.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikee855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Interesting boutique hotel, great room size, very comfortable with good products. Sea view was a bit disappointing. Garden has a pleasant woodland walk, restaurant was good value for dinner, breakfast could have been more inspiring. Overall was just what we needed.

Room Tip: Don't expect a brilliant sea view. You can just see the sea from a sea facing room (as far as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

What a magnificent stay! The hotel staff went out of their way to assist my Fiancé with all the decorations and setting up for our romantic evening where he "popped" the question... They played along with his plan so that I didn't expect a thing.
Definitely will be back to visit!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
415 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,883 reviews
15.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.3 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#1 of 23 in Ballito
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco De Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer

Address: 63 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Price Range: £116 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco De Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco-De-Mer Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballito's bustling hot spots, and within close proximity to all the modern convenient stores, shopping malls, restaurants, points of interest - all within strolling distance to exclusive beaches.The hotel itself is distinctively Afro- Bali styled, perfectly situated in the midst of a natural eco forest and backdropped by the sultry and warm tropical Indian Ocean, boasting a fusion of creative interior design marrying its natural element surrounds along the friendly Dolphin Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coco De Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing