We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wine menu and nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit

The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Hoedspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hat & Creek offers a stylish relaxed ambiance in a beautiful natural setting. Delicious food with superior wines and feel good music makes it perfect for a unique dining experience.Local, new and old favorites are available on an extensive menu specializing in meat and seafood with superb culinary flair.The restaurant is family friendly with great facilities for children and teens allowing parents to enjoy their dining experience. Suitable for business lunches, family meals, special occasions,long lunches and relaxed evening dinners 7 days a week. WIFI is complimentary and the service is excellent.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
154 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and wine menu and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went twice while we were in Hodespriut, great food, atmosphere and a cricket set up in the back!
Great service, and lovely outdoor seating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerlilykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    102
    20
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
150 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food, service and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Back in Hoedspruit for the first time in 3 years we went to the Hat & Creek for the first time with friends who live on Raptors View.
I have to say that this was the best food I have ever eaten in Hoedspruit served in a perfect setting by friendly and attentive staff.
Quality of the food and presentation especially the perfectly cooked steaks was excellent at very reasonable prices. As a further bonus,the wine list offered some great choices again at reasonable and very affordable cost.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hoedspruit's best restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Not sure how I missed this restaurant on previous visits to Hoedspruit, but I was really surprised to find such a lovely restaurant like this!
The menu was enormous with options for any taste, I had snails (which I don't see on menus in Australia very often) and Kudu which was perfectly cooked. Being full after these two courses I didn't opt for a dessert, but they sounded soooo good!
Only downside was the huge wait for each course, but being a group of about 10 we happily chatted on (although those who didn't opt for a starter were absolutely starving by the time their main arrived).
Will definitely go again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TannieKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benschop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food in Hoedspruit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

When dining at Hat & Creek, definitely take the lemon pie for dessert, would travel back from the Netherlands to Hoedspruit just for that pie! :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 580Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The happening place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Being rugby mad we were referred here to watch the games! Be prepared for pages and pages of menu! Such a difficult decision, such great food!! Waiters are friendly and efficient and the atmosphere electric. Centrally placed in the main road this is definitely on my next visit!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pierre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing