We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for a unique experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Bona Ntaba Offered a unique experience in accommodation,the tree house is something I will never forget, the sunsets from the verandah were hypnotic as the sun sank behind the mountain range and nothing compares with showering in the outdoor shower in the African sunshine. The facilities were everything that you could possibly need while experiencing South Africa.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the treehouse for 2x nights in October and unfortunately the weather was awful while we were there. This wouldn't have been such an issue but the treehouse wasn't weather-tight and the rain poured under the door, the canvas curtains let in the wind and it was freezing with a few bugs that were trying to escape the weather! Would have been great if dry weather as the park looked nice and the lodge was comfortable. Lots to do in the area otherwise and also good to relax but we also couldn't use the pool due to the cold temperatures. It was very similar to camping so be prepared for a little bit of the outdoors coming inside!

The views were great from the treehouse and we saw a few animals from our deck :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonaNtaba, General Manager at Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Bona Ntaba. It was a pleasure to meet both of you. Unfortunately, as said, the weather was awful during your stay: it was the first big rain of the season and a very heavy one that lasted a long time where usually this month would have been warm and dry with a rare short rain. In normal weather, the tree houses hold in the daytime heat and offer the option for a nice breeze through the bug screen windows on warm nights.

We are happy that you were still able to appreciate the view from the tree house and saw some of our wildlife as these are reason most guests visit our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Bona Ntaba Lodge - and absolutely loved the tree house experience. These quaint dwellings made the perfect "home base" for our African adventure - and we had a wonderful adventure! Gregory and Karen went out of their way to make sure that we were always having a great time and they treated us more like friends that were visiting than strangers. The staff there was so friendly and they did such a great job making us feel right at home. The meals were such fun, and we loved eating under the stars at night.....beautiful! We will cherish our experience there .....and we all left with some truly great memories.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie777233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Greg and Karen made us feel right at home. It was like being invited into someone's home. You never felt like you were staying at a lodge. A very relaxed atmosphere. It's a great setting to see Africa. The food was excellent. Greg was a great guide on the excursions. Even when it rained the one day Greg still found something for us to do like visting Jessica the hippo for an up close and personal experience. Our bush walk with a cheetah turned out to be the highlight of our trip. The tree houses were wonderful and unique. At night you could hear animals roaming around outside. Loved the outdoor shower. The sounds at night of the animals were amazing. I wish we could have stayed longer. We never had to travel very far for our game viewing so no lost time traveling great distances. Greg and Karen made arrangements for a great outdoor show one night that was total surprise to us all and it just made the experience that much better. They scheduled one down day where you could just sleep in and relax for the day and work on your photographs or just lounge around your tree house for the day.

Room Tip: The tree houses were wonderful and unique. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimpool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spent an amazing week in South Africa at Karen and Gregory Sweeney’s beautiful Bona Ntaba Tree Lodge, where each day you awake to a beautiful landscape and each night you fall asleep to the sounds of wildlife. The tree house was beautifully constructed and decorated. The ramp up to the front door is lined with lights, all the way to a patio deck with a sitting area for you to watch the beautiful sunrises and sunsets behind the mountain landscape. The beds were comfortable and come equipped with nets. A fan is nicely given for the warm days/nights. The bathroom is quaint and rustic with a bath next to a window on looking the landscape, but the real experience was the shower. The showers are located outside with the most beautiful views of the landscape and night sky. The pool is set just outside of the main lodge with a view of the watering hole, where you can see wildlife up-close and personal. The main lodge is clean with nice relaxing couches, a fridge to put your personal drinks or food in. There is even an archery range for a fun relaxing activity. The staff was more than accommodating and friendly. The meals the staff made were excellent and filling; breakfast was served each morning either on the game drive or on the patio deck. Dinner was served each night under the stars. Bona Ntaba is an amazing way to experience South Africa and the wildlife inhabiting it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonaNtaba, General Manager at Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for visiting our lodge and writing a very descriptive and positive review with photos. We really enjoyed having you and sharing South Africa wildlife and hospitality with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

It had always been on my bucket list to do a safari in South Africa. There were 3 couples who went together to the Bona Ntaba Tree House Lodge based on a recommendation of a friend. We were there for 9 incredible days. It was one of the best experiences of my life. Each couple had their own tree house. they were absolutely wonderful; very comfortable, spacious and well equipped right down to the electric water pot where I enjoyed tea every morning watching the sun rise over the mountains. Greg and Karen were wonderful hosts. The lodge was a great meeting place for meals - eating under the stars in the Boma was incredibly beautiful and relaxing. The food was absolutely delicious. The staff was so friendly. The service was incredible - the tables were set every morning and evening - it was so inviting and beautifully set up. I am not a fish eater. The staff, in the kitchen, always made sure I had a wonderful alternative if fish happened to be served. Greg built a watering hole so we had a wonderful time watching zebra, etc drinking as we sat, very close, on the deck in the lodge. There is a great swimming pool right off the deck overlooking the watering hole. I have such wonderful memories that will be forever etched in my mind; my favorite was listening to the sounds of the lions as I fell asleep. I am a techie addict - I need my smart phone, computer, iPad, etc. For 9 days, those were turned off as there is no service at Bona Ntaba (except for reading a book, at night, on my iPad). It was a piece of heaven - I sat on the porch of the tree house every night writing in my journal. It was so peaceful. I will never forget it. Thank you to Greg and Karen, as well as the staff, who helped to make this trip the best I have ever taken ( and we travel a lot). I would highly recommend the Bona Ntaba Tree House Lodge to anyone who wants to experience South Africa.

Room Tip: Each tree house was absolutely wonderful and very close to the main lodge where we gathered to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie223045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I and two other good friend couples stayed nine delightful days at Bona Ntaba as part of our Africa Wild Safari. I rate everything at this lodge an A+. The tree house was fun with its outdoor shower and its little balcony with great views of the mountains and sunsets and bush babies leaping in the trees. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The main lodge was a wonderful place for all of us to gather and relax; take a refreshing dip in the pool and watch the wild life gather at the watering hole. Now back in the real world, my memory of Bona Ntaba is my new go to happy place. Thanks Greg and Karen for providing an experience I will always cherish.
Robin F

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.5 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#28 of 103 in Hoedspruit
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
31.2 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#55 of 103 in Hoedspruit
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#14 of 103 in Hoedspruit
173 reviews
15.3 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 103 in Hoedspruit
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge

Address: Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £58 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ambiance of South Africa in our tranquil self catering lodge on a private game reserve in the heart of game rich Limpopo Province. Solitude and serenity surround you as you watch a spectacular sunset over the mountains.Bona Ntaba Lodge is small and unique with three ensuite tree house chalets and a thatched central lodge with fully equipped kitchen, boma with braai, and a tranquil lounge with a sunset deck.We offer the perfect quiet getaway where you set your own pace: from enjoying the deck all day to an exciting day trip into Kruger. Meals can be arranged - please ask us! Our small size makes it affordable for a group 5 - 8 adults to book the entire camp for an ultra private hideaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing