We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a sun tan, but thats probably all from La Montagne”
Review of La Montagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Montagne
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed her for a week and it was a nice treat to be at the beach and have nice weather, however the beach is extremely rocky and crowded. The pool area was okay, but you had to wake up at 545am or before to get a chair because everyone would throw towels on chairs and claim them until they came out around 2pm. The upper pool deck had a nice view but you had to make sure to wear sandals because they decided to use astroturf which becomes scolding hot in the sun. The food was average, but the Mozambique restaurant across the street had delicious prawns! The rooms were alright, but in need of renovation and furniture updates. The service was horrible, but in the end we realized we probably saved 400$ on food and drinks that the servers never put in the computer due to their lack of service. Would not recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillieFulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We are the fortunate owners of a 16/365 timeshare studio and have been making use of the privillage for more than a decade.
It is nice to be back and observe improvements, such an enlarged pooldeck with the pool secured behind a glass enclosure with child-proof doors.
The resort is well maintained and staff always friendly. We were greeted with warmth by those that know as from previous visits.
Due to the restricted 3G reception at the 'top-of-the-dune' level we invested in a 'Poynting Direct' aerial which we were permitted to temporary erect on the patio. It makes a huge difference to reception.
The resort's entertainment team keeps the extroverts and kids well occupied.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Right on the beach this seems to be a young family orientated hotel with staff on hand to entertain the smaller children. The staff are very cheerful and helpful, the amenities functional and basic.The rooms all seem to have sea views as the hotel is stepped up the coastline and squeezed in between tightly packed holiday apartments. Not the place to stay if you want peace and quiet - we were there over a weekend and there seemed to be something on the go all the time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This resort is as close to the beach as what you can get. We had an apartment on the 8th floor at the back, but still had beautiful sea views and sounds. You can go for long walks along the coast starting in front of the resort, swim and surf the lovely waves. There are a couple of average to good restaurants and bars on the premises, and a lot of very good restaurants with in walking distance. A big bonus was the dinner theater ( The Pumkin Theater ) in the basement of the hotel, with some very decent shows on offer. Yes, the resort is a bit dated, but they are working very hard to renovate and upgrade. The units are a bit cramped for 4 adults, but the huge balcony with a very handy gas braai more than makes up for it! The service overall was good and the staff helpful. Bedding and appliances new and good quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Spent a week in an apartment on ground level. View was great and the beach very close by on foot. Sadly the room was not up to standard. The bathroom caked with mould and mildew. The linens seemed clean and the staff were around daily to clean up but the place needs a facelift and and new furniture!

Room Tip: Don't get ground level apartment as passers by on the walkway always stare into your apartment o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

After having a terrible drive down due to the snow, arrived to a warm and welcoming reception. The staff were so understanding.after 18 hours of traveling my daughter slept all the way so there was no way she was gonna sleep. I was handed a pair of glasses from the deputy resort manager and told to sleep at the pool while the entertainers look after my daughter. Anything and everything that we needed was available. My daughter '4' had an absolute ball, always entertained. The staff were always friendly. For a pure relaxing holiday this is definitely the place to come. A week ago we were in mauritius and now wish I had rather spent the week here too. I love this place don't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christiee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

In July 1999, we became owners of a studio for 16 out-of-season days. We've been going every year since. We have had a few complaints over the years, but look forward each year. The patio is as big as the sleeping area, and lovely. Willard's beach is just down the stairs. There is a lovely promenade along the edge of the beach, where lots of well-formed bodies often jog.

Room Tip: Level 1 is at 'dune' level - nearest to the sea; however, by-passers could be a nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#13 of 18 in Ballito
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Montagne

Address: 100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Ballito
Price Range: £43 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Montagne 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the Dolphin Coast, just 15km from King Shaka Airport, 120 luxury terraced apartments with breathtaking sea views await you at La Montagne Resort Hotel and Spa. With restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine and room service, a great in-house Wellness Retreat, a live supper theatre club, squash courts, swimming pool, magnificent seaside sun deck and a daily entertainment programme for the whole family, La Montagne is guaranteed to fulfil your holiday dreams. The resort also boasts superb wedding and conferencing facilities with a full banqueting function, themed evenings and special activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montagne Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing