We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation and special family time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total relaxation and special family time”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family and I arrived at the lodge and was personally welcomed by Devin and his team. I then knew this will be a visit to remember. Our tented family room (queen size bed and 2 single beds) was big, beautiful, spotlessly clean and surrounded by bush veld. Dinner was in the boma, and what a treat, everything Donald prepared that night was out of this world. Back in our rooms the beds were turned down, each bed had a warm water bottle and the heater was already on, because of the winter chill in the air that was a very welcome sight! The next morning Devine took us on a morning walk, but made it very special with regard to my 2 girls. He shared a lot of information and made sure they had a wonderful morning out in the bush! They are still talking about it. The special bedtime story Devin gave the girls made a big impression. This is a lodge to be proud of, service is excellent, friendly and helpful staff, food is amazing, super accommodation and lots of personal extras! We will return, and we will bring friends! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fransisca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    25
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We went here for our honeymoon, what a fantastic place and experience.
The staff was very helpful and super friendly.
Dinner was special, I can't imagine how you could cook any dinner out there in that tiny kitchen, but they did a superb job.
We did was a morning walk, thoroughly enjoyed that. Devin was a good guide and we spotted some nice game and learned to appreciate the bird life. Next morning again!
Our stay was full of little personal surprises, which shows they care about the experiences of their guests.
Thanks to staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewout K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This establishment does South Africa proud to international tourists. We visited for a relaxing weekend and thats exactly what we did... relax. The rooms/tents are spotlessly clean, the service is phenominal, and the food could not be better. Devin you can be proud of Ngama and your staff offering tourists, both local and international, an authentic bush experience. We will return anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgamaLodge, Owner at Ngama Tented Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Ngama Tented Safari Lodge.

We are really happy to hear that your stay left you feeling relaxed and rested.

We hope to see you and the family back again sometime soon.

Thank you once more.

Devin Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband and I went to Ngama for our 4th wedding anniversary - what an experience :-)! Our tented room was surrounded by only bushveld and decorated very beautifully - the outside shower also being a highlight for us.

Devin and his team provided top notch service from the minute we arrived. Personalised notes and surprises greeted us throughout the weekend which really made this weekend one of the most romantic getaways we've been on (we weren't even spoiled like this on our honeymoon).

The food there was abolutely delicious and the Ngama team always friendly and ready to help with whatever we needed.

I would definitely reccommend Ngama to anyone and I would personally rate it as one of the best places we've ever stayed at. We wish Devin and his team all the best for the future and as I said to him, they definitely have a winning formula : the awesome bushveld, stunning accommodation, absolutely delicious food, excellent service, attention to detail, and of course a passionate team :-)!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arina_vd_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent one night(unfortunately only one) at Ngama tented safari lodge. We arrived after a very long day in the Kruger and a very bumpy drive. We were received by Devin the owner, provided with refresher towels and a welcome drink. The tent is luxurious with all sorts of small extras like proper coffee, homemade cookies and soaps and shampoos. The room is clean and tidy and spacious. The dinner was a boma style truely south african dinner of which a second and third helping was had. They have friendly and efficient staff and Devin goes out of his way to make you comfortable. My wife is pregnant and we were there for our anniversary. They ensured that no mosquitos could come close and when we got to the room after dinner, there was candles around the hot drawn bath and champaigne. I can go on and on. Do yourself a favour and go and relax at Ngama lodge for at least 3 days. Go on a game drive to see the Big 5. Enjoy the food and service. Thanks to Devin and his staff, especially Sherly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too close to the main area.(although the guests are generally in their rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Cannot beat this,good value for money.
We were looked after and treated well the game drives are well organized and the camp atmosphere is just perfect.
Check out their website you will not be disappointed.
See you soon guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renziboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We arrived just as the sun was going down and we knew we were in the bush. I had never been camping before so this came so close for me but in a lap of luxury of course . We were celebrating a special anniversary and they prepared a feast for us; a very special feast, we ate and thanked God we went there. The setting allows for total tranquility which we needed. The tented room; so clean, very beautifully decorated, nothing left to chance...the host (Devin) and his team were superb

This is officially our most romantic place ever...

Room Tip: Sleep is good but you are sharing frog territory so they remind you with their robust singing, lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeskyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.4 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#6 of 102 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
14.9 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 102 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#15 of 102 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#17 of 102 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
30.2 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#45 of 102 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
16.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngama Tented Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngama Tented Safari Lodge

Property: Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Address: Guernsey Private | Guernsey, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngama Tented Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngama meaning ‘place of the eagles’ is a delightfully intimate, family run tented safari lodge, that offers a true African experience. Where guests fall asleep to the sounds of the bush and are pampered with the warm hearted service that embodies the soul of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ngama Tented Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing