We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boathouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boathouse
Ranked #13 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Well located, directly adjacent to the beach, The Boathouse has the potential to be a very good hotel, but it is showing signs of its age and needs a significant refurbishment.
The first room we were given had a safe - but no key. The second room had a loo that flushed continuously despite the efforts of the Duty Manager and his assistant. So back to the first room, as apparently it was the only one available, to discover that it possessed a really noisy fridge and the TV remote didn't work. These are all relatively small irritations, as were the unrequested early morning call and the dining room furniture that has seen better days, but they are still not the mark of a hotel at the top of its game.
That said, the bed was comfortable and dinner was well cooked and served, albeit in a dining room that was devoid of atmosphere and other customers, which was worrying..
For one night, this hotel is OK. For a longer stay, I would have to be persuaded that the owners had invested enough money to assist the on site managers to do their job properly, without having to spend a significant proportion of their time apologizing for the deficiencies of the material at their disposal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoathouseBallito, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear John

Thank you for the comments that you have made about The Boathouse. We do appreciate all comments - good or bad. All comments are used to improve our service.

I am pleased to report that we have recently started with a huge upgrade of The Boathouse. In the last month we have replaced all the safes to bigger electronic safes, all TV's have been replaced to flat screens and we have replaced all the mattresses in all the rooms. The linen and the fences will be replaces in the next week or two. We are waiting for the linen delivery and the fence they are busy building off site and then will just come and install it.

We are currently in the process of discussing more upgrades to be done early next year. These upgrades include changing major things in the bathrooms, bedrooms as well as the restuarant. Unfortunately we can not do it this year as we have run out of time.

If you have any further comments or suggestions please can you forward them to me as we will be using guest comments to see where we can improve. My email is gm@boathouse.co.za.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Taryn van der Westhuizen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
25
50
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
RSA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a getaway to relax and unwind and this is exactly what I did. The room over looked the sea and beach, and was fully air conditioned with TV and DSTV, very comfortable. The hotel is a secure area with the gate to the beach being locked at night and the vehicle entrance via electric gate and remote. Breakfast was good but I was a bit disappointed with dinner, Plenty of space to relax and read a book or watch TV in the lounges or at the pool

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TauTona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Right by the ocean, what a great position this hotel has. Unfortunately, due to last minute booking we had a room at the back, above the kitchen, where we did experience some noise once from the extraction system. Everything was clean and comfortable, but felt a little tired. The stair rods were coming off on the stairs! We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was okay. The breakfast was excellent however and the service was very friendly. It was good to have a secure car park too. We believe that the hotel is under new management and they are looking to do some refurbishing, which would be good.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, 30 min drive From Durban's Wet n Wild, direct at the ocean. Perfect for families. You cannot swim from this beach, but the hotel has little pool. Room Ok but family room 4 is double bed room with convertible sofa. And noisy. Restaurant is ok. In general: not a four star place and thus too expensive

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirkjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We can definitely recommend The Boathouse in Ballito as we experienced a very enjoyable stay. The service and rooms were excellent and the restaurant meals were all first class. The views from the rooms overlooking the sea was wonderful . The parking was also very secure. The staff were all very attentive and gave us personal service.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

After 3 weeks of travelling around SA, we had booked the Boathouse for 4 nights at the end of our trip. The location is superb and we had what is described as a 'luxury room' which gave us a huge balcony with sunbeds overlooking the Ocean. I agree that the hotel mlooks a little tired in some respects although the deck outside the restaurant was in the process of being sanded and revarnished whilst we were there. I have given up demanding topend luxury as you can find in the Carribean or Thailand so a hotel with faults is not necessarily a bad hotel in my mind. The breakfast/lunch staff were superb as were those on reception. They found us a dentist when we needed one and gave helpful advice. We ate in the restaurant for all lunches but only 2 nights as we found that experience a little disappointing. We did get good meals at Crawdaddy up the road. Breakfst buffet was good and I recommend the mussel saffron pot at lunchtime. The owners were friendly and apologised for the noise of the sanding machine but gave us a late check out time which was helpful as we had an evening flight from Durban. The hotel has a character all of its own and that is what we enjoyed.

Room Tip: I dont know nwhat the difference is in price but the 'luxury room' gace us plenty of space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalloplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Location absolutely wonderful and even in the rain the sea was sensational to look at. Unfortunately that was the best bit though the Barman was lovely. ! We ate in both nights as we had not found anything locally which looked better. It was adequate and a bit disappointing as we had been very spoilt in Franschhoek. The wine list was frankly poor which is ridiculous given South Africa's production, some of which is very good. Our room was fine, a shade tired decor-wise but the bed was good - have to say the en-suite was easily the tiniest I have ever had (I think ours on the El Transcantabrico train was bigger!). Breakfast was disasterous with the slowest service I have ever had ! It began at 0630 and at 0700 on our second morning we were the only people there, cold stuff was coming out in dribs and drabs and part of our cooked breakfast arrived well after we had both eaten what did arrive! The dining room staff, with the exception of one lovely girl who said sorry, had the "avoid eye contact trick" down to a fine art.
There was nobody "in charge/supervising" the room and it showed. We will go back to the area but not to the Boathouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballito hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 23 in Ballito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: 33 Compensation Beach Road | PO Box 1166, Ballito 4399, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Hotel Ballito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing