We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleepers Restaurant

Sleepers Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Hoedspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Portuguese, Contemporary, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sleepers is Located in the old Railway station Building in Hoedspruit. lovely outside seating on the deck under huge Mahogany tree's or have a drink in the cosy railway pub!
Benschop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Very good food for a good price!!!! The staff could be better but was ok. The staff can use some European mentality. The food makes it a place were you can come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank PimDouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    119
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

4 of us had lunch yesterday. My wife had steak and Guinness pie with mash. It was disgusting, the mash looked like glue and was obviously an instant mash. The pastry top was like a pizza base. After complaining we were not charged. I had hake and chips but regretted it later with terrible stomach problems. Service was very slow although waitress was very good. Compared to other places in Hoedspruit it was poor. I would not recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maja P, Owner at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Steve
Thank you so much for your feed back.
We always strive to deliver our best to our customers, and unfortunately you had a terrible experience. we would like to apologize for your poor experience and if there is anything i can do to try and compensate for your experience please let us know

regards
Sleepers Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“May not be the best meal ever but ambiance, service and food made it a great night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My hubby and I were taken to Sleepers with our hosts at African Rock Lodge, along with the other guests. Great night, beautiful food, lovely company. Service was friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozwandererPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant by the railway.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This small restaurant situated by the old railway station (freight trains still pass through) with mountain views on one side and a pleasant tree canopy on the other serves up some delicious food and drinks. I come here every time I visit the Hoedspruit area (from US and UK).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A character full restaurant, with an excellent good value menu.
Very popular with a cross section of local patrons.
Wooden bench tables outside & more of a restaurant feel inside.
Pleasant, efficient service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sleepers Restaurant also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Sleepers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing