We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful location”
Review of African Rock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
African Rock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Yvonne and Gerard were perfect hosts. The atmosphere and location were perfect. We were able to take a wonderful walk within the Sanctuary and saw terrific wildlife. The warthogs were omnipresent. Our accommodations were lovely and the pool area was ideal.

We had a delicious breakfast and it was served beautifully.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrippers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived in Hoedspruit extremely tired from travelling from Los Angeles and Gerard was waiting for us at the airport:) He took us to the lodge and gave us a great explanation of the area on the way and pointed out many animals. Yvonne met us with hot towels which was a great touch. We had a great room which was very comfortable and quiet. There were 3 couples staying at the lodge that evening and we all sat and had dinner together on the patio next to a wonderful fire. Yvonne cooked the dinner which was absolutely delicious. We had a wonderful sleep in the comfortable bed. The next morning they had an absolutely delicious breakfast waiting for us. We were only there for one night as we were going to a game park in the area but could easily have stayed longer. We would definitely recommend this lodge. It is right in the bush with many animals moving about and the perfect place to stay especially if you are planning to do self drive game drives in the area.
Yvonne and Gerard were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Luxury Room in a very nice Guesthouse in a beautiful Environment. The owners were excellent Hosts and additionally to a perfect breakfast, they cooked a perfect dinner. One of the nicest Guesthouses we have been on our 3 weeks vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in April for a relaxing break in SA with some game viewing. Both Yvonne and Gerard are the perfect hosts and went out their way to take us to a restaurant on our first night, arrange game drives and make us fabulous home cooked meals.
Our room was incredibly comfortable and cosy and had every detail thought of including stocked mini bar, fresh towels and linen every day, toiletries and even mosquito repellent provided. The breakfast included continental and cooked breakfast and was plenty to fill us up for most of the day. The lodge is located in a beautiful private reserve and so driving out of the lodge you often faced with warthog, impala, zebra etc. wish we could of stayed longer. Will be recommending to all and hope to come back soon. Thanks again Yvonne and Gerard.

Room Tip: All rooms are up to exceptional standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wafer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I were stayed at the African Rock Lodge for two nights in March and loved it. It is nice, comfortable, quiet and just a great place to be. It was really nice being able to walk around the neighborhood looking at birds and critters. Yvonne and Gerard were great hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markindavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were three couples there for a short stay of two nights ,,,,,the rooms are well equipped , bathroom also ....what we missed was THE VIEW....there is a small garden and during our stay there were some works for creating a new room..and thus some noise ..the owners are very helpful and show a lot of attention .....nevertheless we had a pleasant stay !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed two nights at African Rock Lodge and enjoyed our stay. Yvonne and Gérard are welcoming and friendly. The place is clean and has a nice african decoration. The breakfast was good. The only downside was that the room was a bit small and dark (compared to the big bathroom).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
6.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,891 reviews
12.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
#5 of 103 in Hoedspruit
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
374 reviews
14.2 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 103 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
#10 of 103 in Hoedspruit
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Lodge

Address: 594 C/O Ghwarrie & Kanniedood Streets | Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £73 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Rock Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Rock Lodge offers luxury thatched-roof accommodation with a private patio. It features an heated outdoor pool with sun terrace, a rustic bar, a guest lounge with flat screen TV, and a large braai (bbq) area. All of our four air-conditioned rooms include a seating area and king-sized bed, tea & coffee facilities, mini-bar, Wi-Fi internet and mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms have double washbasins, a double shower (normal & rain shower), a bath, toilet and free toiletries. Our accommodation is catered (breakfast). Taking that well-earned break will NEVER be the same without the real "finishing touches" of your hosts (and owners) Sander & Juliet. The Estate has great wildlife populations that roam freely around the lodge. Giraffe, waterbuck, warthog, impala, kudu, blue wildebeest, zebra and nyala are commonly seen. There are no predators on the Estate, which is perfect for walking, driving and mountain biking among the game. There are two elevated thatched hides overlooking water holes on a perennial stream that runs from the main gate in the west.At night the nocturnal wildlife is just as plentiful. The calls of the hyena and the black backed jackal are as loud as the millions of stars in the sky are bright.If you sit outside at the fireside with the lodge lights dimmed you can expect regular visits from porcupines and warthogs while locating the bark of the male impalas in the dark in the rutting season.We offer Bed & Breakfast and/or Dinner Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your African Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Rock Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing