We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice lodge”
Review of African Rock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
African Rock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed one night at the African Rock Lodge in our journey to the Kruger. It is located inside a private safary area with some wild life around
the hotel owners were extremely nice and helpful and even joined us to a dinner in nearby restorant and drove around at night to show us some aninals. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms are a bit small mising space for large suitcases.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Levy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nestled in the wild beauty of the greater Kruger, it is very rare to come across a jewel like this lodge. it is the most beautiful, wonderful place to stay and yet you feel like you're at home because of the lodge owners, Yvonne and Gerard. They are the most wonderful people I have had the pleasure to include in my life and each day is a blessing because of them. They run this beautiful place by themselves, of course with a lot of help from their little phoebe! You have beautiful tastefully done rooms with ensuite bathrooms, a shower, twin sinks and yet when you sit out on your own personal balcony, you see the beautiful african bush right at your doorstep. Gerard and Yvonne will also fix up big 5 game drives at your convenience and even go with you if you need company and expert advise! I have personally been back 4 times and will continue to do so as long as i live. i cant tell you what an experience it is, you just have to go there and see for yourself :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Yvonne and Gerard were perfect hosts. The atmosphere and location were perfect. We were able to take a wonderful walk within the Sanctuary and saw terrific wildlife. The warthogs were omnipresent. Our accommodations were lovely and the pool area was ideal.

We had a delicious breakfast and it was served beautifully.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrippers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived in Hoedspruit extremely tired from travelling from Los Angeles and Gerard was waiting for us at the airport:) He took us to the lodge and gave us a great explanation of the area on the way and pointed out many animals. Yvonne met us with hot towels which was a great touch. We had a great room which was very comfortable and quiet. There were 3 couples staying at the lodge that evening and we all sat and had dinner together on the patio next to a wonderful fire. Yvonne cooked the dinner which was absolutely delicious. We had a wonderful sleep in the comfortable bed. The next morning they had an absolutely delicious breakfast waiting for us. We were only there for one night as we were going to a game park in the area but could easily have stayed longer. We would definitely recommend this lodge. It is right in the bush with many animals moving about and the perfect place to stay especially if you are planning to do self drive game drives in the area.
Yvonne and Gerard were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Luxury Room in a very nice Guesthouse in a beautiful Environment. The owners were excellent Hosts and additionally to a perfect breakfast, they cooked a perfect dinner. One of the nicest Guesthouses we have been on our 3 weeks vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in April for a relaxing break in SA with some game viewing. Both Yvonne and Gerard are the perfect hosts and went out their way to take us to a restaurant on our first night, arrange game drives and make us fabulous home cooked meals.
Our room was incredibly comfortable and cosy and had every detail thought of including stocked mini bar, fresh towels and linen every day, toiletries and even mosquito repellent provided. The breakfast included continental and cooked breakfast and was plenty to fill us up for most of the day. The lodge is located in a beautiful private reserve and so driving out of the lodge you often faced with warthog, impala, zebra etc. wish we could of stayed longer. Will be recommending to all and hope to come back soon. Thanks again Yvonne and Gerard.

Room Tip: All rooms are up to exceptional standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wafer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I were stayed at the African Rock Lodge for two nights in March and loved it. It is nice, comfortable, quiet and just a great place to be. It was really nice being able to walk around the neighborhood looking at birds and critters. Yvonne and Gerard were great hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markindavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
6.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
12.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 104 in Hoedspruit
153 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
355 reviews
14.7 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 22 in Hoedspruit
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Lodge

Address: 594 C/O Ghwarrie & Kanniedood Streets | Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £79 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Rock Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Rock Lodge offers luxury thatched-roof accommodation with a private patio. It features an heated outdoor pool with sun terrace, a rustic bar, a guest lounge with flat screen TV, and a large braai (bbq) area. All of our four air-conditioned rooms include a seating area and king-sized bed, tea & coffee facilities, mini-bar, Wi-Fi internet and mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms have double washbasins, a double shower (normal & rain shower), a bath, toilet and free toiletries. Our accommodation is catered (breakfast). Taking that well-earned break will NEVER be the same without the real "finishing touches" of your hosts (and owners) Sander & Juliet. The Estate has great wildlife populations that roam freely around the lodge. Giraffe, waterbuck, warthog, impala, kudu, blue wildebeest, zebra and nyala are commonly seen. There are no predators on the Estate, which is perfect for walking, driving and mountain biking among the game. There are two elevated thatched hides overlooking water holes on a perennial stream that runs from the main gate in the west.At night the nocturnal wildlife is just as plentiful. The calls of the hyena and the black backed jackal are as loud as the millions of stars in the sky are bright.If you sit outside at the fireside with the lodge lights dimmed you can expect regular visits from porcupines and warthogs while locating the bark of the male impalas in the dark in the rutting season.We offer Bed & Breakfast and/or Dinner Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your African Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Rock Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing