We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Setting”
Review of Zimbali Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The Lodge is absolutely beautiful. The infinity pool with the Indian Ocean in the background is incredible. Our room was roomy and the bed and pillows were heavenly. Upon our arrival we were handed a very refreshing mint drink while checking in. Since the buildings are surrounded by a lush forest, one must call the lodge for cart transportation. Every time we called for a ride, someone came immediately. The workers were very friendly and helpful. The beach and two pools and bar are beautiful and peaceful too.

Two items are in need of improvement. The map of the area is missing so much. It would have been nice to take a walk around the area, but with no map, we decided against it. And....our last night we were deeply disappointed that we made reservations at the restaurant and when we arrived, no one had a record of our reservation. We were directed to go to the bar, so were ate there. No one ever came by to even tell us that our table was ready. That is an area in need of improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

We've been going to Zimbali to visit since it began being built, therefore my husband and I thought it would be great to spend a few nights there. While the room is fine, our stay was completely ruined when personal property was stolen from us by a hotel employee. We immediately told the front desk, who introduced to the head of security who barely listened to our complaint and then did an "investigation" - we received a follow up email a week after we left indicating that we were lying and that no theft had occurred on the property but they would love for us to stay again. Um, we arrived with this item, it wasn't in the room or car when we checked out - please explain to me how it disappeared into thin air. We have a very good idea of which employee stole our item and it was denied.

Its unfortunate that such a beautiful spot is run by management that clearly doesn't care about it guests. We won't be back and we would love some compensation for our stolen property - which I doubt we will ever see.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldgmhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2011

Dear Sir/Madam
Your conclusion that our colleague must have stolen your property is understandable, yet to date, unproven by our investigation. I can confirm that we take matters of this nature very seriously and that prior to hiring, Fairmont conducts a complete background security check on all colleagues. The findings of our investigation coupled with the fact that our staff is familiar with our ability to track and record their entry into any guest’s room, brings into question the absoluteness of your claim.
Kindly contact us should you wish to discuss the matter further.
Kind Regards,
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The location of the lodge is nice. We have been staying at Zimbali Lodge for 5 nights. During our stay the hotel hosted several groups of teenager (30-40 persons) , they were very noisy - we had the impression lodging at a holiday camp rather than a 5 * hotel!! They made phone calls to other rooms during the night and discussed until early morning on their balcony. We could hardly sleep and have a relax breakfast in the morning because of the noice again. Making use of the swimming pool before breakfast was nearly impossible for the same reasons. Following the hotel management, the turndown service was supposed to be finished at 9 pm at the latest. On a regular basis, we had turndown at 9.30 - 9.45 pm. Despite we decided to inform the management about our disapointments concerning the hotel service, it didn't run better. The room looked very "used" and housekeeping was not worth a 5 * hotel standard. Every morning at 7 am (!!), noice of the green keeper . This is definitly NOT a hotel to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aplux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Myself and a friend recently had the pleasure of staying at the Fairmont Zimbali and we can't wait to go back. The Hotel is beautifully designed and decorated, the service was outstanding and it has everything one needs for a relaxing weekend away, i.e Spa, Gym, Pools, Beach and a wide variety of restaurants with great food. I can highly recommend the Hotel and we will definitely be going back, thanks Fairmont for a wonderful experience.

Lynn Baker

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnBJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

When you arrive at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge it looks idyllic. It is built into one of the last remaining indigenous coastal forest. Great welcome, staff is all smiles. Then off to the Thandi Restaurant. Limited menu and completely overpriced. The fillet steak I had was dry and served with microwaved vegetables. And then there are the cockroaches. I killed eight 6 inch Durban roaches in my room. And yes they are carnivorous and fed on the remains of their fallen brothers. My complaint about this was met with complete indifference when I checked out. So unless you want to stay at an overpriced cock roached infested inn in the bush, then stay away. Or make sure you don't mind roaches.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebraskinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Stayed in Block6 for 3 nights before Xmas - and had really poor weather - so didnt get to enjoy the best of the resort - ie the pools and outdoor areas. The horseriding was actually cancelled due to the weather! This might have coloured our view but it meant that the focus was the food instead - which we found VERY disappointing in the main restaurant. Much preferred the new Ayoba bar but this is small and finishes at 9pm so you need to book ahead. Do not have the hot buffet in the main restaurant (bfast or dinner) as they dont keep it hot! Not good - food is as an average tourist hotel - not value for money at all.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Not a lot to say really. 5 star it certainly was.
our bedroom was a little dark (as one other reviewer said). dark oak interior deep in the middle of a firest means that unless you have great interior lightoing it will always be dark.
pool area was great and also the poolside bar.
as for the food, stick to the durban curries they were great.
golf course is a must.
for the price of the room however we were a little let down and thought the staff coukld have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishman_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
14.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
2,011 reviews
14.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 45 in Durban
1,574 reviews
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
335 reviews
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: £164 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing