We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Elephant Hotel and Zagora Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Pretoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Royal Elephant Hotel and Zagora Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

What an experience. The rooms are stunning and the food and service is beyond this world

Room Tip: Any room as they are all beautyfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
17
1
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
285 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

If you are in Centurion on anywhere in the Pretoria area, treat yourself to this eating experience.
My wife and I decided to attend the Sunday buffet lunch at the Royal Elephant, and what a pleasant experience this turned out to be.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted in a friendly and welcoming way by the staff. Daniel accompanied us to our table and provided a very friendly and professional service throughout. Our empty dishes and used cutlery was replaced promptly. All the dishes from the starters to desert were very well presented and extremely tasty. They obviously have a world class chef in charge of the cuisine. A staff member, Happy manned the carvery and warm dishes serving area and provided a very friendly and helpful service. At the dessert station there was a delightful and enthusiastic Steven in attendance. Although a trainee, he diligently explained the content of each dish to us that we enquired about.
Relaxing background music was provided by a talented musician on a grand piano. He played a variety of classics that included Tulips from Amsterdam and even local classics like Sarie Marais.
The hotel and restaurant layout, together with the superb cuisine on offer, provided a truly African dining experience; last enjoyed by us at the Savuti Restaurant in the Gaborone Sun in Botswana.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My boyfriend and I had lunch at the Royal Elephant. The service from Mpumie was wonderful! The venue itself is AMAZING! I can honestly say that if I were to get married soon, this would be the venue I would choose!!!! Well done!!!

Room Tip: We didn't sleep over. Only had lunch. Wish I could sleep over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had lunch at Zagora Restaurant at the Royal Elephant Hotel, they have a buffet on Sunday’s and we were very impressed. Since arriving at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff. The buffet itself had the widest range of food available, including sushi for starters. The curries went down very well on a fairly cold day. They have a children’s play area that is supervised. Overall the setting, staff and food was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

One night of luxury for our wedding anniversary.
The decor is lovely!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centurion
2.6 mi away
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in Centurion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.5 mi away
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
3.5 mi away
Protea Hotels by Marriott Pretoria Centurion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Leriba Hotel
Leriba Hotel
#7 of 10 in Centurion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.8 mi away
Centurion Lake Hotel
Centurion Lake Hotel
#4 of 10 in Centurion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Corner Willem Botha & Wierda Streets, Eldoraigne, Centurion, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre situated on the banks of the Hennops River in Centurion, exemplifies tasteful North African elegance combined with exceptional, discreetly personalized attention to detail. We have gathered inspiration, stories, recipes, furnishings and embellishments that have embodied the essence of Moroccan living, hospitality and creativity over the ages. We have ten fully equipped conference venues accommodating groups ranging from 5 to 500 delegates seated cinema-style. The hotel boasts 40 luxurious rooms for our guests to rejuvenate with an upmarket restaurant, bar / poolside and lounges where guests can dine and relax. Royal Elephant cuisine is a medley of Moroccan, International and African cuisine. At her restaurant and bar, guests are treated to centuries' of interaction between Morocco and world cuisines and drinks, under the direction of celebrated Executive Chef, Andrew Hammond. The breathtakingly dramatic Zagora Grill Room restaurant serves a delicious fusion of South to North American, Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine and is ideal for breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Royal Elephant is the perfect venue for adding a touch of "Magic and Style" to a bride and groom's Wedding day. With a beautiful thatch chapel and various reception venues, the tranquility, picturesque location and elegance of Royal Elephant, provides a natural but very romantic atmosphere to make dreams come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Elephant Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing