We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit”
Review of Ekuthuleni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ekuthuleni
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Ekuthuleni for a weekend. I must say that the manager and staff were very helpful. They made our stay very comfortable. The place itself is so peaceful and I felt rejuvenated after our weekend away. I am definitely considering going back there for a week, this time, and also to get some peace and quiet while I write my masters dissertation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nolizwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was invited to join my family at this resort in May 2013. It took almost a whole day of travelling with two little ones to get there. Our first impression was that it was amazing. The accomodation was perfect, the view from the unit was spectacular and we could see crocodile and hippos from our balcony everyday. We had an absolutely wonderful time. On arriving my little girl dropped her half size soccer ball on the grass, when I looked for it, it was gone. It was a matter of ten minutes! We asked the staff and they said it must be the monkeys. We found this strange but later asked the manager, Johan when we saw him. The next morning the ball was back in our unit without any explanations. When we left, we unfortunately left behind my child's dummy and binky and a pair of sheepskin slippers. We phoned once we got home and spoke to the receptionist, who is still getting back to us. I find this very poor service as a childs binky is a prized possession and it has been like a death in the family. She has had a hard time adjusting and I can literally remember when she put it down, we were just so rushed leaving that at the time I could not find it. The resort is lovely, the units are well maintained and it is a nice place to relax. I just think there should have been some kind of feedback and possibly the ability to post our things back to us, as they are of no use to anyone else. The same "monkey"also helped themselves to our biscuits on a daily basis, which also leaves a sour taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: All the units are facing the river so they are all great except from ten onwards that can't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Ekuthuleni gives you that home away from home experiance. The houses are larger than most, and you can easily sleep 6 people. 2 in a double room, 2 in two singles and then another two in the loft (not closed off though).

Unfortunitly the pool was being fixed so we had to go down to hippo pools and that was rather dissapointing. Otherwise it was rather well priced for a week away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamaryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our stay there, from the hippos waking us up in the mornings to crackling fires of the braais at night. The photographers dream come true. Travelling by car, the journey was excellent, although the road in parts was peppered with potholes (a RSA Sickness). Take the scenic route through Dullstroom. The operative word is meander. Have your camera switched on all the time. Ekuthuleni and it's manager, hosts, were a breath of fresh air after the journey. Absolutely beautiful wildlife game farm, for the persons getting up early. Even watching the dung beetles and other creepies provided amusement and betting games.

Room Tip: Chalets closer to the hoppo pools are much noiser because of the animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this place, as we booked it without seeing what it looked like. The house was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed for self catering. Overlooking the river we got to hear hippos and wildlife all the time, which really enhanced the bush experience. Thanks for great time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We've visited Ekuthuleni twice this year - for a midweek break at the beginning of June, as well as during the last week in November. Travelling to Hoedspruit in June, we unfortunately collided with a black cow meandering the highway in the rural area between Orighstad and Hoedspruit just after dark. In the process our car was written off, but we decided to still make the most of the holiday and spend the next five days at Ekuthuleni, as we've previously experienced this resort to really be a home away from home.

Here management supported us in every possible way, assisting us with faxing/e-mailing through claims to the insurance company, arranging for transport to Hoedspruit to see the local doctor & to sort out the repairs on our trailer at Hoedspruit Towing. At the end of the week, Ekuthuleni arranged transport to fetch our rental car at Hoedspruit. After we had left, Johan was kind enough to arrange for the trailer to be towed to and stored at the resort. He then asked a visiting representative of QVC Head Office to tow it back to Fourways for us!

And even though it was a frustrating week being stranded without transport, we could not think of a more beautiful place to be "trapped". We could sit on the stoep of our luxurious chalet and watch the hippos play in the river below. At night the sound or the owls would lull us to sleep, while the Fish Eagle would gently wake us up at dawn.

In November we could enjoy all of the above, as well as laugh at the antics the Vervet Monkeys with their oh so cute babies! The bushveld had turned a lush green after the rains and we could marvel at the sound of the frogs serenading us every evening. When taking a short walk in the little game reserve, we stumbled across a unique little grass toad with the most brilliant colouring. Still trying to identify this little fellow, as he is not in Vincent Carruthers and Louis Du Preez frog book...

This time we also managed to visit Jessica the world famous hippo on the other side of Hoedspruit, but could not find time to fit in a guided tour through the Moholoholo Rehabilitation Centre or do the amazing river drive between Olifants & Letaba in the Kruger Park. Both of these are a MUST when you're in the area. Neither did we manage a meal at Sleepers. So we'll have to go back!

But we'll be thinking of you all during the festive season, when we tuck into the warthog & kudu meat from Bosveld Slaghuis. A visit to Ekuthuleni and the surrounding area is always very special! But this should be the exclusive privilege of those who choose to unwind in the peace & quiet of pristine ecological surroundings in a well-appointed, spacious chalet with an amazing river view... Those who can appreciate the sounds and the sights of the African Bush... Definitely NOT for the likes of Mrs Deller and her brats. Her negative review should be removed immediately, as it is totally misleading...

The Vissers
Helderkruin

Room Tip: All units except 13 & 14 are very well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarietjieVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

What can we say this resort made us relax to the point that we said we must buy a house next to the river. We can refer this resort to anyone and eveyone. We stayed in unit 9 and we are just speachless we will see Ekuthuleni again and believe me then its for a week and not a weekend. People we wore there this weekend and we give Johan and his team a 5 star because u guys rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks a million for a great weekend.

Room Tip: we looked at the chalets and we think unit 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank cescorizzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
2.7 mi away
Ekuthuleni Lodge
Ekuthuleni Lodge
#7 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
70 reviews
203.2 mi away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
505 reviews
190.7 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#8 of 104 in Hoedspruit
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
203.3 mi away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#9 of 104 in Hoedspruit
317 reviews
201.4 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
#6 of 104 in Hoedspruit
195 reviews
183 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#18 of 104 in Hoedspruit
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekuthuleni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekuthuleni

Address: Farm Oxford 183, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Ekuthuleni Hotel Hoedspruit
Ekuthuleni South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing