We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Ekuthuleni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ekuthuleni
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A beautiful place to stay nicely fitted out. The view from the deck overlooking the Olifants river that flowed past the row of chalets was a real wow. A really nice barbeque was right next to the deck. Nothing can beat sitting on your deck enjoying sundowners and watching the sun set over the river. The resident collection of hippos provided entertainment with their blowing and grunting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

A truly great place. This resort should have gold crown status. Very friendly and helpful staff. Kids had a great time in the games room and pool, there comment, "mommy it's perfect". Birds beyond belief, hippos and crocs at your doorstep, wildebees in the garden. Small game farm with excellent walks. Located close to Hoedspruit with plenty of things to do.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Ekuthuleni for a weekend. I must say that the manager and staff were very helpful. They made our stay very comfortable. The place itself is so peaceful and I felt rejuvenated after our weekend away. I am definitely considering going back there for a week, this time, and also to get some peace and quiet while I write my masters dissertation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nolizwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was invited to join my family at this resort in May 2013. It took almost a whole day of travelling with two little ones to get there. Our first impression was that it was amazing. The accomodation was perfect, the view from the unit was spectacular and we could see crocodile and hippos from our balcony everyday. We had an absolutely wonderful time. On arriving my little girl dropped her half size soccer ball on the grass, when I looked for it, it was gone. It was a matter of ten minutes! We asked the staff and they said it must be the monkeys. We found this strange but later asked the manager, Johan when we saw him. The next morning the ball was back in our unit without any explanations. When we left, we unfortunately left behind my child's dummy and binky and a pair of sheepskin slippers. We phoned once we got home and spoke to the receptionist, who is still getting back to us. I find this very poor service as a childs binky is a prized possession and it has been like a death in the family. She has had a hard time adjusting and I can literally remember when she put it down, we were just so rushed leaving that at the time I could not find it. The resort is lovely, the units are well maintained and it is a nice place to relax. I just think there should have been some kind of feedback and possibly the ability to post our things back to us, as they are of no use to anyone else. The same "monkey"also helped themselves to our biscuits on a daily basis, which also leaves a sour taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: All the units are facing the river so they are all great except from ten onwards that can't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Ekuthuleni gives you that home away from home experiance. The houses are larger than most, and you can easily sleep 6 people. 2 in a double room, 2 in two singles and then another two in the loft (not closed off though).

Unfortunitly the pool was being fixed so we had to go down to hippo pools and that was rather dissapointing. Otherwise it was rather well priced for a week away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamaryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our stay there, from the hippos waking us up in the mornings to crackling fires of the braais at night. The photographers dream come true. Travelling by car, the journey was excellent, although the road in parts was peppered with potholes (a RSA Sickness). Take the scenic route through Dullstroom. The operative word is meander. Have your camera switched on all the time. Ekuthuleni and it's manager, hosts, were a breath of fresh air after the journey. Absolutely beautiful wildlife game farm, for the persons getting up early. Even watching the dung beetles and other creepies provided amusement and betting games.

Room Tip: Chalets closer to the hoppo pools are much noiser because of the animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this place, as we booked it without seeing what it looked like. The house was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed for self catering. Overlooking the river we got to hear hippos and wildlife all the time, which really enhanced the bush experience. Thanks for great time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
2.7 mi away
Ekuthuleni Lodge
Ekuthuleni Lodge
#8 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
180.2 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#56 of 103 in Hoedspruit
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.7 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
357 reviews
209.6 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#14 of 103 in Hoedspruit
173 reviews
201.4 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekuthuleni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekuthuleni

Address: Farm Oxford 183, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Ekuthuleni Hotel Hoedspruit
Ekuthuleni South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing