We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place but not run to its full potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Very nice place but not run to its full potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for our 1st anniversary. The house itself is very nice, modern and really gives you the feeling of a bush lodge. The management goes out of their way to help with anything and everything. But the food was an disgrace. the first night they set up a very nice romantic table for us on the deck as we were the only people eating at the lodge. We had a VERY nice soup for the first course but from there on it just went down hill. They waiter stood behind us till we finished, took the plates and brings the next course, no waiting time in between we ate a 4 course meal in 45min after we asked to be given some time in between. we did not get a choice of what to order we got a very over cooked dry salmon. the next morning at breakfast the sane thing, it looks like the chef has not clue at what she's doing. I ordered Egg Benedict, I got 2 poached eggs with pieces of ham on the side and a very thin creamy sauce nothing like a hollandaise. The last dinner we said they should give us at least 10min in between the courses. I think we just had the idea that it was a game lodge and it's not. We had to ask 3 people about the game drive that was included in our package. The game ranger (chef) arrived 30min late because the ranger apparently did not show for work that morning. Overall I would go back again but on a self catering basis.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Gerhard,

Thank you so much for your candid response. It is these honest reviews that enable us to pick up issues and have them dealt with firmly and ensure they never happen again. From the team at Khaya please accept our humblest apologies for your bad culinary experience. Please afford us an opportunity in the future to rectify this with you. Please contact the writer to arrange.

Thank you and our very best regards

The team at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    35
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
136
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

One of the best places to visit. Wonderful staff- we got new friends- wonderful area and a lot of animals to see.

It feels like visiting friends. The food was excellent and we could make suggestions and the chef did it

we ´will return

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at Khaya Ndlovu for 3 days (actually we only planned 2 nights and even took into account to lose one night that we could not cancel anymore inside Kruger, which was def. worth it) and it was the best hotel and service on our entire South Africa trip (and we slept at many great places). From the day of arrival until our departure we were more treated as friends than as guests. The entire crew is so nice and welcoming and try to fulfil every wish one might have. We were very lucky and also had the chance to meet the Trevor, the owner of the Lodge who took us on a Rhino capture (as some Rhino’s had to be moved to another area) – an experience of a lifetime, although the “normal” game drives were also very nice and all guides did a great job and have amazing knowledge on the bush & it’s animals and plants. The place itself is fantastic: Every little detail in and around the house and the guest rooms is taken care of and although quiet luxurious, it is still a very relaxed atmosphere. Lying at the pool, overlooking the bush, and watching the animals coming to drink is truly magnificent. Nkosi as well as the rest of the crew took very well care of us and the girls from the housekeeping even sung & danced us good-bye. We really felt like leaving a family behind and hope to come back one day. Thanks again to the whole team, you made our trip perfect – if SA would’t be so far away from the Netherlands we would definitely consider to celebrate our wedding at Khaya Ndlovu 

Room Tip: all rooms are nice and overlooking the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alician_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I came to Khaya Ndlovu Manor House from a more rustic experience at a lodge in Timbavati Game Reserve with outdoor showers and a lot more one on one contact with nature. The contrast was awesome and very welcome, because ultimately, as much fun as the bush camp was, I have now thoroughly confirmed I'm the sort of gal who'll always prefer indoor showers, plush bathrobes, and a thick pane of glass between myself and nature, esp. at night.

I felt welcome at every turn, from the manager to Jezebel the domestic longhair kitty and Jordy the bushbuck who snacks on roses and chocolates and routinely naps on the the Persian carpets in the library. I'd had a chance to go on awesome game drives at Timbavati, and when I came to Khaya Ndlovu I thought I'd just go on more game drives, but I was quickly given the option of swapping some of the pre-purchased game drives for trips to Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre and a visit to Jessica the Hippo whom you can feed and kiss although I did forego the kissing as I try not to kiss anything with a mouth larger than my head.

The guide on game drives was a wonderful storyteller and a walking encyclopedia of animal and plant facts which I have now transferred in the repository of trivia that is my brain for reference at the next trivia night.

The food was delicious and left me wishing Princess—Khaya Ndlovu's chef—had a cookbook for sale and also that I didn't possess within me a God-given talent for burning water because there's only so far a cookbook can take you.

And special thanks are due to Nkosi for mastering the art of making my favorite breakfast drink of chilled coffee-flavored milk.

The view. That view. I miss you view. And for the love of everything holy, don't forget to look up at night. The stars will awe you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MolotovMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our family of two adults and three children had a wonderful time at Khaya Ndlovu over the Christmas season. The friendly management and staff of the resort tried their best to accomodate our requests, be it about food, tours to the Blyde River Canyon or a late afternoon trip to Thornybush Private Reserve. Special thanks to Ronel, Mike, Cindy and Nkosi.

The mood at the resort was relaxing. Arrangements were promptly made by the staff such that we only need to decide on the day before or even on the same morning of what we plan to do. No problems in taking things easy, sleeping in a little longer and then decide to go on a trip later in the day.

The layout at the resort also provided options for us when we want some privacy or when we would like to meet others at the resort during meals. Sometimes, we feel like we have the whole place to ourselves and there are enough spaces for our kids to have a good time.

In short, a great place to be and one of the few places where both families or couples will be able to enjoy themselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

My son and I had an exhilirating and enjoyable 4 days at this outstanding place in the bush. Everything from the friendliness of all the staff to the quality of the food and accommodation was excellent.
Our bush walk which entailed an encounter with a lion was just awesome!
Will certainly be making plans to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TribalBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
styrx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed for one night prior to our flight to cape town, the lodge looks exactly as it is in the website. The flat was a short walk away from the main building but offers great value. It even comes with a kitchen and you can cook if you want to. The settings were luxurious especially for the main house if you are staying there. We opted for the 4 course dinner menu for R350 each, and to be frank we were a bit disappointed with the food. The soup arrived warm and the lamb chop was too fatty. We could have driven to the town instead and save some money.

We didn't do the game drive as we had just stayed 2 nights in gomo gomo. It was purely rest and relax at the pool, overlooking the water holes and waiting for the animal to drink.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
5.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
14.0 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#14 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
12.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#9 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Ndlovu Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Ndlovu Manor House

Property: Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Address: R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaya Ndlovu Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scanning the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range, the Khaya Ndlovu Manor House wooden decked terrace offers a sweeping panoramic view, which will leave you breathless! Khaya Ndlovu is situated in the northern corner of the big game Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park. Khaya Ndlovu Manor House - more than just a "game lodge experience". Luxury is elegantly under stated offering an external and a stylish internal dining area, two lounges with DSTV. Free uncapped Wi-Fi is also available. Five comfortable colonial style bedrooms offer a choice of single or king size beds, all elegantly draped with spacious mosquito nets. Each room overlooks the landscaped garden, which provides a playground for the resident monkeys, abundant squirrels, tortoises and a host of chattering bird species. Whilst the sun sets on a dreamy day, sip on a sundowner chosen from our well stocked bar, before enjoying the four course dinner offered every night. As South Africa is home to a host of different cultures, our trained chefs provide a tempting sampler of the rich assortment of culinary traditions. Special requirements are catered for. Retreat to an intimate haven of relaxation and indulge in one of the many treatments offered by our mini spa. Listen to the sounds of the African bush whilst our trained therapist spoils you rotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Khaya Ndlovu Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing