We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Katy C
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the most wonderful holiday of my life. Mark and his wife, Chantelle, were so helpful, friendly and warm, and the house! Oh, the house! It's fabulous. The views and location are superb, the stylish rooms are large and airy, and it's so well equipped that we lacked nothing for the whole two weeks. The pool was just the cherry on my cake! The area is great, quiet and laid-back. There's everything you could wish for, a handy grocery store, Artisan bakery, great food at neighbouring hotels, a petrol station… everything! Plus the Indian Ocean and dolphins leaping and gliding past just about every day. Thanks, Mark. Back as soon as I've saved my pennies!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishinguw...
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“WOW - Absolute Paradise...”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I'm a great fan of writing reviews however there was a part of me that didn't want to write a review for this house and purely for selfish reasons only - we don't want anyone else to find it!! The less people who know about the house the higher the availability when we want to go back !!! Firstly we would like to say a huge 'Thank You' to Mark the owner. Such a kind and friendly man who made our stay even more enjoyable. This property is a gem... There isn't much point in me posting photos on here of the property as the website photos(www.beachhouselodge.co.za) are exactly what you get. The house is immaculate. Downstairs there is a large open area with lounge / dining room / kitchen. This leads out onto a wooden decking with a great seating area, large table/benches, bbq and a swimming pool. There is a path that leads you down to the beach. Back inside the house... there is a bedroom on the ground floor and a separate toilet / shower room (by the entrance). Upstairs there are 3 double bedrooms. Two of the rooms (with balcony) overlook the sea. Both of these bedrooms could be main bedrooms for different reasons... the first room as you walk in and turn to the right is a decent size room with a double bed, double sinks, bath and single shower. If you turn left into this room there is a seating / lounge area with tv. This room is at the rear of the house. The second room (which we preferred) was slightly bigger (no lounge area) but more floor space. The bathroom was bigger, again double sinks and bath however this room had a double shower area :-) The third bedroom situated at the rear of the house was a decent size with double bed and separate shower, bath and toilet. It still has views of the sea but does not overlook the sea like the other 2 main bedrooms. The choice in decor is amazing. The white floors and walls give the whole house a minimal yet cosy feel. There are 2 ladies who come in every day to make the beds, do the washing up and tidy the house. There is a small hotel next to the house (as you will see in one of my photos) but don't be put off by this as it does not invade on your privacy. All in all it was a fantastic stay. We will definitely be going back ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela1...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I spent 6 nights at the Beach House Lodge for a family celebration. The location, the house itself and the facilities exceeded our expectations. Shops, bars and restaurants close by. If you have any concerns about coming to Salt Rock, South Africa regarding safety and security, please don't worry! We had a wonderful time and the staff looked after our every need. Like us, you will be sad to leave. We had such an amazing time, I am already planning the next trip back!
Thank you Mark and team for making our stay so memorable.x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House itself, views and the location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petro J
Tete, Tete, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking house and view...splendid holiday”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our family spend 6 days at this amazing house from 11th - 17th Oct. We were all blown away by the house, the view and the friendly service. Mark - you are a star! We saw whales and dolphins on a daily basis, and although we did not have the greatest weather, it was a memorable stay. We will be back some day for sure. The house was spotless when we arrived. The space was amazing and my 16 month old baby boy could run around safely. We also had 2 teenagers in the group of 9, and they had plenty of space and the beach right there. The security, (lock up garages and the motorized gate) was great although we did have an incident where a guy came right up onto the veranda from the beach to ask for money, probably a fluke. Wasn't too impressed with the restaurant next door, but the food and service at Siggy's was great. All in all, this was a fantastic break we all needed, and this house is just amazing, beautiful, spacious and so well equipped. Highly recommend this awesome house to any family wanting to visit the North Coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the space, the whale and dolphin watching, the stunning bathrooms.
Liked least: The restaurant next door at Canelands Spa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryna24
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lap of luxury”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in March 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE this house. We travelled with friends, 4 adults and 4 kids age, 7 and 3, 10yr olds. I like this house as it is clean and uncluttered. This house is serviced daily and nothing is to much to ask. If something breaks it is replaced immediately. The staff is always friendly and so the owner. The kids loved the pool as the sea was way to ruff for them and with the 180 degree sea view it's a pleasure to sit on the veranda with a book. There are 2 tidal pools that the kids enjoyed but it got cold on the beach by 15:00. The best grocery store that I have ever seen in such a small holiday town, fresh bread, large selection of cheeses and fruit, awesome, with so many restaurants to choose from and the litchi farm a must. We did visit the italian restaurant more than once in the 5 days we stayed. With the boutique hotel next door the security was excellent with a guard at night. Not that I think anything would happen, but it was good to have. The beds and linen are the best. The rooms are beautiful decorated, even the soap in the shower smelled so nice that this one you wanted to use rather than yours. Aircon through the hole house - thankfully! This house is impressive! Good luck to Mark and staff, you can be proud!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitneyTa...
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Absolutely Flawless”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This home is absolutely amazing and we had a fabulous time. The house is beautiful, the weather was great, and everyone we encountered - the home owner and staff, was more than helpful. A recommended stay for everyone who wants a nice and relaxing stay at a beautiful beach. Definitely planning to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familyguy...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“the House you always wanted”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Perfect house on the beach with great elevated views over two rock pools. Brilliant for children, with easy beach access. Decent resturants nearby, easy access. friendly and welcoming owner

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: closeness to the beach
Liked least: overzealous maids washing our clothes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing