We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business user, not so good for tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for business user, not so good for tourist”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Found this hotel to be generally Ok with pleasant staff, but average level of comfort and sadly no swimming pool. The focus appeared to be more towards the business user rather than tourists like us and occupation at this time of year was clearly low. The hotel was booked via an agent so wasn't really what we expected. It's location is fairly isolated in terms of attractions and quite noisy from nearby busy roads. Found the food to be average and not great value. The room was quite spacious. The architecture is certainly a bit different, and interesting in its way, but seems to have produced a rather souless vibe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smegle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
17
1
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
291 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We decided to celebrate my daughter’s 21st birthday at The Royal Elephant Hotel with breakfast at Fezorati. This turned out to be a very good choice, as they provide a very comprehensive and tasty buffet breakfast. For the less hungry guests they also have a continental breakfast option.
Upon our arrival we were welcomed in a very friendly way by Michael. He was very neatly dressed in his uniform and showed us to our table. They offer a great variety of dishes for the full buffet, that included fruit and yoghurts, cereals and several warm dishes. Some tasty pastries are provided to enjoy with your tea or coffee. Tony, the manager was always visible on the floor, ensuring that everything was to the guests’ satisfaction. The only service that I missed was an omelette station. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and would most definitely recommend it to friends and colleagues

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a wonderful night at the the Royal elephant. We were greeted warmly by the staff, the cleaning staff were exceptionally friendly, the room was absolutely spotless.

Amazing space as well and what a lovely bathroom. I'm very impressed and would definitely recommend the royal elephant hotel for anyone looking to spend a night of peace and comfort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Lovely room with immense bathroom suite. Staff were attentive and helpful. Surprise snack tray delivered shortly after arrival. Spaces beautifully decorated. Their website pictures do not do it justice. Restaurant dinner was fabulous and reasonably priced.
Pool was tiny and off the bar in a rather too public space for privacy.
Great koi pond under bridge to restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Booked in for 1 night.
Two staff members at reception, one fast asleep. At 16h30!
Checking in seamless.
Suite stunning.
Certain lights not working. (bulbs?)
Huge shower room (with 2 showers), water pressure could barely sustain one shower.
Extensive (!) water damage against shower room wall.
Bar fridge in room not stocked (empty).
In-room dining plates still in hallway at 11h00 next morning.
Four pillows on bed. All lumpy and very hard.
Come on! - huge potential. Let down through basic, basic house keeping.
Will not recommend.

Room Tip: Executive suite not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent one night at the hotel for my birthday. It was nice, I thought the rooms very well decorated. But there was no rugby on our television for a Saturday afternoon in Blue Bulls Country!! The bathroom and shower was awesome, very spacious and luxurious. The Hotel is well spaced out, the reception area is stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Royal Elephant was one fine dining experience when it started. The lamb Tagine was simply put: Scrumptious. The attention to detail and the waiters correct serving style was amazing. Somewhere along the line they have lost the plot. The price of all food doubled within a 13 month period. Waiters have forgotten waiting etiquette in that they serve from the incorrect side and remove incorrectly. Women's plates are not necessarily put down ahead of men's. After so many wonderful dinners and a tolerance that it would get better - I doubt it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnisaVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centurion
2.6 mi away
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in Centurion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
5.5 mi away
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
3.5 mi away
Protea Hotels by Marriott Pretoria Centurion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Leriba Hotel
Leriba Hotel
#6 of 10 in Centurion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.8 mi away
Centurion Lake Hotel
Centurion Lake Hotel
#4 of 10 in Centurion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Corner Willem Botha & Wierda Streets, Eldoraigne, Centurion, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre situated on the banks of the Hennops River in Centurion, exemplifies tasteful North African elegance combined with exceptional, discreetly personalized attention to detail. We have gathered inspiration, stories, recipes, furnishings and embellishments that have embodied the essence of Moroccan living, hospitality and creativity over the ages. We have ten fully equipped conference venues accommodating groups ranging from 5 to 500 delegates seated cinema-style. The hotel boasts 40 luxurious rooms for our guests to rejuvenate with an upmarket restaurant, bar / poolside and lounges where guests can dine and relax. Royal Elephant cuisine is a medley of Moroccan, International and African cuisine. At her restaurant and bar, guests are treated to centuries' of interaction between Morocco and world cuisines and drinks, under the direction of celebrated Executive Chef, Andrew Hammond. The breathtakingly dramatic Zagora Grill Room restaurant serves a delicious fusion of South to North American, Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine and is ideal for breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Royal Elephant is the perfect venue for adding a touch of "Magic and Style" to a bride and groom's Wedding day. With a beautiful thatch chapel and various reception venues, the tranquility, picturesque location and elegance of Royal Elephant, provides a natural but very romantic atmosphere to make dreams come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Elephant Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing