We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheetah Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$814
US$756
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,039
US$1,000
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,458
US$2,390
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
26
19
4
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
19
4
4
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Its a budget place, fair enough but be aware that you are going to be ripped off once you there! After complaining about the price of dinner R150 (was maybe worth R70 at the most), I was told that he does not cater for South Africans, that I should change my attitude because R150 equals Euro12 so his Dutch guests are happy! ??? Also the website and what you are getting is two different stories, no plug for the bedside lamp and the main light was in the fare corner???

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After having traveled 3 weeks through SA we spent 1 night in Cheetah Inn. We have seen many positive reviews so we decided to stay there on our way from KNP to Jo'burg.
Entering the property made a first positive impression. The second impression - on our way to the reception - was not that positive as it looked like the place is closed and overall a bit dirty.
Heike gave us a warm welcome, showed us the room and explained that they have plenty of snakes in the area and we need to take care. Thank you for that - snakes are a nightmare for me! Would be nice to mention that before booking!

Room: ok, bathroom need major reworks!

Outside sitting area: That area is a big disappointment. It looks old/dirty/crappy - with a little effort this could be a nice & welcoming area.

Dining: we had a braai at the evening. It was ok but not overwhelming. For the price we would and you could expect much more in SA.
I had a whiskey after dinner. Peter charged me 45 Rand for that... I had the same whiskey (same size) in Jo'burg at a 5* hotel for 32 Rand. A 45 Rand seems a bit overpriced!

About the host Peter: disappointing. not customer-focused at all and looked a bit uninteressted. Was just playing around with his mobile and when we were about to leave he was only standing up because Heike reminded him that we still have a open bill.
If you are used to SA hospitality - you will not find it in Cheetah Inn.

By the way: be prepared that you enough cash with you; CC machine didn't work with the excuse that the line is broken. Funny enough the internet connection worked quite well.

Conclusion: ok for the price for one night. wouldn't spent more time there. I'm sure for 200-300 Rand more you can get a much better accomendation.
@Peter: with a bit more passion and a bit more willingness to invest this could be a great place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a last minute booking for our group of 20. We were thankful to be able to keep our group together, although there was a slight mixup on the booking and the first night two couples had to share a room and the second night the one of the couples went to another accommodation. The facility was clean enough, but well worn and a bit dated. I stayed in a rondeval (#20) and wished I had gotten a main facility room. Electricity went out and it took a while to fix (no hot water when we returned from a long day on safari), but the owners did work diligently at getting it fixed. Would NOT recommend the restaurant. Go into Hoedspruit for your meals! Recommend Sleepers! Owners were inflexible with serving breakfast for us before safari. Sure, safari leaves at 05:30, but when your group is pretty much taking up the entire facilty and you facility caters to safaris, it seems you would be allowed to have breakfast buffet before you went. As it was, it was a struggle to even get coffee before we left for safari. Boxed breakfast consisted of ham and cheese sandwich with butter, two pieces of fruit and either a juice box or a water. After three days of cold breakfast out of a plastic bag, it would have been nice to have had the option of toast, yogurt, anything before heading out. Some of the mattresses were well worn with springs poking out. The owner changed them, but I think they were just moved to another room. I was just too tired to deal with it and shared a single bed for the four nights were were there. Overall, we were in a pinch and not at liberty to complain, but still...I'd try somewhere else if I were to return.

Room Tip: The main building rooms are smaller, but newer, cleaner.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BooBooSquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heike S, Owner at Cheetah Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Good morning,
Thank you for your review. We regret the fact that in your opinion, some things were missing at Cheetah Inn. As this guest indicated it was a last minute booking. The group didn´t make the booking, but their travel agent. With the travel agent we discussed the room layout, breakfasts, dinners etc. The agent has been informed what we could offer as a last minute accommodation and he agreed with it. Sorry to hear that the guests were not properly informed by the tour leader and we understand that guests found this annoying. But also with regard to breakfasts. The agent has not ordered breakfast buffet, but for the 3 mornings a breakfast package. They were also informed what´s included in the breakfast packages. We cannot be judged on this, because it is ordered by their travel agent. The last day we served as ordered by the agent a breakfast buffet. We do not serve warm breakfast, also about that their agent was informed. We do not know why the guests thinks, that we organised the safaris for this group. This is also organized by the travel agent of this group. Their travel agent arranged the safari trips with a safari company and not with us. We were just delivering the accommodation. With regard to the mattress, it is a little bit strange. Is it not correct what this guest mentioned about that. The tour leader, who was also at Cheetah Inn, informed us very late in the evening, that there was a guest with back problems, so we changed the mattress. And we regret that the first mattress was not that good for this guest. It was the choice of this guest, to share a single bed while a good mattress was given to them, at the moment we heard about it.
The tour operator has given us in the beginning clear instructions about providing coffee and tea in the morning. So that is what we provided. For us it is never a problem to serve coffee or tea early in the morning.
I advise this guest, to make the dissatisfaction with the organization of their travel or accommodation to the travel agent, where they booked their trip.
Finally I want to ask some understanding of this guest. As the owner of Cheetah Inn, we delivered all according to the terms of agreement we made with the travel agent, even though the entire amount for the accommodation and food and beverages were not paid to us, on the day of their departure.
The important thing for us and our guests is, that we always give our guests the opportunity to share their dissatisfaction with us. Because then we get the chance to solve the ´problem´. If guests complain afterwards, for us as owners of an accommodation,it is a bit sad, because we never got the chance to fix the problem for our guests during their stay at Cheetah Inn.
We are sorry that these guests didn´t want to share their dissatisfactions with us. However, the dissatisfaction about the previous accommodations of this group, they shared with us many times during their stay.
Thank you and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed there just for a night but everything worked well. We got dinner even though it is theoretically only pre-booked and had a good sleep.

The bathroom is a bit outdated but the area around the building is quite nice. Daytrips to Kruger are possible, but needs some driving

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed a night here, after being quoted R50 more to camp (tent only) at the Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate campground. Rooms are spotless, attention to detail is good, tea and coffee available in the room, bathroom en suite refurbished and plenty hot water, and I'll definitely return again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kangwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews