We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had four nights at Thornhill, and it was so great! Helpfull staff, really good food and the room was so comfortable. Chris (the manager) learned us everything (almost) that we needed to know about the area and the wildlife. The guides had so much knowledge as well. Wanna go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Julie, thanks for the review and by the way we all want you to come back. Thanks for staying with us and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    69
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
178
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

For once I travelled with the other half and we had the most wonderful stay at Thornhill. This is a small lodge with about 12 rooms, so the staff can give a very personalised service. They are happy to organise game drives and sightseeing for you or happy to leave you to your own devices. We booked a 5 day package with a pick up in Joburg. The games drives in the neighbouring Thornybush reserve were great fun and we saw the Big Five first time out, second time we saw all but the elephants. We also had a whole day in the Kruger itself which was very different from Thornybush as everything is on a much bigger scale, you see herds or Zebra, Impala, Giraffes and Elephants rather than just the few on the smaller reserves.

Back the the lodge, the rooms are pleasant and clean, the bar is a fun place to meet fellow guests and the food is excellent. I have an allergy to milk and they bent over backwards to make sure I was able to eat well.

A big shout out to Charmaine, Jayden, Chris, Goodman, Isreal, Simon and all the behind the scenes staff who made our trip so much fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sololady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for "The big shout out", all my staff heard it and its appreciated. I'm so pleased that your stay with us was such fun and that you obviously enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Please stay in touch and maybe your'll come to to see us one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend went for the five day experience and what an experience it was. Chris, Charmaine and all the staff did an excellent job in catering for us. The food is really good, my girlfriend has a milk allergy and the staff went out of their way to cater for her, pointing out which food she could eat and even preparing special dishes for her. The game drives where excellent we saw two leopards on different occasions and the pure fun of crashing through the bush on the open top land rover was awesome! And thanks to Jayden for keeping our drinks topped up in the evenings! You know a place is good when you're sad to leave, thanks guys we'll be back!
Hamish & Louise

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hames13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for the review and more importantly your comment that you had a great time and didn't want to leave. I'm over the moon that you wish to come back to Thornhill, Please stay in touch so that we can ensure you that we make your next visit even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the lodge for three nights in March 2014 as part of an organised trip and had a wonderful time there. Chris and his team couldn't do enough to make our stay very special - the staff are very friendly, the rooms well looked after, and the food is excellent. We did very well with spotting wildlife, and I won't forget looking up at the milky way as a swim in the pool one evening!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
It was a pleasure having your group here and I think I enjoyed myself as much as you guys did. I hope all the photos were a success and please stay in touch. Regards from all my team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently spent four nights at the lodge on a solo trip and had such an amazing time, could have spent my whole trip in South Africa at this place. The lodge was very comfortable with a communal eating/ bar area for everyone to relax at the end of a very busy day wildlife spotting. Food was delicious and plentiful and loved talking and learning about the wildlife and life in South Africa with Chris, Charmaine, Jayden and the guides. Now I just have to figure out how to get back there permanently!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElkeC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
What a lovely review and thanks from all of us. I'm really pleased we made such an impression, so much so it would seem your planning a return. Until then, travel safely and stay in touch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I went to Thornhill Safari Lodge as part of an organised small group tour. Chris and all his staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great stay. Meals around the fire were a highlight, as were the freshly baked scones or muffins at breakfast! The lodge nestles nicely in its surroundings.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for the review. If only we had more time to spend around the fire and chatter about the wonderful area in which we share with nature. It was a pleasure having you and your group here and I'm so relieved that the weather held out for us to visit Marieskop and we could spend a few hours enjoying the spender of the canyon. Come back soon, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this lodge! The people who work here are so nice, we still have contact with them.
The rooms were really clean, even though we got the warning we had to use our towels more than once and they'll use less water because of the scarce amount of water.

Chris, the boss, will tell you everything when you ask him about anything, Jayden is a really lovely guy and Petro will help you with everything you need.

I can tell way more, but it was just lovely, lovely!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesje89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
What an "amazing" review and thank you so much. It would seem that we fulfilled all you needs and I'm sure that you should really come back for another stay so that you could then complete the areas you didn't have time to see. " A week next time I think" . Take care and stay in touch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
8.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,656 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#13 of 103 in Hoedspruit
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#26 of 103 in Hoedspruit
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#17 of 103 in Hoedspruit
79 reviews
7.8 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 103 in Hoedspruit
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Safari Lodge

Property: Thornhill Safari Lodge
Address: Portion 144 of the Farm Guernsey 81 KU, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhill Safari Lodge offers an affordable getaway with comfortable rooms and excellent facilities in 13 authentic thatch-roof chalets. Located within the Greater Kruger Park ecosystem - South Africa, a mere 40km from Kruger Park's Orpen gate.We cater for group bookings, individual guests on self drives, fly in safari's and honeymoon couples. Come and enjoy a "Kruger to Canyon" experience which is "More than just a Safari". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., South African Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thornhill Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Safari Hotel Hoedspruit
Thornhill Safari Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing