We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed overnight to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are well equipped and very comfortable.
We were slightly disappointed though that the bed was not turned down after we arrived from dinner. For a 5* lodge, this should be standard.
The surrounding grounds are stunning and the food was ok. We were disappointed with the blandness of the desserts on offer on the buffet and did inform the manager on duty.
Overall, we had a great stay and hope to be back soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Herbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Herbert_S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

We do apologize for the turndown not done before your return to your room and agree this is the standard procedure. The executive chef has also been briefed regarding your constructive feedback about the dessert selection on the night you dined in Meadow Green restaurant and is working hard on resolving the matter.

Again, we thank you for your constructive feedback as it is the only way that we can measure our service delivery to our valued GUESTS.

We look forward to welcoming you back to African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

Kind Regards,
Amalia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently celebrated our birthday with the family eating at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.
The buffet was good, offering a large selection of local food. The service was good and the view was spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter_Tranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Peter_Tranter,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

We will share your feedback with the TEAM and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Amalia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This lodge is at a truly beautiful location, inside the city but without any city sounds or views, all you see and feel is tranquility of the lake. I think all rooms would have the lake view, the rooms are spacious and furnished in traditional/colonial style. There is a good spa there as well and the subway station is 10min drive. What lacks here is equally good food - I found the buffet food to be bland and mass produced. When I ordered food from the menu it only arrived after my husband finished his bland buffet dinner. The staff apologised, however they had no valid excuse for why my order was late. All in all, this would become a magical place should the management review and improve their FB product.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Sister_Karamazov,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

We are excited to launch our new buffet and a la carte menus 1 May and under the leadership of our newly appointed Executive chef, we believe we will exceed our GUESTS expectations in terms of food product and quality.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A stay in Irene Country Lodge for one day and one night was very good. That part of the country is known for being a congested city but getting to this Lodge is like a stay in a quet Carribean island. Watching the birds peacefuly in the lake at sunset, I cant describe the fantastic view of the actual Lodge. Wow keep it up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lunga_marula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Lunga_Marula,

Thank you for your lovely comments about recent visit to our beautiful property.

We wish all GUESTS to experience the tranquil environment that we try to create at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

We will share your feedback with the TEAM.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights on a work trip and found the hotel very nice, especially its tranquil location and ground with its manmade lake. The rooms were enormous and the service good. The food was good, but not great, though the breakfast made up for that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Tonyrfsa09,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the tranquility of our beautiful property.

We also thank you for the constructive feedback regarding the dinner meals. We are pleased to announce the arrival of our new Executive Chef, Rylan Ramsamy that started on the 1st of April.

Chef Rylan together with the kitchen brigade is working hard to rectify any food related issues.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Amalia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After booking into our room at 2pm,we were just settling in and having tea when at 4pm interrupted by staff wanting to turn our beds up for the evening .we declined but I phoned the duty manager before we left for supper requesting that our room may be prepared and cups cleaned while we were at dinner which should be the normal procedure and certainly every hotel we have stayed at.Having returned from dinner ,we found our room untouched and phoned duty manager again .we left our room while the staff arrived to sort out ,only to have the staff proceed to yell at each other and my wife then rushed back to the room in order to tell them to quieten down ,I am sure the rooms in our section must of certainly heard the shouting .To top in all , we were woken at 8:30 am on Saterday morning by cleaner ,requesting that she was ready to clean our room.I found this absurd and informed management on our departure .The Friday carvery was average and the beef on offer tasteless dry and cooked beyond repair and thus did not eat it.Our bill presented on departure had R122.00 added extra and was told it was for cashew nuts in our room .This was then corrected .Our Friday dinner was credited to our bill but the nights stay was a waste of money and we were totally disappointed and angry with the events regarding our stay.I am afraid that I will not spend well earned money on this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Tom P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent visit to African Pride Irene Country Lodge. The TEAM appreciates your feedback to assist us in constantly improving our service delivery. We also thank you for taking the time to discuss the matter in more detail to assist us in resolving the matter.

We profusely apologize for not living up to your expectations and your disappointing visit over the weekend.

The inconvenience, with regard to your room turndown and being awoken for cleaning the next day, which you experienced during your stay most definitely is not the standard we strive to achieve. Please accept our apology and be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

With regard to your disappointment shown in the food, this is not the 5 star standards we pride ourselves in, however, we are proud to announce the arrival of our new Executive Chef, Rylan Ramsamy, joining us on 1 April 2014.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst visiting African Pride Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

As discussed, we look forward to hosting you upon your next visit to African Pride Irene Country Lodge and turn your negative experience into a positive experience.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Amalia Boshoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Wonderful hotel about 30kms/20 miles from Sandon(Johannesburg).
It is a breath of fresh air, in the countryside.
The hotel is set in a forest setting with a lake.
Our room, which was luxurious with a balcony was on the ground floor virtually in the forest.
The service is amazing with all staff doing their best to ensure you area comfortable and relaxed.
Great break for a day or a weekend.

Room Tip: It really is worth the extra and stay in one of the 'forest' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Clive V,

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly share your positive feedback with our TEAM.

We are pleased that you felt the essence of our hotel and we remain dedicated to provide service excellence to all our valued GUESTS.

Thank you for visiting African Pride Irene Country Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centurion
3.2 mi away
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in Centurion
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Centurion Lake Hotel
Centurion Lake Hotel
#4 of 10 in Centurion
137 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotels Pretoria Centurion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Centurion
Road Lodge Centurion
#10 of 10 in Centurion
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centurion Golf Suites Guest Lodge
21.5 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#20 of 66 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Irene Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Irene Country Lodge

Address: Nellmapius Drive | Irene Village, Centurion 0062, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — African Pride Irene Country Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something to be said for an oasis situated within the heart of Gauteng, South Africa’s Economic Capital. The historical village of Irene, Centurion is known for the long and winding oak-lined country lane where cows graze in green pastures, you will arrive at a haven of peace and tranquillity. With lakeside views to rival most paintings, African Pride Irene Country Lodge is a luxurious upmarket hotel, which boasts spacious opulent rooms, fine dining restaurants, conference, function and wedding venues, and also boasts an upmarket day spa called Camdeboo Day Spa. Being in a peaceful setting does not indicate a lack of activities. Venture out and visit the nearby Irene Dairy Farm, Flea market or Smuts House Museum. Take it a step further and strap on you hiking gear. Explore the Hennops River hiking trail or the variety of wildlife in the Zwartkops Nature Reserve. Come and spend your getaway with African Pride Irene Country Lodge, where world charm meets modern day convenience in a breath-taking country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Irene Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Irene Country Hotel Irene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing