We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, lots of animals, lots of fun and not lots of people.”

Thornbush Game Reserve
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Hoedspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant, lots of animals, lots of fun and not lots of people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at an evening game drive. Saw lots of animals, including a pride of lions that rested in the shadow of our 4x4. We were with the guide from our lodge, so can't vouch for the Reserve's guides, but we did have one with us who helped our driver spot the animals. Recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank helenmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We took two tours in the Thornbush reserve, and the guides were really great in finding the animals, getting us right in the middle of the action, and answering questions. We actually liked these tours more than being in nearby Kruger because you are not driving on paved roads and seeing animals from a distance, rather you are on dirt roads and much closer to everything. Truly a wonderful experience overall in both drives we took.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a great experience...lots of sightings Elephants, Giraffes, Rhinos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our safari was great. The guides from the Royal Malewane were wonderful. They make the phrase off road have real meaning! If you say you would like to see an animal they will try their best to find it for you. We had three days of morning and afternoon rides and we saw wonderful animals. At night after a "sundowner" our guide brought out his telescope and showed us the planet Saturn. Nik....our guide....made us feel like family!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lot of animals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We saw a lot of warthogs, impalas, kudos, elephants, giraffes, rhinos, cheetah..
Was great. My nephew (9year-old) loved it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolinelimaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

It was amazing!!!!! Do it if you have the Chance!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This day was unbelievable - you see a lot and its really great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thornbush Game Reserve also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Thornbush Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing