We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing experience and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great place, love the dining arrangement. It allows you to meet people. The house, the gardens and the views are amazing. Khaya Ndlovu allows you to chill if you need some rest or to catch up with books.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Funani2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronel100, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Funani,

We are so glad you came to rest and left rested. Our greatest reward is to know our guests left happy, well fed and refreshed.

We hoe to see you again in the very near future.

Regards
Ronel & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    35
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
136
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Where to begin? First of all, at the airport, we met Chris Martin who would become our guide for the rest of our stay. Being a Professional Wildlife Photographer he is one of the best guides we've ever met. He knew everything from South African Politics to information about the smallest of the animals. He is very dedicated into making your stay something to remember forever. He even went out of his way in order for us to get one more day of wildlife experiences. He is one of the main reasons why we will definitely be going back next year.
Then we met George. George is the most welcoming, funny and if you meet him you'll never forget his laugh. He made sure our stay at the hotel was the best and was always around to help with anything. He is a big part of the personalization that we liked so much about Khaya Nlovu.
We also have to mention CIndy. We exchanged various e-mails about activities and transfers, etc. and she made sure to take note about everything and made our stay the best.
At the beginning of every meal the chef would come out and explain every course which were all delicious. I love lamb chops and every opportunity I get I order them, here I had one of the best ever.
The manor is amazing. Like Chris explained to us going from the airport to the lodge it's like staying in someone's house as a guest. Everyone always has the biggest smile on their face and is always trying to make your stay the best. There really are no words to describe it, all I can say is everyone and everything about Khaya Ndlovu made our honeymoon the best.
We will be forever grateful with everyone, hopefully we will meet again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONEL_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Francisco,

Thank you for letting us know how you experienced Khaya Ndlovu, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am truly sorry that I did not have the opportunity to meet the two of you, I was in Cape Town for a couple of days but it makes me proud to know that the team at Khaya Ndlovu took great care of you. Chris is by far one of the most talented guides we have ever met. His knowledge is astounding. George is a true Butler in every sense of the word and Cindy is so efficient.

The team would love to see you again and I hope I will get the chance to meet the two of you in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Ronel and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 5 wonderful days at Khaya Ndlovu. The lodge really felt like a home away from home!!! We stayed in one of the garden suites because they were the only rooms left available when we booked. The rooms are very spacious with a full kitchen and lounge area. The staff is what make this hotel special. They were absolutely wonderful. Especially George who always seemed to be around for a wake up call or to ask you how your game drive was. Always with a smile and a laugh. We will miss the South African Hospitality that we experienced the entire time we were there. I would totally recommend this place to family and friends. Let me tell you that the pictures don't do this place justice!!! The food was delicious too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahBurlington_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sarah,

We cannot agree with you more, our view is magnificent and you cannot find better then that. we so enjoyed getting to know you guys and hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This guest house with the wonderful garden, trees, views,and staff, is well worth a visit when going to the South African Bushveld.Revel in the African sunset from the deck looking over the waterhole, bushveld and distant hazy blue mountains.Lovely soft beds...just go and enjoy it all.....
Lilli (Western Cape)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillianvonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Lillian,

it was so lovely meeting you and hope to see you soon, our soft beds, great view and staff are waiting your return,

Kind Regards

Ronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are looking for luxury and refinement, yet wanting a safari ... look no further.

Don't be in a rush, enjoy life and soak in the pampering that you will receive at Khaya Ndlovu. Spend at least five days here, as you will want to take you time and not hurry through the experience.

Bring good books to read after a lovely breakfast, and then again while drinking poolside with snacks. They are constantly surprising you with snacks and drinks between meals. Get a massage, go on an afternoon safari and come back to a meal that is fantasic. End the night by the fireplace meeting a select few global travelers that you will end your stay grateful to have met, since only great people would choose an elegant manor home to enjoy their safari experience.

Going on a safari must be more than a truck ride to see animals, and certainly better than a hotel with 100 other guests. We are planning our next visit with friends, and other with family in 3 years.

Our three kids loved it totally, and it changed their perspectives, refined their tasted and... they were treated so very kindly by the staff constantly.

Thank you to all at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House for this phenomenal experience!

Room Tip: If a family of five, they have Garden Suites (in the garden area) with a room with 3 twin beds, one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InternationalCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Friends,

We so loved getting to know your family during your 5 day stay. Your kids were so friendly and polite. You arrived as guests but left as friends that we wont easily forget. We cannot wait to welcome you back to the Manor House.

Kind Regards
Ronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I were treated so incredibly well while we stayed at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House. We spent most of our days going on game drives and our evenings being lavished with great service and food. The time we spent with our field guide on game drives was the best we could have had, getting personal attention and learning so much about South Africa. The animal viewing was not always the best as far as the "Big 5", but what we learned and did get to see was awesome. If you get a chance, you must ask for Chris Martin to do your drives. The only issue we had was not having a set itinerary. We were a bit confused a couple of days as to what we were actually going to do, but it all worked out. Make sure that you take the initiative to sit down and get everything set on your first day so that you don't have any questions the rest of your stay. We had an amazing time and really connected with the staff and the other guests. Dinner was family style with the other guests which gave us the opportunity to meet others, hear about their experiences, and ultimately add a new level to our stay. And the food could not have been better. Overall, our stay was great and if and when we get the chance to head back to South Africa, we will certainly call Khaya Ndlovu Manor House our home again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hillary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Hillary,

thank you for your great review. Chris is by far one of the best guides in the industry and he so enjoyed taking you on drives. It was such a pleasure to host you in our home, we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Ronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Warm and friendly service, great views, animal lovers paradise, wild animal viewing from the pool, homely, lovely garden, George is a star. We can highly recommend staying here, sorry that we only spent one night there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ellie,

We fully agree one nigh is simply not enough time at Khaya Ndlovu. We hope to see you longer for your next visit.

Ronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
5.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
14.0 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#14 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
12.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#9 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
13.4 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Ndlovu Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Ndlovu Manor House

Property: Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Address: R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaya Ndlovu Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scanning the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range, the Khaya Ndlovu Manor House wooden decked terrace offers a sweeping panoramic view, which will leave you breathless! Khaya Ndlovu is situated in the northern corner of the big game Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park. Khaya Ndlovu Manor House - more than just a "game lodge experience". Luxury is elegantly under stated offering an external and a stylish internal dining area, two lounges with DSTV. Free uncapped Wi-Fi is also available. Five comfortable colonial style bedrooms offer a choice of single or king size beds, all elegantly draped with spacious mosquito nets. Each room overlooks the landscaped garden, which provides a playground for the resident monkeys, abundant squirrels, tortoises and a host of chattering bird species. Whilst the sun sets on a dreamy day, sip on a sundowner chosen from our well stocked bar, before enjoying the four course dinner offered every night. As South Africa is home to a host of different cultures, our trained chefs provide a tempting sampler of the rich assortment of culinary traditions. Special requirements are catered for. Retreat to an intimate haven of relaxation and indulge in one of the many treatments offered by our mini spa. Listen to the sounds of the African bush whilst our trained therapist spoils you rotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Khaya Ndlovu Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing