We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we needed!”
Review of The Boathouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boathouse
Ranked #14 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Harrogate UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“just what we needed!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

After 3 weeks of travelling around SA, we had booked the Boathouse for 4 nights at the end of our trip. The location is superb and we had what is described as a 'luxury room' which gave us a huge balcony with sunbeds overlooking the Ocean. I agree that the hotel mlooks a little tired in some respects although the deck outside the restaurant was in the process of being sanded and revarnished whilst we were there. I have given up demanding topend luxury as you can find in the Carribean or Thailand so a hotel with faults is not necessarily a bad hotel in my mind. The breakfast/lunch staff were superb as were those on reception. They found us a dentist when we needed one and gave helpful advice. We ate in the restaurant for all lunches but only 2 nights as we found that experience a little disappointing. We did get good meals at Crawdaddy up the road. Breakfst buffet was good and I recommend the mussel saffron pot at lunchtime. The owners were friendly and apologised for the noise of the sanding machine but gave us a late check out time which was helpful as we had an evening flight from Durban. The hotel has a character all of its own and that is what we enjoyed.

Room Tip: I dont know nwhat the difference is in price but the 'luxury room' gace us plenty of space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalloplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
26
50
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Location absolutely wonderful and even in the rain the sea was sensational to look at. Unfortunately that was the best bit though the Barman was lovely. ! We ate in both nights as we had not found anything locally which looked better. It was adequate and a bit disappointing as we had been very spoilt in Franschhoek. The wine list was frankly poor which is ridiculous given South Africa's production, some of which is very good. Our room was fine, a shade tired decor-wise but the bed was good - have to say the en-suite was easily the tiniest I have ever had (I think ours on the El Transcantabrico train was bigger!). Breakfast was disasterous with the slowest service I have ever had ! It began at 0630 and at 0700 on our second morning we were the only people there, cold stuff was coming out in dribs and drabs and part of our cooked breakfast arrived well after we had both eaten what did arrive! The dining room staff, with the exception of one lovely girl who said sorry, had the "avoid eye contact trick" down to a fine art.
There was nobody "in charge/supervising" the room and it showed. We will go back to the area but not to the Boathouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The location is good and we picked this because we had a long flight in to Durban and wanted somewhere not to far from the airport and yet in a nice location. We ate out both nights at the local tavern along the coast - 300 yards North. The 3 star grading would have been 5 star had this hotel been run by the staff of the local tavern.

The decor was getting tired. In addition it was not difficult to spot the owners and while us Brits were not expecting NewYork style service it would have been nice to have been acknowledged by the senior staff.

One night would be enough.

Room Tip: Must have one at the front facing he sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMF1886390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This venue has all trimmings to make it the success (for TRAVELLERS) it could be, namely a unique location right at the beach...

Unfortunately this is where it ends... It only serves as a cash-cow for the apparently greedy owner.
The property is in dire need of some paint and other upgrades, the food is mediocre, and the fact that there seems no hesitation to mix hotel guests (who pay a lot for a little luxury) with the screeching brats of restaurant guests confirms this beyond doubt.

It should be downgraded to 3 stars and priced accordingly.

Won't be back there in a hurry. If you like value for money, this one is not for you! Rather spend your money elsewhere, (such as Zimbali Lodge) like we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironmountainrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoathouseBallito, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
In response to the comment of “The Greedy Owner” Due to recent take-over of The Boathouse money has been invested in general upgrades as maintenance of the building has been neglected prior to take over. The upgrades include repainting of The Boathouse, we have started replacing the old balustrades with new stainless steel ones as well as built a new day spa to add to the experience of a 4 star establishment.

Further the financial outlay is the upgrade of mechanical equipment, exuberant cost of electrical restorations and the replacements of all linen, cutlery and crockery as well as all the upgrade of hygiene items.

The Captain’s Table Restaurant at The Boathouse is open to the general public and the day referred to was Christmas lunch, which has been an annual tradition, embraced by the local community and holiday makers in Ballito where we encourage families celebrating the day with us being merry and adding to the merriments of the festive season.

I apologise that this occasion was neither recognized nor appreciated but The Boathouse embraces family life, encourages the celebrations of Christmas and New Year as well as welcomes the general public to enjoy an occasional breakfast, lunch or dinner and prides ourselves in keeping tradition alive by offering the Ballito community and the holiday makers a familiar experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballito hotels

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel is directly located on the beach, We were unlucky to stay here for two days and the only thing we got was rain. This made our stay ofcourse different then planned.
Because of the bad weather we ate in the hotel twice, the food is very good and a nice choice.
The hotel itself is ok, could do with a little upgrade like paint and decoration a little more modern.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and i stayed there this last weekend and we absolutely loved it , it was perfectly located and we had a sea view from our room , The food was great , service was great , we were both very impressed overall , we were there for 4 Nights and in that time there was 4 weddings , we expected a small drop in service but it never came , we are already looking for a return visit .

Room Tip: Room Number 9 - 11 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bezzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Booked a last minute special without doing any of the normal research. What a pleasant surprise! Perfectly situated on the beach, a short walk to shops and restaurants, gorgeous views, and friendly, attentive staff. Prices at the restaurant were very affordable, and the food was excellent. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Aim for a room away from the beach parking, the fishermen start really early and the boats can be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricanQueen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballito hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
381 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: 33 Compensation Beach Road | PO Box 1166, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing