We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Khaya!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Khaya!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Khaya Ndlovu Lodge a fortnight ago, for one night. We are keen cyclists, so we arrived towards the late afternoon at the main gate. In fact my husband got a front tyre puncture about half a mile away from the gate so we called the lodge and within a few minutes the lodge manager (Mike Lawrie) picked us up personally with one of their game drivers. Excellent service! We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites, and what a delight! Grand and tastefully decorated, spanking clean, with a huge and comfortable bed. Just perfect. We were very hungry as a result of our paddling, so we were looking forward to dinner. We were not disappointed: 4-course dinner! Especially the main course (kingklip fish!!) blew us away. They even had my husband's favourite drink (Cinzano), ok, not the bianco version but the extra dry one, but still, that is VERY impressive!! A rare drink for people in the know. We then hung out in the lounge area, view onto the Drakensberg: Wow!! What an unforgettable setting. We had a chat with Mike who is the kindest man we met on our cycling trip. This place oozes care and love, and its many personal touches make all the difference.

After a good night's sleep we had a fantastic breakfast before setting off on a new cycling day, but not before visiting Khaya's horse stables that boast some stunning breeds. Very nice indeed.

If you are looking for a lodge that is both high-end and yet relaxed and very personal, then this is for you! The value for money at this place is also very compelling. They also offer safaris, as well as lots of activities and trips in the local area, so they offer the perfect combination. We will come back, and stay longer next time! :-)

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Beatrice295424

Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. It is always such a privilege to be able to hear such positive feedback. Cinzano Bianco has been ordered and will be proudly displayed for your next visit. Our chef will be most encouraged that you enjoyed his favorite fish so much.

We look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards

The Team at Khaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    36
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
142
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The thing that struck me first about the Khaya Ndlovo Manor House was the beautiful grounds but a greater treat awaited. It was the view from the pool deck which looks across the Lowveld to the Drakensberg Mountains. Close to the manor house there is a waterhole where various animals; warthogs, giraffes and guinea fowl come to drink. The view is incomparable and cannot be mentioned too often. Besides sitting and relaxing by the pool you can enjoy this view under a different light for breakfast and dinner since the large common dining table gives you the same view minus the water hole. There is a good chance that you will meet friendly and interesting people at the dining table if you are a little outgoing. The food is good and plentiful and the staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in the manor house and our room was comfortable. There are many activities available at Khaya Ndlovo. We chose to do the Panorama Tour and at the last minute Cindy, the Administrative Assistant, arranged for us to visit Jessica, the hippo. Both of these were good choices. Many thanks to Mike, Ronelle, Cindy, Princess and the many other staff that helped make our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martomsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Martomsak,

It is so special to be able to share this fantastic place with such nice people, and so good when it so appreciated. We must have one of the most spectacular views. We are also really happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again

Our Very Best Regards

The Team at Khaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Me and my partner visited in June for 3 days and had such a fantastic time. All of the staff were so friendly and provided brilliant service. Nothing was better than relaxing on the deck, next to the pool, over looking the watering hole and enjoying a cocktail.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The whole Manor felt very safe and we have no qualms leaving things in our room whilst away.
Both the evening four course dinners and breakfast were very well cooked and were delicious and homely.

We opted to go on a private night game drive. The driver was very knowledgeable, telling us things we would not have known just going on a drive by ourselves.

Overall the experience was unbelievable and we can not wait to come back and will definitely be recommending a stay to anyone that asks!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achurchward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Achurchward1

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were referred to us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Our Very Best Regards

The Team at Khaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My first visit was in Dec 2011 with my boyfriend and we loved it so much that we came back the following year! Both times we spent roughly 10 days and were sad when it came time to leave. From the moment you arrive till you leave the staff and Managers make sure that you have the best experience and I particularly love that the overall feeling is not overly formal - I felt at ease and relaxed all the time.
You have a view of the water hole from the dining room/outside deck/pool, which means you can watch the animals while you eat! And just beyond the waterhole on the horizon is a stunning view of the Drakensberg mountains in the background!
I also loved that we could choose to either eat by ourselves or with the rest of the guests; the food was delicious and portions just right.
The game viewing on the reserve was a great experience and even had a pack of wild dog going past the lodge which we were able to view from the deck! We also took the opportunity to go on a Thorny Bush game drive, since they also have a lodge there, and had some amazing close views of the animals that I have never had before.
Great location for various activities in the area and with the help of the well informed staff we had a good selection of things to do. But the lodge is so amazing that some days you just want to spend the day in the pool and not go anywhere

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Marilise,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The management and staff of Khaya Ndlovu Manor House are so encouraged when guests appreciate our service and this drives us on to continually improve. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to meeting up with you again.

Our Very Best Regards

The Team at Khaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The location of the guest house is out of this world - You can hardly believe your in the bush. Breakfast is a must and so are the cappuccino. Staff go out of their way to please. We have lovely memories of our night's stay. Only recommendation - Family units need an electrician.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ida-louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Ida-louise

Thank you for your wonderful review it is highly appreciated, and yes the family unit electrics are being repaired right now.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Best Regards

The Team at Khaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed just over a week and had an awesome experience, the Staff manager and the staff go out of there way to ensure you feel welcome and at home. Rooms were clean and bedding was extremely comfortable(big plus for me). Food was superb, simple, fresh and full of flavor, exactly what I like. Thanks to the staff for arranging activities, our days were filled with activities and game drives. I am already missing "Jordan" the Bush buck, will have to make another trip soon. Khaya Ndlovu is an excellent beacon for resting in the heart of the bush.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradfordinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_KNMH123, Front Office Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hi Brad,

It was great to have you here!! Hope to see you 2 soon

Kind regards
Khaya Ndlovu team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

All 6 of us were very impressed with the lodge and everyone we met. The entire staff made us feel very welcomed. They went "above and beyond," and it did not go unnoticed. The lodge was beautiful, the food was yummy, and the animal watering hole is a big plus. Mike and Ronel are marvelous hosts, and Cindy brings it all together. Our compliments to Hannes, the chef, as we even enjoyed an African BBQ on our last night. This is a wonderful place that is convienent to Kruger, walking with a cheetah, the Panorama route, and other exciting activities.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Donna

Thank you for your wonderful review. Wow what fond memories we have of you guys, it was great fun. We really look forward to meeting you all again soon...

Our Very Best Regards

The Team at Khaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
5.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 103 in Hoedspruit
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
183 reviews
9.1 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 103 in Hoedspruit
264 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Ndlovu Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Ndlovu Manor House

Property: Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Address: R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaya Ndlovu Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scanning the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range, the Khaya Ndlovu Manor House wooden decked terrace offers a sweeping panoramic view, which will leave you breathless! Khaya Ndlovu is situated in the northern corner of the big game Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park. Khaya Ndlovu Manor House - more than just a "game lodge experience". Luxury is elegantly under stated offering an external and a stylish internal dining area, two lounges with DSTV. Free uncapped Wi-Fi is also available. Five comfortable colonial style bedrooms offer a choice of single or king size beds, all elegantly draped with spacious mosquito nets. Each room overlooks the landscaped garden, which provides a playground for the resident monkeys, abundant squirrels, tortoises and a host of chattering bird species. Whilst the sun sets on a dreamy day, sip on a sundowner chosen from our well stocked bar, before enjoying the four course dinner offered every night. As South Africa is home to a host of different cultures, our trained chefs provide a tempting sampler of the rich assortment of culinary traditions. Special requirements are catered for. Retreat to an intimate haven of relaxation and indulge in one of the many treatments offered by our mini spa. Listen to the sounds of the African bush whilst our trained therapist spoils you rotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Khaya Ndlovu Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing