We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tshukudu Marula Camp
Nearby Hotels
Swadini A Forever Resort(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$773
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,045
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$986
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$966
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
US$1,195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
119
21
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
21
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivescheetah walkfridge freezerself cateringcommunal kitchenamazing experiencethe main lodgeswimming poolenjoyed our staytwo nightswater holekruger parktshukuduwalksbomaaccommodationranger
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Dear Chris & Vicky Sussens
I don't know where to start because you have paradise all set out at Tshukudu, not one thing stands out on its own because it's owned by the best and managed so perfectly. Chris your knowledge and experience made us all hang on your lips each and every day. Thank you for sharing it with us, and Vicky thank you so much for accommodating us at such short notice, we cant thank you enough. The accommodation was perfectly clean and so comfortable we enjoyed it thoroughly. The food was great and our host Chris you were such a treat. All that we experienced in such a short period was mind blowing something you see on National Geographic. The drive to the Lion pride and the Ranger made him roar was something spectacular, the Cheetah kill just in front of our room was like I said insane. Me and Roche will strive to become as successful as Tshukudu. Regards Ansu & Roche Du Preez

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roche D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Marula Camp. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Cheetah kill in the back garden was definitely a treat for all! Chris' knowledge and passion for the bush and wildlife can clearly be seen during his daily interaction with the guests, and his wonderful stories and sense of humor always provide a good laugh.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

nice place, friendly people, very animal orientated, came to see animals and saw some, nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner, very good service. we stayed in a tent/room, clean, bit dark but very OK - Hendrik 54 years young

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Marula Camp. We are pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The environment was divine: a luxury tent in one of the most exquisite private reserves of N-E South Africa, located along the Kruger Park. All facilities available in spite of its name of "self catering camp": a fully equipped kitchen, a TV room with bar, a pool and a veranda next to it, and a magic boma for the evening braai. The tent was en-suite, with complimentary tea and coffee (and electricity for the electric kettle), complimentary soaps/shampoo and conditioner, bed linens and towels, a desk and chairs on the veranda...All in pristine condition. Daytime walks and rides led us to meet the big 5 and major other residents of the Kruger. But the peak of the stay was the encounter with the cheetah Ntombi who let us pet her and walked all night long around our tent! I can still hear her peculiar purring. It was pure magic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marylene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review regarding Marula Camp. We are thrilled that you found your surroundings to exceed your expectations! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of accommodation and the friendliness of the staff. Tshukudu Lodge is indeed a well managed lodge and their wild life management program is really impressive. We really enjoyed the close interaction with animals that you do not often find. The only disappointment to us was the fact that we did not get the walk with cheetahs the morning which formed part of our package. We all really looked forward to this experience and left with a bit of disappointment in our heart.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adina455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Marula Camp. We pride ourselves on providing value for money and excellent service. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to walk with the Cheetah. Unfortunately we are dealing with wild animals that are roaming free so it's not always possible to walk with specifically the Cheetah on a daily basis. We always recommend at least a 2 night stay which would definitely provide this opportunity of close interaction on at least 1 of the 2 mornings. On the other morning we have alternatives like walking with the Caracal or visiting the Leopards or Crocodiles. We hope to see you again in the future and that your next stay with us will provide you with this amazing opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Marula camp is a great place to get up close and personal with several animals ... cheetahs, wild cats are regulars at the camp. The game drives are great and we were fortunate to have excellent lion and rhino sightings! The accomodation is lovely and kitchens are well equipped. Can highly recommend this venue and we will definately be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pippa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S, Manager at Tshukudu Marula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for the review of Marula Camp. It's wonderful to hear that you were able to have such great sightings even though our bush is so thick at present. We are also very happy that you found our kitchens to be sufficient for your requirements. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews