We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Worth Every Penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Although we live in Durban, after having a 40th birthday party, we thought it would be nice to go somewhere to have our own little celebration!
On arrival we were collected from a beautiful reception which over looks a gorgeous rim flow pool which has a wonderful view over the ocean!
Our room was nestled between the trees, with a gorgeous view of the river, and we soon forgot we are only a 25 minute drive from home.
We spent an amazing day on the private beach, and around the pool.
Our dinner was delicious, and the service was nothing short of impeccable!
The following day at breakfast was nothing short of world class too.
We spent our day on the golf course followed by sundowners at the gorgeous bar around the pool.
I can honestly recommend this hotel to any tourist or local, and it was great value for money!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room upstairs to ensure you have a view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michy312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

It's always wonderful to find hidden gems close to home! We hope that you will be visiting us for many mini-vacations in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Sadly we only had about 16 hours in this wonderful hotel.
The reception was wonderful and check in faultless, the golf carts speedily took us to our room.
The room was beautifullly furnished with elegant trappings, the balcony had 2 chairs,table and a recliner chair overlooking forest. The bathroom had a deep bath, walk in shower, separate lavatory with plenty of towels and toileteries. We had a dressing area (with 2 robes and complimentary slippers) between the bedroom and bathroom.
We asked for a bucket of ice for a pre dinner drink on the balcony this arrived speedily and without question.
Requesting to be collected for dinner was easy and rapid. Unfortunately we were part of a group and so were supposed to have a buffet but as Durban is the spice capital of S Africa we looked at the a la carte and enquired about paying the additional costs to have a Thali, there was no problem with this and we had the additional charge added to our bill, it was well worth it!
The choice of wine by the glass was excellent and all very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was a feast for the senses unfortunately we had very little time to enjoy this as we had to get a flight to Port Elizabeth then a long drive to the next hotel.
We would certainly return to this hotel for an extended stay and suggest that if you have the option to stay here for more than 1 night you do so, you won`t regret it!

Room Tip: All except 2 rooms are of the same standard and as there need be no walking involved to the communal...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workhousekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

It really is a pity that your stay was so short. We do hope that you will be able to organise a longer trip in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Staying at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge was part of my 50th birthday present from my husband, which was a cross country tour of our beautiful country. This lodge is stunning, rooms are very spacious and airy with beautiful views. The staff were very friendly and professional. Their presentation of their breakfast is truly awesome, I was immediately hooked when I saw it. It was out of this world! Such a pity that we could only stay one night but we will be back again some day. We will definitely recommend Fairmont Zimbali Lodge to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for sharing such a special occassion with our team! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your birthday tour accross the country just as much.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel could not be faulted - food was excellent, room with the sea view was stunning, staff were friendly and helpful. Would love to go there again but don't think I ever will as a long way to go and pricey!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maturetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were disgusted by the quality of this hotel. This is meant to be a five star hotel, we paid a lot of money to stay here and we were really looking forward to our relaxing stay. On arrival the hotel looks impressive, but don't be fooled. I don't know where to start with the quality of our room, the air con did not work, there were BLOOD stains on the bathroom walls and the bedding, the room was filthy covered in dust and dirt, the bed had cobwebs on it, the bed also had a huge crack down the back board, there was a sharp rusty hook hanging from the ceiling, which i'm guessing is used for mosquito nets but it looks like a meat hook! The balcony door did not close properly. We have photographic evidence of all these faults.

We put some laundry in and we were informed it would be back by the end of the day, it arrived the next evening.

Hotel staff get around the resort in golf buggies, the staff seem to think these buggies are racing cars and they zoom around the resort in them, racing each other, we had to jump out of their way on several occasions, once falling into a bush to avoid being hit!!!

The pool side bar/restaurant staff just cannot be bothered, they seem unhappy to be working at the hotel and the food choice and taste is very poor.

An hour into leaving the hotel my partner realised that he had stupidly left money in the safe, we rang the hotel to inform them so we could collect it and the hotel claimed the money was not there!!! This was only an hour after we had left!!!

The positive of this hotel is that the breakfast is really nice with lots of choice and we received a friendly service in the morning.

Ballito itself is a very built up beach area, we were informed by the locals that Ballito is a place where students come after they have finished their A levels to party, so a bit like Magaluf/Ibiza! It is not a beautiful relaxing beach town like we were sold it to be.

I strongly suggest you do not waste your money on this hotel or this area, we heard lots of positive comments about St Lucia in South Africa, so if you want a beach, maybe go there instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Guest expects to be helped in a courteous and professional manner upon entering an establishment rated as high as Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort. When the expectations are not met, low ratings are submitted on the company's website for the entire world to see, but what about the good service?

My wife and I recently came to your establishment (i.e.: Fairmont Zimbali Lodge). Our experience was one of the most satisfying we have ever enjoyed. Other than the fabulous spaces and a healthy environment you have created.

What reached to us the most was the manner in which staff interacted with us. The service went far above and beyond our expectations.
•We were simply blown away by porters response time,
•The stuff who were singing on the night of August 17, 2013 at Coral Tree Restaurant while we were having dinner.
•We enjoyed breakfast at Thandi Restaurant and from an Architectural perspective the use of material and the relationship between the spaces in the lodge and their interaction with the natural environment really created a homey feeling. Also the smart way in which they dealt with Sun angles in the morning (i.e.: Thandi restaurant is facing East) makes the space comfortable in the morning.
•Reception Staff at the lodge & Resort was very helpful.
•Rooms were very spacious and well maintatined also very clean.
•Staff really went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay at Zimbali Lodge.
•Turndown Service was amazing even the possability of requestiong it to be at the time that will suite us was just very good.

Fairmont Zimbali Lodge & Resort, does everything you claim you do, and you do it with a smile. We are one satisfied customers, and will continue to be for years to come.
Thank you for an excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Lodge are more private and quieter. Fairmont Lodge is Located in a natural forest with...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lungelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. From your review it is very evident that our staff are living up to the Fairmont Service Promise of turning moments into memories for our guests.

We hope that you will be visiting us again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The stay at the lodge for a weekend in July turned out to be a bad experience. The location is awesome but that is where it ended. Breakfast was not a five star experience, breakfast room dirty , dusty and in bad condition, the same as the service. Room service did not attend to the room in the evening, no beds were turned and no fresh towels. Pool desk never has towels to issue if they have they then don't have a pen to sign for the towels. Our soaps and shower gels were never replaced during our two night stay. Our reserved deposit was never released, I had to asked the bank to do it myself after waiting for two weeks for the Lodge to do it, and after I asked them when checking out if they have released the funds.

Room Tip: A room with a view in the forest
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archibald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction to my attention.

I trust that you have received the communication from my office and that you are satisfied with the contents thereof.

Should you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Mark Sawkins

General Manager
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

mark.sawkins@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,860 reviews
14.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,096 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.2 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: £86 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing