We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hospitality and a la carte food in a spetecular scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We intially only booked one night a the Khaya Ndlovu Manor House but were so positively suprised that we immediatelly extended another night.

The Manor House itself has quite luxurious rooms and make yourself feel being a house member of colonial style villa with very stylish rooms and superb service. The terrace and open-area is overwhelming with the view into the game-reserve, animals stopping at a near-by water hole and the Drakensberg scenery in the back. Next to the house the owner (Trevor Jordan) gives you the opportunity to see some of his (retired) race horses and currrently he hosts also two black rhinos (you can also learn more about his project Rhino Revolution against Rhino poaching).

Breakfast and dinners are usally served in a very stylish-dinning room on a large table. We completely enjoyed the family-like atmosphere with other guests. The service (we loved George) as well the food was outstanding and can definitely compete with an award-winning restaurant. On the second day the team prepared a barbecue outside which was also perfect.

The game drives offered are nice. We saw Giraffes, Hippos, Zebras and antilopes.
However, if you are looking for the Big 5 the Blue Canyon Conservancy reserve is not the best place. But the Manor House team offers to arrange Game Drives in the nearby Thornybush Nature Reserve. We didn't do this as we visited another lodge in Sabi Sand before. Other guests who went to the game drive in Thornybush were very pleased and saw all Big 5 in just one game drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Daniel_73_12

Thank you for your kind review, this always inspires the team to reach for greater heights of customer service excellence. Thank you for so eloquently describing the experience at Khaya, it is always such a difficult thing to portray in words and you have it just right.

On the Big 5 note we are pleased to announce that we have now gps collared a Lion, Elephant, Leopard and Cheetah for research purposes, which will also assist us in locating them more frequently, so we believe the sightings will only get better and better, as we are already experiencing.

We look forward to seeing you again

Our Very best Regards

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I are passionate about wild-life, the bush and conservation. What drawn me to Khaya Ndlovu, apart from the stunning web-site, which is a true reflection of what you can expect of the offering, was the conservancy and the activities it is involved in. For our family - living in Gauteng, truly a life-changing experience! We stayed in the Manor House, what an unbelievable upgrade in life! Spoiled rotten, being served like Royalty, we were introduced by the lodge manager, Mike Lawrie, and the owner, Mr Trevor Jordan, to Khaya Ndlovu, Blue Canyon Conservancy and in the end also Leadwood Wildlife Estate in Hoedspruit in a very compassionate and also professional manner. I can write an endless review about the stunning Honeymoon suite, the hospitality towards our 2 girls, the stunning interior, the food, the friendly and very competent staff - that has been recorded, I see to extend on Tripadvisor - which we can ditto all, but the "Rhino Revolution" campaign that were initiated and are driven by the people of Khaya Ndlovu are incomparable to what we've seen done in the industry to try and save the Rhinos. Rhino Revolution's model is exceptional in their approach and vision in combating Rhino poaching on the ground, while politics are trying to sort out their stand on the matter. Coming back to Khaya Ndlovu and its staff - we are over the moon about our experience and can recommend it highly to people looking for an "more than bargained for" experience in the Big 5 Country!

Room Tip: Lovely Self Catering Units. Honeymoon Suite ticks all the boxes.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanjaLou415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear TanjaLou415

Thank you for visiting us, sometimes really special people cross our paths your family is one of those. You all added so much to our lives and we know it is the start of something special. Thank you for getting involved and assisting us with the plight of the Rhino, without people who are passionate and involved they dont stand a chance. I noticed that you have already booked twice more soon and cannot wait to welcome you back.

Our Very Best

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We spent one night at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House before leaving the Hoedspruit area. We were given the honeymoon suite which we both found excellent in terms of space, decoration and a wonderful view over the garden! We had a very good three course meal, good taste but slightly small portions. The stuff were all friendly and we also liked the fact that all the guests had dinner together with the owner joinning us. One thing that let us down was the lack of hot water and not being given a detailed invoice so to know where we had spent what. Not very happy with the fact that we had to pay the whole three hour safari even if we only did a shorter one and were told that they would modify the price for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Chris s

Thank you for your wonderful review, however we are so sorry about the hot water issue, this has since been attended to. I have inquired into the issue with your invoice and will respond directly to you via email. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention as it makes sure we keep working on providing the best possible experience for our amazing guests.

We look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Khaya Ndlovu Lodge a fortnight ago, for one night. We are keen cyclists, so we arrived towards the late afternoon at the main gate. In fact my husband got a front tyre puncture about half a mile away from the gate so we called the lodge and within a few minutes the lodge manager (Mike Lawrie) picked us up personally with one of their game drivers. Excellent service! We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites, and what a delight! Grand and tastefully decorated, spanking clean, with a huge and comfortable bed. Just perfect. We were very hungry as a result of our paddling, so we were looking forward to dinner. We were not disappointed: 4-course dinner! Especially the main course (kingklip fish!!) blew us away. They even had my husband's favourite drink (Cinzano), ok, not the bianco version but the extra dry one, but still, that is VERY impressive!! A rare drink for people in the know. We then hung out in the lounge area, view onto the Drakensberg: Wow!! What an unforgettable setting. We had a chat with Mike who is the kindest man we met on our cycling trip. This place oozes care and love, and its many personal touches make all the difference.

After a good night's sleep we had a fantastic breakfast before setting off on a new cycling day, but not before visiting Khaya's horse stables that boast some stunning breeds. Very nice indeed.

If you are looking for a lodge that is both high-end and yet relaxed and very personal, then this is for you! The value for money at this place is also very compelling. They also offer safaris, as well as lots of activities and trips in the local area, so they offer the perfect combination. We will come back, and stay longer next time! :-)

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beatrice295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Beatrice295424

Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. It is always such a privilege to be able to hear such positive feedback. Cinzano Bianco has been ordered and will be proudly displayed for your next visit. Our chef will be most encouraged that you enjoyed his favorite fish so much.

We look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The thing that struck me first about the Khaya Ndlovo Manor House was the beautiful grounds but a greater treat awaited. It was the view from the pool deck which looks across the Lowveld to the Drakensberg Mountains. Close to the manor house there is a waterhole where various animals; warthogs, giraffes and guinea fowl come to drink. The view is incomparable and cannot be mentioned too often. Besides sitting and relaxing by the pool you can enjoy this view under a different light for breakfast and dinner since the large common dining table gives you the same view minus the water hole. There is a good chance that you will meet friendly and interesting people at the dining table if you are a little outgoing. The food is good and plentiful and the staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in the manor house and our room was comfortable. There are many activities available at Khaya Ndlovo. We chose to do the Panorama Tour and at the last minute Cindy, the Administrative Assistant, arranged for us to visit Jessica, the hippo. Both of these were good choices. Many thanks to Mike, Ronelle, Cindy, Princess and the many other staff that helped make our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martomsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Martomsak,

It is so special to be able to share this fantastic place with such nice people, and so good when it so appreciated. We must have one of the most spectacular views. We are also really happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again

Our Very Best Regards

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Me and my partner visited in June for 3 days and had such a fantastic time. All of the staff were so friendly and provided brilliant service. Nothing was better than relaxing on the deck, next to the pool, over looking the watering hole and enjoying a cocktail.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The whole Manor felt very safe and we have no qualms leaving things in our room whilst away.
Both the evening four course dinners and breakfast were very well cooked and were delicious and homely.

We opted to go on a private night game drive. The driver was very knowledgeable, telling us things we would not have known just going on a drive by ourselves.

Overall the experience was unbelievable and we can not wait to come back and will definitely be recommending a stay to anyone that asks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achurchward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Achurchward1

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were referred to us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Our Very Best Regards

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My first visit was in Dec 2011 with my boyfriend and we loved it so much that we came back the following year! Both times we spent roughly 10 days and were sad when it came time to leave. From the moment you arrive till you leave the staff and Managers make sure that you have the best experience and I particularly love that the overall feeling is not overly formal - I felt at ease and relaxed all the time.
You have a view of the water hole from the dining room/outside deck/pool, which means you can watch the animals while you eat! And just beyond the waterhole on the horizon is a stunning view of the Drakensberg mountains in the background!
I also loved that we could choose to either eat by ourselves or with the rest of the guests; the food was delicious and portions just right.
The game viewing on the reserve was a great experience and even had a pack of wild dog going past the lodge which we were able to view from the deck! We also took the opportunity to go on a Thorny Bush game drive, since they also have a lodge there, and had some amazing close views of the animals that I have never had before.
Great location for various activities in the area and with the help of the well informed staff we had a good selection of things to do. But the lodge is so amazing that some days you just want to spend the day in the pool and not go anywhere

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Marilise,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The management and staff of Khaya Ndlovu Manor House are so encouraged when guests appreciate our service and this drives us on to continually improve. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to meeting up with you again.

Our Very Best Regards

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
5.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
12.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 21 in Hoedspruit
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 104 in Hoedspruit
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
316 reviews
14.0 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 104 in Hoedspruit
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Ndlovu Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Ndlovu Manor House

Address: R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £174 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaya Ndlovu Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scanning the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range, the Khaya Ndlovu Manor House wooden decked terrace offers a sweeping panoramic view, which will leave you breathless! Khaya Ndlovu is situated in the northern corner of the big game Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park. Khaya Ndlovu Manor House - more than just a "game lodge experience". Luxury is elegantly under stated offering an external and a stylish internal dining area, two lounges with DSTV. Free uncapped Wi-Fi is also available. Five comfortable colonial style bedrooms offer a choice of single or king size beds, all elegantly draped with spacious mosquito nets. Each room overlooks the landscaped garden, which provides a playground for the resident monkeys, abundant squirrels, tortoises and a host of chattering bird species. Whilst the sun sets on a dreamy day, sip on a sundowner chosen from our well stocked bar, before enjoying the four course dinner offered every night. As South Africa is home to a host of different cultures, our trained chefs provide a tempting sampler of the rich assortment of culinary traditions. Special requirements are catered for. Retreat to an intimate haven of relaxation and indulge in one of the many treatments offered by our mini spa. Listen to the sounds of the African bush whilst our trained therapist spoils you rotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khaya Ndlovu Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing