We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best base to explore Mpumalanga”
Review of Cheetah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheetah Inn
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I needed accommodation for one night between bookings at different resorts. Cheetah Inn was more than expected. From the time of arrival until departure, the service and accommodation is of the highest standard I have experienced in a long time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy P, Owner at Cheetah Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Hi Hannes
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around our part of the world. Really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

After arriving in Durban for work from Brisbane and having spent 2 weeks there, I booked a 5 day tour with Themba Safari Tours (www.krugerparktour.com) to see Kruger NP and simply enjoy some time unwinding.

I stayed at the Cheetah Inn, where Jonathon and Mandy have recently taken charge - and manage what I think is a little piece of paradise. You can enjoy sitting in the sun drenched and lush garden to the sound of birdsong or take a dip in the large pool relaxing to the sound of the dry warm Sth African winds through the trees and the water feature cascading into the pool itself. Watching the monkeys play in the trees is both comical and cute (as they carry their bubs around).

The thatch rooved round huts (double bed room with ensuite) are so comfortable and sound proof that I ended up sleeping straight through a massive thunderstorm - and ended up having the 4 best sleeps I've had in ages. All the meals (breakky and dinner) are hearty and delicious, and there was enough for seconds and/or thirds if you could manage to finish the first helping (as they're huge).

There's also a quirky colony of charming little bats gripping hold of the thatched roof on the front porch, and they're very quiet and unassuming - a perfect complement to the healthy ecosystem of frogs that seem to keep mossies to a minimum.

We had a terrific BBQ on the last night, where 6 nationalities came to laugh, share adventures and safaris, and search for the mighty Southern Cross - we wore out an iPhone 'astronomy' application the stars are so bright and numerous.

I thoroughly recommend both Themba Tours and the Cheetah Inn for your Kruger Park safari experience. All the tours were bang on time (and seeing the 'Big 5' is just one among many wonderful experiences you'll have), and the accomodation and proprieters are top shelf.

Mark B. (Brisbane, Australia)

Room Tip: My room was a stand alone thatched roof hut - excellent sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonnerm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy P, Owner at Cheetah Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Hi
Glad you enjoyed your stay in our "little piece of paradise", we really enjoyed having you.
Regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Our stay at Cheetah Inn was lovely. It was actually nicer than I had expected and was the perfect accommodation base for a Kruger Park safari. The Inn consisted of rondawels and standard guestrooms, both of which were comfortable and relaxing spaces to unwind in after a day of game watching. I did prefer the rondawels though, purely because its different to the usual guestroom and had a larger bathroom. The large pool at the Inn was a treat to soak in at the end of the day. The couple who runs the place, Mandy and Jonathan, were friendly and helpful hosts who genuinely cared about making us comfortable and making sure that we enjoyed our stay there. They were the perfect hosts! The food was also really good. Caroline and Mandy are great cooks! Our first night there, we had a brie (bbq), whilst the rest of the other nights, we had dinner served out under the stars. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely come back again if were doing another Kruger Park safari.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a rondawel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhajan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Due to a mistake from our travel agent, we had to find a last minute alternative accommodation for our party of 14… Thanks to the staff at Kruger Park Open Gate, we booked one night at Cheetah Inn and it was finally a good deal. Nothing special about rooms, they were basic but clean and comfortable. Staff did well to entertain everybody during a complimentary dinner outside around a big fire. Even if temperature was cool, we all really enjoyed it. No complain, we were happy to be there anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Cheetah Inn as part of our honeymoon trip. If you are looking for a base to explore the area this is it, its close to everything. Cheetah project is only 20min away as well as elephant rides.
The Inn is great, clean rooms and friendly staff. We were the only people there for our stay so we got the run of the place, it was great. Did miss not having other travelers to chat to in the evening though but being on honeymoon it did not bother us much. The staff were very friendly and helped with anything we needed. Food was good and served in the resturant for us. The pool is big and well maintained.
In the evening look out for the banded mongoose tribe as they check the area for left over food. Area is full of small mamals and plenty of birds.
Cheetah Inn is great value for money.
Tips:
At the Inn dont be afraid to ask staff for drinks at any time.
Give tips at end of stay.
If you are traveling through Hazeyview on your way up stop at the shopping plaza on the main road, its got great curio shops. Use these as guide prices for what the locals sell on the road side, buy from them as you are supporting them directly and it will be cheaper.
JHB airport duty free is ALL more expensive that cost of curios locally.
Also get a tourist guide/fold out map of all the attractions at Hazeyview, its a big help in planning your days and finding places.
WATCH YOUR SPEED, don't speed through the townships as there are cops everywhere.
Visit Jessica the hippo and feed her tea and corn on the cob, this is a must, you can kiss a hippo :) . She is on the Blyde River outside Hoedspruit.
Skip the Cheetah project and visit Moholoholo Centre, much more interesting. The Cheetah project is just one womens mad idea of breeding cheetah and then keeping them captive!!! Not my idea of conservation and sad to see.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This lodging is owned and operated by Viva Safaris of JNB (vivasaf@icon.co.za). It is an excellent place to base out of to do wildlife viewing in Kruger Game Park utilizing the Orpen Gate. Especially during the dry season an abundance of animals can be viewed in the Park between Orpen and Satara. We saw the Big 5 on three out of the 4 days we went into the Park!
The staff at the Inn were very helpful and accommodating - responding quickly and efficiently to our requests. We enjoyed a refreshing swim in the pool in the late afternoon sun followed by scrumptous dinners outside near the campfire.
My wife and I led two groups of Habitat for Humanity volunteers to Mozambique to build houses and worked with Viva Safaris and Cheetah Inn to offer some rest and recreation before returning home. It was great value and a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We booked Cheetah Inn through Viva Safaris, which was recommended on TripAdvisor. The whole experience was fantastic. Viva safaris looked after us from our arrival in Johannesburg airport until they dropped us back there again for our departure.

We stayed in very spacious, clean rooms in Cheetah Inn. The staff were so fantastic and courteous and made our stay all the more enjoyable. We had a barbeque (braii) on our second night by the boma (fire) which was a wonderful African experience. The whole safari trip was amazing and we were lucky enough to see 3 out of the Big 5 on our full day safari.

I would recommend Cheetah Inn and Viva Safaris to groups of travellers, couples, solo travellers. They looked after us so well from start to finish, employed experienced knowledgeable guides, and all in all the trip was fantastic value.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanisCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.0 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#58 of 104 in Hoedspruit
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 22 in Hoedspruit
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheetah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Inn

Address: Guernsey Road, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £30 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Hoedspruit in the heart of the Limpopo Lowveld, we are the nearest hotel to the Kruger National Park’s Orpen Gate, a mere 50km via a tar road on a secure gated property. We are also surrounded by Big Five Game Reserves such as Kapama, Thornybush and Timbavati.Our 21 airy rooms and thatched rondawels are fully en-suite (bath, shower, basin and toilet) and are surrounded by lush gardens with beautiful indigenous bushveld trees. The Cheetah Inn main hotel has seven rooms and a suite consisting of two 2-bedded rooms. There are 13 rondawels (African thatched chalets). All our rooms are fitted with aircon and overhead fans and insect-proof screens.During the heat of the day, our large sparkling swimming pool, set against the backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountain Range, provides the ideal refuge to laze away the hours. The Cheetah Inn boasts its very own airstrip (co-ordinates 24 29 52 South ; 31 05 14 East) - you can be at our doorstep within an hour of Gauteng's airports. Game-viewing activities include game drives on open Gameviewers; Bush Walks and Night Drives at nearby game reserves. Dawn flights on hot air balloons sometimes depart from the Cheetah Inn depending on wind conditions. And we can also accommodate functions for that special occasion you want to celebrate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheetah Inn South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing