We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kubu Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$814
US$773
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,039
US$1,015
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,425
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
62
25
14
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
25
14
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger national parkgame reservenicolekrugerparklodgewildlifedrivesafari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were in South-Africa for 14 days and made a hole trip in the eastern part of the country. Of all the lodges we did, the Kubu Safari Lodge was THE BEST ONE !!! And we are used to travel and we normally stay in 4 and 5* hotels.
The people are so kind and you feel they live for their lodge. It's their life. The staff is well treated by their boss and his wife and you feel that as guest to.
The rooms are very nice, clean and everything you need is there.
Breakfast was extensive, with croissants, cornflakes, bread, eggs, cheese, meat, fruit, ...
Diner is delicious.
We made a trip to Kruger with a ranger and we get a breakfast and lunch in the park and even that was very extensive. We couldn't even taste of everything, it was that much.
We are so happy to have been at Kubu Safari Lodge. It will always stays in our memory

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our stay here was a mix of what you find on this site. But you have to make a distinction between service and product. If you just want the summery here it is: It is not a 4 star hotel, maybe an average 3 star or a good 2 star hotel not because of the service which is oke (not unusually super) but because of the product. If you want to know why I say this just read the rest:-)

Service:

Because it isn't to big the owners are able to provide personal service which is great but not unusual for a place of this size. Personal attention from well informed employees made us feel very welcome. Up to here we agree with the other comments on this site. But on the other we had this experience in all 7 hotels where we stayed on our trip so maybe the people of South Africa are just friendly (or hoping for tip). Either way Kubu really delivers 4 star service just as you would expect from a 4 star hotel and 4 star price tag (they charge you a 10% service fee over your drinking bill and because it is remote the prices are high allready). To complete the service section, not a whole lot of choice at dinner (buffet)

Product:

On the other hand we have the product which is providing a comfortable (4 star), clean, safe place to stay. This is where Kubu Safari Lodge is crap. We immediately admit being spoiled but you are looking at a 4 star accommodation so this is the standard used for the judgement of the product. It starts at the very beginning where a sloppy closed gate (well fence really) with just a small sign saying the lodge must be near somewhere. It was so bad, we could not belive that was still used as an entrance so we drove by!!

Behind the fence/gate was a road so terrible I want to appologise to all roads in the world for calling it a road. Full of wholes and rocks. We could hardly drive on it without a 4 wheel drive (wholes where to steep, it scratched the bottom of the car a couple of times). We drove 3000 KM through South Africa so seen our share of bad roads but this beats them all!

Once we reached the lodge there was nobody behind the reception. We had to wait for about 10 minutes because they where all out giving there perfect service somewhere else. The rest of the public area is fine with a swiming pool/bar and everything.

Now the rooms... We could wright a book on the rooms but the main thing is it's not 4 stars. No TV (which you wont miss because you are out all day and will sleep early), No phone, No fridge, No bathtub, No internet, No musquito repelent plug (just something to use outside), No airconditioning and No decent musquito net in front of the windows. But mind you this is in a Malaria area!!

What you do get are rats in the roof (that's not uncommon in africastyled huts), insects of all shapes and sizes, pretty spacious room (not big but not small either) which a fan alone can not cool at all, two separate beds, a musquito net around the bed area (with wholes in it...) and a cleaning lady that doesn't clean up the dead bugs.

They do not change glasses, bed sheets and towles every day or every other day in there effort to be environmental friendly which we think is a good thing but is good to know if you are very keen on hygiene.

So in the end this place just doesn't deliver the quality you would expect from a 4 star hotel. So don't get your expectation and hopes up then you will be fine. If you don't expect anything not getting anything doesn't feel to bad. But having said that you are paying for it so look for better options!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zaander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Unfortunately the lodge is not worth its high fees, and the website photos are very deceiving, and that is upsetting.
If you are hoping to get the mountains scenic view that you find on the website photos, forget it! Those beautiful hills on the website cannot be seen from the lodge, in fact they are far away from Kubu Lodge, and so there is no scenic view like on the website. In fact the whole lodge looks so glamorous on the website, but the accommodation is extremely basic.
I read other reviews and I can understand that maybe other foreigners might enjoy their stay at the lodge, if it’s the first time they visit South Africa and they are not used to our high standards of the South African hospitality industry, but if they know better and can do comparisons, they will see that the lodge is not worth the prices that the owners charge.
Be prepare for no air-conditioning, in the mid of soaring African temperatures, at night one bakes in the room, no fresh air, no breeze. The lodge is surrounded by thick bush so it is suffocating.
I can understand to some extend that there is not TV or Internet facilities but the lodge does not have credit card facilities either, so payments are in cash. And believe me you will need extra cash as guests have to pay for everything, unlike other lodges that offer as part of their price other incentives, or extras, but not at this lodge. I must ad that breakfast is inclusive on the price (the only thing) but extremely basic, and poor.
Well never again will stay at Kubu Lodge or recommend the lodge, it is rip off! We do feel cheated.

Room Tip: No aircom!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Staying at Kubu Lodge we experienced nothing but good will and hospitality from the owners. The lodge has a great location, comfortable and cosy rooms of a good size and tasty food. What else does one need for a lovely holiday? We can only recommend it!
All the best to Nicole and Manfred from Aneta and Dirk (Berlin)

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank atinkasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Beautifull environment near Kruger Park, very comfortable accomodation with good service by friendly and hospitable people. Even with a few guests, breakfast and dinner are well provided for. The owners are very pleasant people, willing to take time and share their knowledge and experiences. The staff is charming and cheerful. They make you want to stay a lot longer....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonder6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews