We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hippo Pools Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hippo Pools Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
france
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Loved the hotel : rooms are big , clean and well equipped.

surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and so quiet

staff are nice and helpful

Great security and you feel very safe

Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedugul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Cannot fault the accommodation (we stayed in the luxury self-catering rondawel). The accommodation was well-equipped and very comfortable. Management very helpful, setting and walks very pleasant. Can highly recommend. Our only disappointment was that the hippos didn’t visit while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 335lebreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been at the Hippo Pools few days ago - and it was an excellent choice. The place is nice, relaxing and very friendly ... and the hippos are really there in the Olifants river, few meters below the resort. David accompanied us to Kruger, to a private game drive and then a bush walk - and we enjoyed all of that very much as David is an enthusiast with a lot of experience (besides a university degree in natural sciences). In the end we paid much less than with other organisations and we had a very high quality experience. Kelly made us feeling at home together with the rest of the staff. Certainly good value for money. If we can, we will come back.

Room Tip: The luxury rondavel, where we stayed, is probably not the most comfortable among the different optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We've got a great deal for this hotel - even at high season! Rooms were clean and customer service is amazing! David & Kelly go above and beyond to help guests!
Several room options are available, depending if you want to go on a low budget or high end. Location is also great for game watches.

Room Tip: Very helpful staff for any info you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleArruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been at Hippo Pools in 2011 & we have been there earlier this year. WOW what an improvement in the Management team. Kelly & David is such a delight. They go above & beyond. Coming from a Hospitality background ourselves, we know what to look for (not that we are looking for faults), & we cant fault Hippo Pools. The cleaners are friendly, our room was clean on arrival & well cleaned during our stay, the grounds are well kept & we just love the overall atmosphere. We cant wait to go back to HP - little spot in paradise!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilizeBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hippo Pools in March and took it as a base to our Kruger Park visit which works really well. We were booked in a Riverside House which offers you more than you ever can dream of. It is extremly spacious and the situation directly on the riverside is just wonderful, allowing you during the nights the wonderful music of the african nights! There is everything and more in and outside the house (absolutly wonderful your own private pool), and it is very clean and kept up every day. When we arrived the restaurant was closed, but Kelly organized everything to give us a sumptous dinner on the restaurant terrasse next to the huge ressort pool.The next evening she organized everything so that we could have our own private braai at the house with its very well equipped kitchen.
This is a place that we would highly recommend to everybody, if it is visiting Kruger Park, visiting the area or just relaxing..... We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed two nights in a very well appointed housekeeping unit on site. One night we ordered a meal prepared at the hotel which we optioned to eat in our room. The food arrived hot, plated,
and pleasantly presented. My wife had a vegetarian option and I the schnitzel which was surprisingly good.
The cost of the room and meals were modest given the quality and the hosts Dave and Kelly were most helpful in their advice as to local attractions. The site is perfectly located for a day trip to Kruger National Park which we enjoyed tremendously.
The hippos at the pools are at times highly entertaining. We were delighted when suddenly they all decided en mass to stop sunbathing on the sand bank and charged as a group into the river. The resulting mini tsumami was impressive.
We stayed in off season (end of May) and consequently at this and other locations received excellent rates and uncrowded facilities. There is a huge pool on site along with a games room
with table tennis and a pool table all of which we enjoyed on an almost exclusive basis.
All in all we would recommend this resort to our friends and will return on our next visiy to South Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
20.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#50 of 104 in Hoedspruit
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
333 reviews
8.3 mi away
Garonga Safari Camp
Garonga Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Makalali Private Game Reserve
358 reviews
14.1 mi away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#29 of 104 in Hoedspruit
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Pools Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Pools Resort

Property: Hippo Pools Resort
Address: On the R40, 22km North of Hoedspruit, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hippo Pools Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Olifants river property is ideal for a weekend breakaway where you can even fly in and land on the tarred landing strip located on the Estate. A Must stay property for the bush lover that have a large family and friends that enjoy each others company, African sunsets, birdlife and the luxury of a fully equipped house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Pools Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Pools Resort South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing