We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vetho House”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vetho House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vetho House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vetho House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week. The rooms are right opposite the ocean with a great view and the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep at night. The staff are friendly and accommodating and the lounge area with free wifi is a lovely place to get some work done. There is secure parking available and the little pedestrian gate is just a few steps away from the sand and the promenade. The problem with being so close to the beach is the area. As you sit on your lounger or in the pool looking out at the waves, the car guards and whoever else is loitering on the pavement is looking back at you. It doesn't feel very safe and it's definitely not private. Breakfast also leaves much to be desired. The first day we were offered 2 eggs. The next day we were not even offered any eggs. There are muffins, juice, good coffee, fruit, cereal, toast and cheese but don't expect cooked breakfast. There is no turn down at night either and our room had hardly any cupboard space. Luckily, we were only staying for 2 nights because there was nowhere to unpack if we had wanted to.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 5halin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    25
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
47
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Vetho House for 2 nights with our 9 month old. Our room overlooked the ocean. It was very clean and modern. The room was a bit small for a young child. It was a tight fit with our camp cot. They didn't seem well-equipped to deal with small children. However, Wilson was incredibly accommodating and we had a lovely stay. It may not be the best choice though for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Vetho House is a beachfront boutique hotel in Ballito, a holiday resort north of Durban. Unless you plan to lie on the beach or read novels in your room all day, you will need your own transport (e.g. a hired car from Durban airport), as Ballito has a suburban ambience and there are few shops, restaurants or tourist attractions within walking distance of Vetho House.

There are only 7 or 8 rooms (or ‘cabins’) in Vetho House. Ours (‘cabin 6’) is impeccably furnished with crisp white linen on a king-size bed, a mini-bar, coffee-making tray, wi-fi, 14 TV channels, a clock-radio and a safe. The bathroom is modern and was spotlessly clean on arrival, with hygienic seals around the toilet, toilet rolls, towels and bath-robes.

Upstairs rooms are incomparably preferable. Each has a balcony facing the sea. Bathrooms have skylights and power showers. There is a communal lounge with a large balcony, a chess set, and a bookcase that has an eclectic collection ranging from an Enid Blyton anthology to no less than 4 biographies and 1 autobiography of Nelson Mandela. Rooms downstairs, by contrast, are close to the reception desk and have a latticed view of the ocean through a metal grille fence.

Reception and housekeeping services are excellent: helpful, friendly and efficient. My only reservations about Vetho House are that the swimming pool is very small and located directly outside the downstairs rooms, and that there is a road between the hotel and the ocean which can be busy (especially at weekends) and compromises your privacy.

Room Tip: Insist on a room upstairs – cabin 4-6 or the ‘Captain’s Cabin’.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromedaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south-africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent one night here and it was quite enjoyable. The rooms overlook the sea and are a stone's throw away from the beach which is across a parking lot. Double bed was comfy and bathroom has a huge shower. There are two restaurants nearby which are within a safe walking distance. The manager, Wilson, was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ample and well served. The guest house is about twenty minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this B&B we found on Booking.com. Had a very pleasant stay, the rooms were nice, bathrooms excellent, layout very compact and the manager was very helpful and friendly. Only negative - and a big one- was the breakfast. It was really pathetic. We've been to so many B&B's all over the globe, but none of them had such a dismal non-existent breakfast. Please improve on this aspect....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank najmasanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel through bookings.com and noticed it was walking distance from where we ate lunch. We were very impressed with the rooms and the hotel. Only minus was we had to take a room with twin beds. Waking to watch the sunrise over the ocean from your pillow= priceless. Great breakfast too. Fresh baked muffins and coffee. Thanks for an excellent stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank discostar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Awesome Location. Right on the beech. The guy on duty was VERY VERY helpful.
Room was clean and I loved the idea of sleeping with the sliding door open listening to the sea.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vetho House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vetho House

Property: Vetho House
Address: 10 Edward Place, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vetho House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vetho House is a charming beach front getaway nestled in Ballito along the famous dolphin coast of Kwa Zulu- Natal. Vetho House rooms each open onto a private balcony which boasts unobstructed sea views; allowing our guests the opportunity to enjoy the unforgettable experience of watching dolphins play and feed along the shores. Vetho House offers exceptional comfort and class in our individually decorated luxury rooms which are serviced daily. Vetho House provides perfect accommodation for holiday makers and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vetho House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing