We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Leriba Hotel(Centurion)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
222
136
31
21
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
136
31
21
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdairy farmbird sanctuaryblack swansgreen restaurantoverlooking the lakewonderful hotelseparate showerexcellent servicelovely settingcountry feelbuffet breakfasta la cartechecking outworld classcannot commenttreated like royaltylong flight
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a wonderul place to have a business meeting - accesible and yet a feeling of being out of the city. It is on lovely and peaceful surroundings. The facilities are up to date and the staff hospitable. The only disappointment was the food - the buffet was not very exciting!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Julia B,

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the buffet not being exciting enough.

Our dedicated TEAM of chefs are working hard on rectifying any shortcomings currently experienced with our buffets.

Assuring you of our dedication to providing food of the highest quality and taste.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wonderful venue, staff at reception and other staff offer wonderful service !

Spa is a bit overpriced though !

The food was really good, and there was always a personal touch by the chefs. The restaurant manager was very friendly. I will definitely visit this hotel again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Resham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Resham S,

Thank you for your kind words after your recent visit to African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

We value your feedback and will pass along your positive comments to our newly appointed restaurant manager, Ebrahim Allam.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I spent two nights at Irene Country Lodge attending a 3 day company Board meeting. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious with a lovely balcony looking out into a wooded area. Perfectly clean and well equipped, and working wi-fi in the room - not always available in many of the so-called lodges in Guateng. Setting is really pleasant and restful for a Lodge that is so accessible. Food in the restaurant is good with a wide range of choice. The breakfasts are quite special. Did not try the spa but if its standard matches the hotel it will surely be good.
The most outstanding feature is the service. From reception to restaurant, from house staff supporting a business conference to the ground staff - extremely pleasant, pro-active and understanding. Food and refreshments brought to the meeting room top quality, plus coffee and a courtesy fridge in the meeting room. Not a single request was ever too much trouble, even at late hours. Highly recommended - puts most of its competitors in the region to shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "Forest" area (room numbers from 500 upwards)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Michael O,

Thank you ever so much for these wonder words of praise after your recent visit to AP Irene Country Lodge.

We remain dedicated in our continuous strive for service excellence.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and found the place good but this was my last visit.

On this last stay they charged my credit card not just for the stay but also for extra's in advance, this was not an authorisation but a charge. I asked them not to do this and they stated it was a now policy and they will refund anything that is not used the next day. They do not understand that with a foreign credit card when you do a refund you loose on the exchange, I lost GBP 12.00 on this transaction for a one night stay with charges and exchange loss.

At 3am the fire alarm started to beep and beeped through the night as the battery was low, the detector was screwed shut so I could not stop it beeping. The room was also freezing cold on entry and took a long while to warm up and I had to get straight into bed and freeze for a long while.

The final killer was the room rate which increases every time I stayed, now approaching Rand 3,000 per night up from 1,700 just a few months ago. Decided now to stay in Sandton, much better offering of hotels & restaurants and with the train just 15 - 20 mins away, I got 3 nights in a warm room, no beeping alarms, no credit card refund loss hotel where I could walk to shops and train within 5 mins for just what I would have paid for 1 night in the Irene Lodge and the office finds it as easy to pick from the Gautrain as the Irene Lodge, so problem solved for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear SforSani,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valued feedback after your last visit to African Pride Irene Country Lodge. We value all constructive feedback in order to rectify and improve on our services we offer our valued GUESTS.

Regarding your feedback on the credit card charges, please allow me this opportunity to provide you with feedback.

The company had recently upgraded our credit card machines. The installation and software parameters set, only allowed charges to be made, instead of the pre-authorization as in any other hotel. Subsequent to your visit this has been corrected and I can confirm that we now only take pre-autorization on check-in as apposed to charging your credit card and refunding upon check out.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you, our most valued GUEST.

I can also confirm that since your last visit, the hotel has placed insulation in all bedrooms as an added measure against the very chilly winter we are experiencing.

We are deeply saddened to hear that you now stay at another hotel. Should you be willing to give us a chance to change your last experience into a more positive experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to assist with your booking.

Assuring you of our continued dedication to service excellence.

Kind Regards,
Amalia Boshoff
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

African Pride Irene is an upmarket hotel, deserving of a 4 star. Waiters are well trained at the hotel and porters are very friendly. Strongly recommend the chicken burger on the menu. Excellent location just opposite the famous irene farm. Rooms are clean and very presentable. Excellent for conferences. Plenty of different types of bird life like guinea fowls, Egyptian goose ect. Internet is 500 mb per day. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are going in winter, opt for room service if you are far from the reception.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cateaux2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APIreneCountryLodge, Deputy GM at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear cateax2013,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We look forward to your next visit to AP Irene Country Lodge.

Kindly note we also provide binoculars and books on birding for the avid bird watchers, at our Reception desk.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews