We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond shocking”
Review of Cheetah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheetah Inn
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife has never been to the Kruger Park, so we decided to go in at one of the southern gates
and come out at Orpen Gate. We chose the Cheetah Inn due to its proximity to the gate which would allow us more time in the park. Thankfully we only booked one night. Our room was shocking - a wall of stink hit us when the door was opened by the owner (which he couldn't smell). The bed linen had not been changed, just the bed re-made, my wife was horrified to see
the brown stains on the sheet and slept fully clothed that night. The aircon didn't work, the toilet
came apart after one flush and we had to operate the mechanism by hand. termites had pushed a mound of sand up through the shower tiles and it covered the floor. The overhead fan on a baking hot night had to be turned off as it clattered and banged on the only speed it had left.
Our room was set on a cracked piece of concrete behind the kitchen area with views of the wiring, plumbing and the window of the next door unit.The 25 point rules page strictly prohibits
moving furniture, but we took a chair outside to avoid the stench inside ! We took a walk through the "grounds" and found other chalets occupied by dogs and what was once a conference centre
occupied by a pack of cats and kittens...the porte cochere has a thatch roof covering the entire
entrance which is home to hundreds of fruit bats, the floor is covered in bat faeces and ammonia
scented urine, The pool toilets are not only out of order, but broken. The whole place has an air of desolation about it, barred up reception area, shabby blackboards announcing "features" and an unkempt and forlorn atmosphere well reflected in the owners, who enjoyed a cup of morning coffee on their broken lounge furniture but forgot to offer us any. The cold breakfast advertised
actually was better than expected.
The owners might argue that they are a budget hotel, and our expectations were too high. Our view is that if the place was even remotely decently managed, they wouldn't have to try to be cheap to get away with the low price. They may also suggest that what we experienced didn't happen - we have photos !
If faced with a choice of sleeping in your car at a filling station or staying at the cheetah inn -
choose your car !!!

Room Tip: The only good room is somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank jannharoldbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very nice place! The food is very good, amazing people around you, nice lay out of the building, the pool, the braai area and the rooms. The hosts are very kind and always ready to help and have a chat. Very good value for your money. I would visit again any time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very nice place! The food is very good, amazing people around you, nice lay out of the building, the pool, the braai area and the rooms. The hosts are very kind and always ready to help and have a chat. Very good value for your money. I would visit again any time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Its a budget place, fair enough but be aware that you are going to be ripped off once you there! After complaining about the price of dinner R150 (was maybe worth R70 at the most), I was told that he does not cater for South Africans, that I should change my attitude because R150 equals Euro12 so his Dutch guests are happy! ??? Also the website and what you are getting is two different stories, no plug for the bedside lamp and the main light was in the fare corner???

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After having traveled 3 weeks through SA we spent 1 night in Cheetah Inn. We have seen many positive reviews so we decided to stay there on our way from KNP to Jo'burg.
Entering the property made a first positive impression. The second impression - on our way to the reception - was not that positive as it looked like the place is closed and overall a bit dirty.
Heike gave us a warm welcome, showed us the room and explained that they have plenty of snakes in the area and we need to take care. Thank you for that - snakes are a nightmare for me! Would be nice to mention that before booking!

Room: ok, bathroom need major reworks!

Outside sitting area: That area is a big disappointment. It looks old/dirty/crappy - with a little effort this could be a nice & welcoming area.

Dining: we had a braai at the evening. It was ok but not overwhelming. For the price we would and you could expect much more in SA.
I had a whiskey after dinner. Peter charged me 45 Rand for that... I had the same whiskey (same size) in Jo'burg at a 5* hotel for 32 Rand. A 45 Rand seems a bit overpriced!

About the host Peter: disappointing. not customer-focused at all and looked a bit uninteressted. Was just playing around with his mobile and when we were about to leave he was only standing up because Heike reminded him that we still have a open bill.
If you are used to SA hospitality - you will not find it in Cheetah Inn.

By the way: be prepared that you enough cash with you; CC machine didn't work with the excuse that the line is broken. Funny enough the internet connection worked quite well.

Conclusion: ok for the price for one night. wouldn't spent more time there. I'm sure for 200-300 Rand more you can get a much better accomendation.
@Peter: with a bit more passion and a bit more willingness to invest this could be a great place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a last minute booking for our group of 20. We were thankful to be able to keep our group together, although there was a slight mixup on the booking and the first night two couples had to share a room and the second night the one of the couples went to another accommodation. The facility was clean enough, but well worn and a bit dated. I stayed in a rondeval (#20) and wished I had gotten a main facility room. Electricity went out and it took a while to fix (no hot water when we returned from a long day on safari), but the owners did work diligently at getting it fixed. Would NOT recommend the restaurant. Go into Hoedspruit for your meals! Recommend Sleepers! Owners were inflexible with serving breakfast for us before safari. Sure, safari leaves at 05:30, but when your group is pretty much taking up the entire facilty and you facility caters to safaris, it seems you would be allowed to have breakfast buffet before you went. As it was, it was a struggle to even get coffee before we left for safari. Boxed breakfast consisted of ham and cheese sandwich with butter, two pieces of fruit and either a juice box or a water. After three days of cold breakfast out of a plastic bag, it would have been nice to have had the option of toast, yogurt, anything before heading out. Some of the mattresses were well worn with springs poking out. The owner changed them, but I think they were just moved to another room. I was just too tired to deal with it and shared a single bed for the four nights were were there. Overall, we were in a pinch and not at liberty to complain, but still...I'd try somewhere else if I were to return.

Room Tip: The main building rooms are smaller, but newer, cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BooBooSquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heike S, Owner at Cheetah Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Good morning,
Thank you for your review. We regret the fact that in your opinion, some things were missing at Cheetah Inn. As this guest indicated it was a last minute booking. The group didn´t make the booking, but their travel agent. With the travel agent we discussed the room layout, breakfasts, dinners etc. The agent has been informed what we could offer as a last minute accommodation and he agreed with it. Sorry to hear that the guests were not properly informed by the tour leader and we understand that guests found this annoying. But also with regard to breakfasts. The agent has not ordered breakfast buffet, but for the 3 mornings a breakfast package. They were also informed what´s included in the breakfast packages. We cannot be judged on this, because it is ordered by their travel agent. The last day we served as ordered by the agent a breakfast buffet. We do not serve warm breakfast, also about that their agent was informed. We do not know why the guests thinks, that we organised the safaris for this group. This is also organized by the travel agent of this group. Their travel agent arranged the safari trips with a safari company and not with us. We were just delivering the accommodation. With regard to the mattress, it is a little bit strange. Is it not correct what this guest mentioned about that. The tour leader, who was also at Cheetah Inn, informed us very late in the evening, that there was a guest with back problems, so we changed the mattress. And we regret that the first mattress was not that good for this guest. It was the choice of this guest, to share a single bed while a good mattress was given to them, at the moment we heard about it.
The tour operator has given us in the beginning clear instructions about providing coffee and tea in the morning. So that is what we provided. For us it is never a problem to serve coffee or tea early in the morning.
I advise this guest, to make the dissatisfaction with the organization of their travel or accommodation to the travel agent, where they booked their trip.
Finally I want to ask some understanding of this guest. As the owner of Cheetah Inn, we delivered all according to the terms of agreement we made with the travel agent, even though the entire amount for the accommodation and food and beverages were not paid to us, on the day of their departure.
The important thing for us and our guests is, that we always give our guests the opportunity to share their dissatisfaction with us. Because then we get the chance to solve the ´problem´. If guests complain afterwards, for us as owners of an accommodation,it is a bit sad, because we never got the chance to fix the problem for our guests during their stay at Cheetah Inn.
We are sorry that these guests didn´t want to share their dissatisfactions with us. However, the dissatisfaction about the previous accommodations of this group, they shared with us many times during their stay.
Thank you and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed there just for a night but everything worked well. We got dinner even though it is theoretically only pre-booked and had a good sleep.

The bathroom is a bit outdated but the area around the building is quite nice. Daytrips to Kruger are possible, but needs some driving

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
4.6 mi away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#2 of 103 in Hoedspruit
519 reviews
34 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#15 of 103 in Hoedspruit
351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 103 in Hoedspruit
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Tshukudu Game Lodge
Tshukudu Game Lodge
#9 of 103 in Hoedspruit
486 reviews
5.2 mi away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
322 reviews
11.9 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
#4 of 103 in Hoedspruit
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheetah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Inn

Address: Guernsey Road, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £29 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Hoedspruit in the heart of the Limpopo Lowveld, we are the nearest hotel to the Kruger National Park’s Orpen Gate, a mere 50km via a tar road on a secure gated property. We are also surrounded by Big Five Game Reserves such as Kapama, Thornybush and Timbavati.Our 21 airy rooms and thatched rondawels are fully en-suite (bath, shower, basin and toilet) and are surrounded by lush gardens with beautiful indigenous bushveld trees. The Cheetah Inn main hotel has seven rooms and a suite consisting of two 2-bedded rooms. There are 13 rondawels (African thatched chalets). All our rooms are fitted with aircon and overhead fans and insect-proof screens.During the heat of the day, our large sparkling swimming pool, set against the backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountain Range, provides the ideal refuge to laze away the hours. The Cheetah Inn boasts its very own airstrip (co-ordinates 24 29 52 South ; 31 05 14 East) - you can be at our doorstep within an hour of Gauteng's airports. Game-viewing activities include game drives on open Gameviewers; Bush Walks and Night Drives at nearby game reserves. Dawn flights on hot air balloons sometimes depart from the Cheetah Inn depending on wind conditions. And we can also accommodate functions for that special occasion you want to celebrate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheetah Inn South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing