We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phelwana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visited Phelwana to attend a wedding at a nearby lodge. We received excellent service. The staff did their utmost to tend to every one of our request (and succeeded). I would defnitely reccomend the lodge to any one who would like to relax and be treated to 5 star service. Thank you Amanda, Jeffrey, Hannes and Ronel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VenessaduPlessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JA_DeVilliers, Owner at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear VenessaduPlessis

Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you shared and experienced what Phelwana is all about. We pride ourselves with our service and high standards and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to creating more memories with you in the future!

Kind Regards

Pierre De Villiers, MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
83
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Congratulations Phelwana and your team for the hosting of a most memorable wedding in June, 2014. Your team were superb, the catering and comforts of your beautifully appointed chalets, made our stay there such a pleasurable experience. WELL DONE!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 6 sleeper family Bush Chalet called Dzombo. I can highly recommend it, it is close en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jangr0entjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JA_DeVilliers, Owner at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Jangroentjie,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the function! We look forward to hosting you in the future and creating more memories with you!

Kind Regards

Pierre De Villiers, MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at Phelwana and had a amazing time.
The meals were excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.
The bush walks and game drives were great, but what I really enjoyed was the freedom of been able to take a walk or cycle through bush or just sit on the deck of my chalet and watch the game grazing a few meters away from me.
A big thanks to the Phelwana for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JA_DeVilliers, Owner at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear IL Watt,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. The Phelwana Team will continue to ensure that our guests create wonderful memories at Phelwana Game Lodge! We are so glad that you enjoyed our activities and that you enjoyed the Game Walks specifically.

We look forward to creating more memories with you!

Pierre De Villiers, MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I arrived at Phelwana and was met with style, class, incredible taste and phenomenal food the whole way through. The game drives were amazing and the ranger was very knowledgeable. The staff are friendly which makes such a difference. I had phoned a few weeks before going to say that I am training for a marathon and while I saw there were game walks I asked if there was any possibility for a run. They didn't even hesitate and said that they had a ranger who ran. As I arrived, they introduced me to Thabo who took me for 9km runs at 7am every morning I requested it. It is great going to a place with game, without all the big 5 so that you feel safe to fish and explore. The Kruger Park is 30mins away for day trips.

Room Tip: Ask for one if the luxury tents! Close to the main lodge and stunning inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amyswindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanine_Hugo, Owner at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Amyswindow,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist with your marathon training. We look forward to hopefully accommodating you at Phelwana in the near future!

Kind Regards

Pierre De Villiers, MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phalaborwa, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was such a pleasure to be part of the wonderful moments of capturing the first wedding at Phelwana Game Lodge. The staff at the lodge really makes you feel at home. The rooms are wonderfully layed out with views that will exceed your expectations and the variety of food is top notch. If you love the african skies, smell of fresh air and looking for the perfect getaway of relaxation, Phelwana is definitely the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanel_oost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanine_Hugo, Owner at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Good Day,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are thrilled to read your review! It is our mission to provide quality and friendly service at all times! and I will be delighted to share this news with our team!

Kind Regards

Pierre De Villiers, MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We had a brilliant stay at Phelwana. It is a truely beautiful place in the bushveld. The hospitality is superb, all the staff go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay. The meals were great. I loved the game walks, not something I have been able to do at other lodges. The wildlife is incredibly abundant. Our chalet on the waters edge was world class. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanine_Hugo, Owner at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Good Day,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to creating the opportunity for more fantastic memories at Phelwana Game Lodge!

Kind Regards,

Pierre De Villiers, MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Phelwana for 3 nights for a wedding and had a wonderful time. Lovely venue with stunning chalets and glamping tents. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and had an excellent wedding meal.

The game rangers were very knowledgable and impressive with their knowledge on the bush walks an game drives. We used Phelwana as a central venue to venture out and visit other attractions in Hoedspruit area.

All in all a great experience and a great new venue in the Bushveld

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewGSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanine_Hugo, Owner at Phelwana Game Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear AndrewGSmith,

On behalf of the Phelwana Team and myself, we wish to thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Phelwana. It was an absolute pleasure in meeting you and your family. We look forward to providing many more memorable holidays for you and your family.

Kind Regards

Pierre De Villiers, MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
8.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#16 of 103 in Hoedspruit
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#8 of 103 in Hoedspruit
377 reviews
16.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
183 reviews
14.0 mi away
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
#9 of 103 in Hoedspruit
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phelwana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phelwana Game Lodge

Property: Phelwana Game Lodge
Address: 137 Guernsey | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phelwana Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phelwana accommodation caters for our guests various requirements. We offer two types of accommodation at Phelwana Game Lodge: 6 beautifully appointed Luxury Tents (accommodating 2 guests per tent) and 8 Luxury Bush Villas (Accommodating 2,4 or 6 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Phelwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phelwana Game Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing