We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tshukudu Marula Camp
Nearby Hotels
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$825
US$785
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,054
US$1,030
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,462
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,276
US$975
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
118
21
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
21
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivescheetah walkfridge freezerself cateringcommunal kitchenamazing experiencethe main lodgeswimming poolenjoyed our staytwo nightswater holekruger parktshukuduwalksbomaaccommodationranger
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I booked at Marula camp with some trepidation (having just spent 2 lovely if overpriced nights at another 5 star lodge in the area) as I was concerned that it would be more 'wildlife zoo' than authentic game reserve. However, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the 'semi-tame' animals walk around quite freely and come and go between reserve and the camp with no restriction, having been reintroduced to the wild, but choosing for various reasons to 'hang out' with mankind when it suits them. The two captive animals (one wild dog and one old King Cheetah female) are captive only because they are unable to be released into the wild. The game drive and bushwalk were informative, as Chris, the owner and our guide, was clearly experienced and knowledgable; the kind of person you can listen to for hours enthralled. The fact that he is still, after so many years, enthusiatic about wildlife, is clearly evident, where for so many others it has just become an industry sadly.
You will get exceptionally close to wild animals (lion and elephant) so the game drive is not for the feint-hearted, but at no point did I feel that we were at risk or that Chris didn't know what he was doing - and at one point I thought a rather large elephant was about to hop in the back of the vehicle with us!
Marula camp (we stayed in a tent) is very comfortable with no unnecessary frills that you will find at the 5-star places (who needs that anyway?), and provides all the necessities. The website pics of the accommodation don't do it justice and I'm glad we chose to stay there rather than at the main lodge. Self-catering facilities were great too, but since we were only staying for one night we ate at the main lodge. Dinner (R170) and breakfast (R120) were really not 5 star, but there was plenty of it (unlike the 5 star places), if somewhat overpriced for the average SA traveller. The staff are extremely friendly and hospitable, and as far as a value for money experience goes, Marula camp is the place to go for a night or two on your way to or from the Kruger, especially if all you saw in the Kruger were impala! I will most definitely be going back and taking my kids with next time... just to listen to more of Chris' stories is worth the trip there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DeBeer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marula_Camp, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you very much for the review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back again soon with the rest of your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed there for 1 night on the 7th May, the accomodation is anything but a tent, with beds for up to 4 persons, king + 2 singles. Bathrooms big with showers. Everything was clean and tidy, the camp grounds well maintained.
I did not self cater, but arranged to eat at the nearby Tshukudu lodge, the meal was excellent at reasonable prices.
The game drive and game walk the following morning was good, with excellent lion and elephant sightings, close up.
The resident cheetahs were a pleasant surprise , along with the baby Links!

Would highly recommend and plan on returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaandGuyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for the helpful review regarding Marula Camp. Quality, affordable accommodation is what we strive to provide and we are happy that you found everything to your satisfaction. Although having meals at the Main Lodge is one of the options that we offer, we also provide a fully equipped communal kitchen for guests wishing to self-cater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were surprized by the luxury of a tent camp. We were spoiled on every game drive with surprizes like the elephant family"s mud bath, the elephant bull charging a cheetah, two male cheetahs catching a water buck, being the first guests seeing the four day old baby rhino! Precious! Thank you again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marieta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Luxury at an affordable price is what we aim to achieve. Add to that the ability to see the Big 5 up close and personal and hopefully we have succeeded in making your stay a wonderful experience. Thank you for the exciting review with regards to your stay at Marula Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

From the moment I saw my tent I was excited and the whole experience didn't disappoint. We had a cheetah who likes to laze in the shade by our tent in between drinking from the swimming pool and going for walks with the guests in the mornings. The game drives were thrilling; the driving off road in the bush as well as the amazing variety of wildlife we saw, and up so close too. Many thanks to Chris and Jessica for their warmth and enthusiasm, wealth of knowledge and making us feel special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alp2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for the time spent writing the review for Marula Camp. We are thrilled that the personal attention from Chris and Jessica made you feel at home. We hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had such an amazing time at Marula... We wanted to stay on - when it came to home time we just didn't want to leave!. We will definitely be back, for a longer stay next time. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special and to ensure we had the best time. The central Boma and kitchen concept was a wonderful way of getting guests to mingle.
The game drive was our best ever- we have never been up so close to these animals before... And the walk was amazing.
Thank you everyone! We will c u again soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SharleenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews