We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Hotel in not so chic Ballito” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco De Mer

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Coco De Mer
Ranked #3 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chic Hotel in not so chic Ballito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way from a game reserve further north. The hotel is within walking distance to the ocean but to reach a sandy beach suitable for swimming is a 15 minute walk.
Unspectacular from the outside the stylish but relaxed interior is a positive surprise. Staff at reception is very friendly as is the staff at the attached restaurant Fiamma where excellent food and a good espresso are served.
The room faced the road but was not too loud. It was generous with a very modern and functional interior. A spacious bathroom and a perfect bed are the features worth mentioning. Coco de Mer is recommendable if you want to stay in Ballito. The coast is cramped with more or less ugly buildings however - not my choice as holiday destination.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    104
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
67
148
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Booked one night but then extended another 3 nights to make it my base. Staff helpful, couteous and professional at all time. Room with distant ocean view were spacious and superbly furnished. Bathroom was sumptious with great quality fixtures and fitting. Loved opening bathroom shutters and luxuriating in the supersized bath. Shower was also spatious. Whilst didn't mind the step that ran across the room, those with disabilities/elderly should choose a room overlooking the forest. Also lovely room but without large bath and opening between bedroom and batroom. No need to eat out as there is a great restaurant on site. Didn't use the tiny spa but it looked good for massage at the end of the day. Onsite free parking and wifi were including in what i considered to be good room rates. I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nothing is too much for the management of this boutique hotel. The Fiamma grill restaurant within makes the best pizzas.
Liked the cocktails around the pool at sundowners as well.
Can definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

An absolutely beautiful hotel, rooms were gorgeous, clean and spacious. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. Close to shops, restaurants ect and just across the road from the beach. I would definitely return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justmarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This Hotel was wonderful, Staff, Food , all very well presented. But the Monumental moment was that we were In a wonderful Hotel as Nelson Mandela passed away, this made our stay complete. In years to come when people ask where were you when Nelson Mandela passed away we can say we were there, in the Rainbow Country.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are tranquil, due to the water fountain and gardens, Front rooms have wonderful views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

What a lovely hotel! I stayed on my own and felt very welcome and well looked after. The hotel is but a short walk from the beach. Facilities are great, rooms are clean and spacious. I made use of the spa and had a very relaxing (and much needed) massage.

What stands out is the staff's friendliness and helpfulness. It creates an atmosphere of tranquility and relaxation knowing your needs are catered for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a good boutique hotel located some way back from the beach with barely any seaview. A short walk of about 30m places you on the beach. The rooms are quite good - we found the shower to have insufficient gradient to the drain so some pooling occurs. The towels were white but very tired looking so tended to be somewhat just off-white, but usable. The experience at this hotel is hugely amplified by the restaurant, which produces truly excellent food; you shall find the review under the name Fiamma Grill...

We had a massage at the spa which was not much to write about as we have experienced significantly better massage techniques so we would rate this as average.

Room Tip: Whilst these are premium priced, a sea facing room will at least give you some glimpse of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
15.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.6 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco De Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer

Property: Coco De Mer
Address: 63 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco De Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco-De-Mer Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballito's bustling hot spots, and within close proximity to all the modern convenient stores, shopping malls, restaurants, points of interest - all within strolling distance to exclusive beaches.The hotel itself is distinctively Afro- Bali styled, perfectly situated in the midst of a natural eco forest and backdropped by the sultry and warm tropical Indian Ocean, boasting a fusion of creative interior design marrying its natural element surrounds along the friendly Dolphin Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coco De Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing