We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vuyani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

loved it, it was absolutely wonderful , we were lucky enough to see a leopard , cheetahs ,lions and countless other sightings . everything from the rooms to the food and everything in between was spectacular . I really hope to come back soon for the third ime

Room Tip: get the river suite if you want privacy , feels like you live in a palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anselmleopold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Anselm,

Many thanks for your fantastic review! You are the youngest guest to ever review us (not that one would know unless one knew each other), and that should make you proud! It's such a delight to see everyone having a great time here, from young to elderly.

Hopefully you will be able to convince your mum for a re-return visit, you two are always welcome here! :-)

Liebe Gruesse,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    21
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
322
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at Vuyani in early June and found the place to be amazing. The lodge was lovely, the food was fantastic and all tastes were catered for. The staff very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed the safari trips out each day and we will never forget Mike's driving and also the coolest tracker in the world, Uyai, nothing seemed to phase him. We saw the animals in their natural environment and managed to get up close to them.(15feet away from a male lion and 6feet away from a rhinoceros) We even saw a leopard! We found it incredible that animals were wandering around outside our bedroom window
While we were there Vuyani started offering spa treatments - it was incredible having a massage with a giraffe walking by. It was very warn in the day but coats were needed for the drives early in the morning and later in the day as very chilly
Would love to return to South Africa and would have no hesitation in staying at Vuyani again.
Gary & Sally J
Hampshire UK

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 899SEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Gary and Sally,

What a pleasure to read your review indeed. I am pleased that you enjoyed the lodge, the food, the level of service, as well as the sightings you experienced when out on safaris. I am thrilled to hear that you also enjoyed the new spa treatments we have introduced at our riverbed, that must be the most relaxed way of observing wildlife on earth. ;-)

It would be our utmost pleasure to host you here again. You are always welcome back at Vuyani!

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 7 nights at Vuyani and it's the first holiday where we've not wanted to return home one bit.

I have stayed at 5 star luxury resorts a lot but many are impersonal and you are made to feel that you must dress up etc. to be there. Vuyani is relaxing but still 5 star service, where you can be yourself and still have the all the luxuries.

The game drives were brilliant and exciting, we saw all animals bar the leopard (but that wasn't for lack of trying in our trackers behalf). Jesse had a great sense of humour, which helped so early in the morning. Themba was so knowledgable and new all the background stories to how the animals got their names and told us many village beliefs and stories. We much preferred the off roading experience to getting so close to the animals than viewing them from a distance at Kruger.

The food was delicious, I didn't eat anything I didn't love. It's well prepared and you can tell they made the food with pride and were happy to accommodate your likes and dietary requirements. The choice was good and the variation to where you ate was great.

We met some lovely people and went on excursions with them, we found it enhanced the holiday to have the other couples there to share it. If you don't wish to be with the group then they're happy to accommodate for private dinners and excursions too. My partner proposed to me at the lodge and they secretly arranged with him to have a separate meal under the stars by the fire as a surprise and left complimentary champagne for us as a congratulations.

This is a long review but I found the reviews really helpful before booking my holiday. It's a stunning setting, the most friendly and helpful staff, luxurious rooms with the most comfy beds!

After reading another review we were concerned about the honeymoon suite having an outside shower before booking but in fact it was fine to use, very hot and enclosed and if it's not to your taste than there's also another shower attachment on the bath.

The best credit that we can give to Vuyani is that we have booked to have our wedding there next July. We would never have a wedding so far from home (uk) if we didn't completely trust both the staff and service. Kim is the best hostess we've ever come across and is a large reason we trust them to help us with our special day.

My advice to anyone booking their next holiday is to pack for warm weather as the days are gorgeous but also pack hats, scarves and gloves for the morning and evening game drives. Once the sun goes down it gets very cold with the wind in your face on the drives (even with the blankets they kindly provide).

Can't wait to return next year with all our family and friends. It truly is the holiday of a life time.

Thank you all at the lodge.

Ashley and Aaron xx


  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashicaroud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Ashley,

Many thanks for your brilliant review. It's always great to read when our guests enjoyed all aspects of the lodge: the food, the rooms, the service, the safaris, and many others.

Congratulations for your engagement! We are excited to host your wedding here next year. You will have the best time ever, guaranteed.

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful holiday here. Couldn't fault anything!!
The drives are so exciting and the guides are extremely knowledgable. We had never done a safari before so didn't know what to expect but we saw everything we could have asked for. You get so close to the animals! I would definitely recommend this reserve as you can drive off road, unlike other places like Kruger, and this is definitely the most exciting part.
The week flew by! I would recommend the trips to the elephant sanctuary and Kruger.
The food was absolutely delicious and we never went hungry! All the staff are so lovely and our whole trip ran smoothly including our transfers from Johannesburg. We Would definitely recommend the lodge to anyone! It's great value for money and we loved the whole experience.
P.s if you go in June like we did take a winter coat as it gets freezing on the drives once the sun goes down!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiaheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Georgia,

It was a real pleasure meeting you at the lodge, and many thanks for your positive review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the safaris on our reserve, the lodge, and the food. We take great pride in making luxury African safaris more affordable than ever, and that in a completely unique setting.

Please visit us again, you are always welcome here!

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I took my father here to celebrate his 60th birthday. We stayed only five nights, but we saw every animal (except the leopard) between our time at the lodge and one day at Kruger Park. Our guides Themba and Mike were experts at finding animals and it was a pleasure to watch them at work. Themba took us to Kruger Park. Not only was he a perfect guide, but a pretty good cook too! He cooked us breakfast and lunch outside on a grill.

The rooms are divine. Seriously, for the price of this place it is unbelievable the quality of the rooms, the level of service, quality of food and the fun you have on game drives. The staff was so kind and no request was denied. In fact they anticipated any and every need you may have.

Game drives are from 6 AM-9 AM, then you have breakfast. The evening drive starts at 4PM, ends at 7PM. By the time you finish dinner the day is over. But in the middle of the day, you can do different excursions or get a massage. We did the elephant experience, I highly recommend it.

I read some of the other reviews about how displeased people were with having to hang out with other guests. Which you really only "have" to do during breakfast and dinner. Thank goodness they weren't talking about us - I hope! It was around the same time we were there, but we were the only ones from California in the group :) We enjoyed spending time with the other guests. We got to meet fascinating people from all over the world and it's a ton of fun to hear other people's stories of what animals they saw, the excursions they took and see some of their pictures. I think it added to the experience. I enjoyed the communal seating. There was one night where the seating was non-communal. They mix up the seating every night.

I don't think you will find another safari experience at this level for this price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECollins-Fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic and accurate review. It is such a pleasure to read reviews of people who just focus on having a great time (which is very easy here).

I am especially grateful for your precise description what one's many options are if one wants privacy. This is very helpful to our future guests indeed. Our message is: if you prefer private dinners, or private excursions, just let us know!

It was a real pleasure hosting you here, and we'd love to welcome you here again in the future!

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I would give this place 3.5 stars if I could. We stayed at Vuyani in May for a week. We were so impressed with the animals that we saw and with how close we could get to them. Ouyai and Jesse were amazing trackers, and the experience felt much more genuine than the "tracking" at a place like Kruger where you just follow other cars around.

We stayed in our own hut, and it was nice and spacious. We were so glad that we had our own place to retreat to during the day because what keeps me from giving the place 5 stars was the other people. We didn't realize how much of our time would be spent with the other guests at the lodge (group seating for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, not to mention the 6 hours of game drives with others each day). We liked most everyone, but some people were extremely grating and it was impossible to avoid them. We were on our honeymoon, and we would have loved a little more privacy. Just something to be aware of when you think of coming! We said that this place would be perfect if you could bring just a group of your own friends or family and fill the (small) place.

Also, we thought the food was average. I'm surprised at so many people's rave reviews about it! It wasn't bad, but it was pretty utilitarian, no-fuss cooking.

An earlier reviewer mentioned something about the lack of a gym, and that would have been great. The property is small, and we were not allowed to walk around except for on the little pathways connecting our rooms to the lodge. 3 meals a day + 6 hours of sitting on the game drives + no activity made us feel a little cooped up.

The service would get 6 stars, though! We loved everyone who worked there, especially Ouyai.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for leaving us a review.

We have had a very close look at your review, and we are somewhat puzzled as to the overall rating: 3.5 stars. That's very much out of line with what 98% of our other guests think. Our food, over the last 5 years, has been steadily rated as very high quality, so this seems to be a case of personal taste/preference. We are puzzled as to why we are rated 3.5 stars overall, if the sightings/safaris were amazing, you were happy with the accommodation, and if you rate the service 6 stars. Concerning other guests: this is normal for any safari lodge in South Africa. You will spend 6-7 hours each day with other guests on a game driver. It is that way all over Africa, and in a way, that's the charm of it all. Regarding meals: all one has to do is ask, and we will serve private breakfasts, lunches or dinners in your own suite. But one has to ask, otherwise we can't know. Our lodge is particularly flexible when it comes to creating privacy for yourselves. Not any lodges offer individual chalets, such as the one you had booked. With a private jacuzzi, and deck, you can enjoy complete privacy between all safaris, and for all meals, if this is what one desires.

Gym: we can offer a transfer to nearby Hoedspruit, for a mid-day gym session in a professional gym, if our guests desire this. A fully equipped gym doesn't work for a 7-suite only safari lodge, but we offer this alternative. We also offer a range of sports activities, such as river rafting, golf etc. All these activities are in the information pack in the suites, but there had been no request from you regarding these sports activities.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the safaris, and the lodge, and we hope that you have taken best memories from your stay here in South Africa.

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A once in a life time experience (Except I'm sure we will go back as it was good) Nothing was too much trouble from all the lodge staff, trackers / drivers. The food was wonderfully prepared and presented. My wife is a vegetarian and allergic to fish, so this was no problem for the catering staff. Many thanks to everyone at Vuyani lodge for making our safari such a pleasure and enjoyable time. Special thanks to the trackers / drivers and Rex for looking after us during the night and making sure we were up bright and early for the morning drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the lodge are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Roger,

Many thanks for leaving us an excellent review. Today's world is a demanding one, with standards rising across the board, wherever one goes. So it is all the more satisfying to hear that our guests have a good time, enjoy the food and the lodge, and take such pleasure in one of those "must-do" adventures: an African safari!

Please do visit us again, you are always more than welcome here! It would be an absolute pleasure.

Kindest regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
3.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
6.6 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
9.2 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuyani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuyani Safari Lodge

Property: Vuyani Safari Lodge
Address: Moditlo Private, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vuyani Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vuyani Safari Lodge is located on the Moditlo Private Game Reserve within the Blue Canyon Conservancy which is more than 36,000 acres in size. Located next to the Kruger National Park, at the foot of the Drakensberg mountain range, Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of South Africa's premier luxury safari lodges, in the country's most famous area for African wildlife. The Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of only 3 lodges on this reserve, and with only 10 suites, it offers one of the most exclusive African safari experiences in South Africa. The reserve offers a unique opportunity to observe all of Africa's large game such as the lion, leopard, rhino, elephant, hippo and crocodile as well as some of the very rarest species, amongst others the wild dog, the brown hyena, the ground hornbill, cheetahs and several other highly endangered animals. Almost 400 various species of birds have been counted. Some of the rarest European migratory birds visit the reserve in the European winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Vuyani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vuyani Safari Hotel Hoedspruit
Vuyani Safari Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing