We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a weekend to wished it was a week”
Review of Ekuthuleni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ekuthuleni
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a weekend to wished it was a week”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

What can we say this resort made us relax to the point that we said we must buy a house next to the river. We can refer this resort to anyone and eveyone. We stayed in unit 9 and we are just speachless we will see Ekuthuleni again and believe me then its for a week and not a weekend. People we wore there this weekend and we give Johan and his team a 5 star because u guys rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks a million for a great weekend.

Room Tip: we looked at the chalets and we think unit 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cescorizzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

After I booked, I saw & read previous reviews, including the bad one. I was a little skeptical but also found the complaint to be odd.......

Anyway, off we went & am glad to say it was awesome. The chalets were perfect, the pool area too . The manager Johann & his staff were very helpful & it was an overall good experience.

It was close enough to the Kruger for us to do a day trip there & saw all the animals.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniverM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I found ekuthuleni to be well-run and the chalets excellently maintained. guests are not allowed to smoke in chalets or damage property. This is to the benefit of all if you want to stay in a clean and neat environment.
Resort managers are courteous, friendly and helpful.
Go see for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windhoek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Beautiful surroundings, comfortable and fully equiped housing, friendly service and excellent houskeeping. This is not the extreme level of luxury that you sometimes find in lodges tending to make you feel as if you do not belong there. It is rather a true home away from home. This is the type of place where you will feel comforable, where you can let your hair down and relax. Whenever we talk about another trip and the question arise "where should we go?" the answer is always" Ekuthuleni, Hoedspruit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank susannaWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marloth Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

hallo All

I would just like to say we had the best time at Ekuthuleni, we got engaged the week we were there and Johan went out of his way to make it the best week ever even let us use his four wheel motorbike to go and have a private romatic outing!!

Johan and Marisa made us feel so at home we didnt want to go home, it felt like we've known them for years and we will definately go back!

I can not believe that anyone could be unhappy with anything at Ekuthuleni, not as long as Johan and Marisa are there!

Please do your self the favour and make Ekuthuleni your next holiday, it will be one to remember!

thank you Johan and Marisa so such a great stay, a special one indeed!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariacarstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The resort itself is comfortable. the units are spacious and well equipped but the staff are dishonest. the trip was one disaster after another. if you go - lock your belongings up and don't give the owner access to your credit card (he asked for it for a deposit - rather pay cash! it will be cheaper in the long run). he put things like mssing pillows, pillow cases and pillow protectors and ruined sheets on my credit card THREE WEEKS AFTER we left. He refused to send photos of the supposed damage. mi think it is just a scam. Foreigners beware - he will swip your card and debit what he likes - he even refused to send me the form of unit contents that i signed with the cleaner. By far the worst timeshare resort we have ever stayed in. and we have stayed in many - both in SA and internationally.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank kadJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekuthuleni, manager at Ekuthuleni, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
i will post the response ive send to rci about the geust k deller. hope u find it in order when u read the response to take the review down from the website. u say that u are the worlds most trusted travel advisor and by putting this review on u are not doing what u saying. regards Johan Kruger.
10 November 2009
IN RESPONSE TO EMAIL SENT TO RCI BY GUEST DELLER: 15 OCTOBER 2009
THE RESORT RECEIVED THE COMPLAINT ON 6 NOVEMBER 2009 VIA EMAIL FROM RCI
Guest Deller checked in at Ekuthuleni on 25 September 2009 into unit 8. During her stay between 25 September and 2 October the housekeeper noticed that someone had drawn on the sheets of the single bed with a ball point pen.
The housekeeper showed the damaged items to the guest. The guest admitted to the cleaner that her son had drawn on the sheets. The housekeeper said that she will take it to the laundry to see if the marks can be removed. New linen was placed on the bed. According to the cleaner, the guest took the damaged linen to her son in the living room and screamed at him.
The guest checked out on Friday 2 October. On the same day, the cleaners handed the Assistant Resort Manager a report, stating that one of the pillows from unit 8 was missing. They proceeded to hand her the pillow that was left in its place.
On Monday 5 October the laundry assistant showed the Assistant Resort Manager the damaged linen and said they could not remove the drawing. The Assistant Manager took pictures of the damage. Both sheets were damaged by the same ink from the ball point pen used to make the drawing.
The Assistant Manager proceeded to phone the guest and a male person answered the phone. She asked to speak to Mrs Deller, upon which the male person proceeded to call his mother (Ms Deller). The Assistant Manager introduced herself and asked the guest whether she perhaps had brought her own pillows to the resort. The guest answered yes and proceeded to state that they always take their own pillows to the resorts they visit, as the pillows are always of poor quality. In the same breaht she added that this was not the case at Ekuthuleni. She was very impressed with the quality of the pillows and also mentioned that not all resorts have pillow protectors like Ekuthuleni does. The Assistant Manager added that the resort had only recently gone through a refurb and that is why we have such high quality pillows. That having been said, the Assistant Resort Manager asked Ms Deller to please check whether they might have taken one of the resort’s pillows by accident, as we are missing a pillow from the unit they occupied. She immediately flew into a tantrum about us accusing her of stealing. The Assistant Manager tried to calm her down, and mentioned that it happens a lot that people take a pillow by accident. The resort just phone them and ask to post the pillow back at their expense, or the alternative would be that we deduct the cost of the pillow from their breakage deposit (which is almost always supplied by credit card details). The guest was still shouting at the Assistant Manager at which point the Assistant Manager offered to send her a picture of the pillow, to ask the guest if they could perhaps use the picture to identify their pillow. Ms Deller refused the offer, saying it will not help her in any way.
The Assistant Resort Manager then proceeded to tell the guest about the damage to the sheets. Before she could finish her sentence, Ms Deller interrupted her, admitting that she knew about the drawing on the sheets. She said that her son was bored, and that’s why her drew pictures on the linen, but that the cleaner alledgedley told her she will be able to get it cleaned. She proceeded to say that she had wanted to punish her son for doing what he did by making him go and draw the money for the damaged linen, in order for him to learn his lesson. She was upset about the fact that he was not punished while still at the resort, even though they had gone to draw the cash to pay for the linen. At the time of the phone converstation, her son was with her and she proceeded to yell at him, saying that he has caused her a lot of trouble and extra expense. By this time Ms Deller was furious and had raised her voice considerably.
Ms Deller asked about the cost of the damage. She said that before we deduct the amount from her credit card, to please phone her because she will have to make funds available.
Costs were as follows:
One pillow R120.00
One pillow protector R130.00
One pillowcase R55.00
One single fitted sheet R85.00
One singel flat sheet R85.00
She was once again invited to send the pillow back to the resort, but declined to do so. She asked for the items to be sent to her, since she is paying for it and want her son to know the concequences of his actions. The Assistant Resort Manager was quite shaken up by this time and referred the matter to the Resort Manager.
Two days later, the Resort Manager phoned Ms Deller to inform her that the resort had again tried in vain to clean the damaged sheets and that she will have to pay for it as well as the missing pillow. He wanted to confirm the correct amount to be deducted, as she requested. She again said that she will pay for the linen because she knew her son had damaged it, but refused to pay for the pillow, calling the Resort Manager a thief. She was yelling at him and screaming that is was too late to deduct the money. The Resort Manager tried to explain that the resort was trying to help her, by trying to clean the linen so that she does not have to pay for it. She would hear nothing of it and slammed the telephone down in his ear.
That was the last communication the resort had with Ms Deller.
The damaged linen has been taken out of commission, as it cannot be used in the chalets. The pillow Ms Deller had left behind is still at the resort.
All credit card deductions go to Ekuthuleni’s head office in Pretoria, where the matter is handled further.
The deduction for the damage was sent to HO on 15 October 2009 as a matter of extreme urgency.

It is standard practice to ask for a breakage deposit and to deduct damages found in chalets from guest’s credit cards or cash. As in all cases, Ms Deller has to sign a breakage form where she gives permission for this to be done. We have in no way defrauded her. Through the whole process the resort kept communication channels open and was bending over backwards to try and get the damaged linen clean. The pillow has gone missing from the chalet that she occupied. We found a strange pillow left in it’s place and the client admitted that they had brought their own pillows.
Ms Deller refused to pay for the linen and pillow to be posted to her home address and the items in question is still at the resort.

JOHAN KRUGER
RESORT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
4.1 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ekuthuleni Lodge
Ekuthuleni Lodge
#8 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wild Ivory Eco lodge
Wild Ivory Eco lodge
#2 of 2 in Bulge River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tshwene Lodge
Tshwene Lodge
#6 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.5 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#7 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekuthuleni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekuthuleni

Property: Ekuthuleni
Address: Farm Oxford 183, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Ekuthuleni Hotel Hoedspruit
Ekuthuleni South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing